Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 18:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
No sound from internet (You tube etc) SOLVED
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 04:25    Post subject:  No sound from internet (You tube etc) SOLVED  

Hello All,
Slacko 5.3.3 - magic, everything works, even glabels! Great sounds from music files etc BUT, nothing from internet connection. Absolute silence irrespective of browser (Iron or Seamonkey) tried all the sound cards using ALSA wizard to no avail (no barks either) Mplayer blasting out Roy Buchanan as I write. Am I missing something?
All suggestions gratefully acknowledged as ever.

Last edited by titus on Mon 08 Oct 2012, 04:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 13:25    Post subject:  

According to this thread installing Java helps-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51701

what does the command aplay -l return?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 14:44    Post subject:  

Thanks darkcity,
I have JRE installed already, if that is what is meant.
aplay -l should be attached.
capture20479.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.14 KB
 Viewed   320 Time(s)

capture20479.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 10:02    Post subject:  

This is a strange problem.

---
What is the 'Audio output' setting in MPlayer

Edit > Preferences

If it says 'default', try switching it to 'ALSA', close the window. Try playing a track, do you still get sound?

---
What is the soundcard setting in retrovol?, go to

Left-click on speaker > Config Window > Hardware

---

What are the contents of these files?
/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
and
/etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 13:42    Post subject:  

Thank you darkcity, I appreciate the time you're devoting to my problem.
When I set the default to ALSA I get no sound.
Retrovol shows the sound card as hw:0
alsa.conf and alsa-base.conf are attached.
capture25872.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  capture25872.png 
Filesize  61.14 KB 
Downloaded  81 Time(s) 
capture21127.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  capture21127.png 
Filesize  130.69 KB 
Downloaded  84 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 10:06    Post subject:  

Okay, its starting to make sense. ALSA isnt set correctly. Normally, the browser, and M Player would use ALSA, but M PLayer must be using the soundcard directly. Will need to think about it. Will again post later. Arrow
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 11:45    Post subject:  

Have you tried this?
Code:
amixer sget PCM

If you see [0%] (or some other small percentage), try this:
Code:
amixer sset PCM 75%

The solution is probably not going to be that simple, but this is worth a try if you've not tried it already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 15:00    Post subject:  

Thanks npierce,
You were correct in assuming that it wasn't going to be that simple, the setting was already 74% but I appreciate your input.
The only positive aspect of this problem is that unlike my usual posts, it's actually baffling someone else, so I don't look so dim.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 15:42    Post subject:  

Ah, too bad. Well, we'll hope that darkcity will find a better idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 04:50    Post subject:  

Here's a thing,
I put the disc in and ran Slacko live. In a live situation setting MPlayer to ALSA works fine and Youtube music plays as I would expect. This is on the same PC as I have Slacko installed (from the same ISO disc).
Weird?

_________________
Hey! I may be old, but I'm slow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 08:17    Post subject:  

Okay, this now sounds familiar. On some sound systems using alsa-wizard, which uses alsaconf, actually breaks the sound system, and it is hard to restore.

which version of Slacko are you using?

---
You can try to figure what alsaconf has broken.

Try this if your using a frugal installtion-

Using the live cd go to your normal pup savefile (which is called something like slackosave-name.2fs). If you click on it will mount in its own directory - the files present are any ones which have been altered or added from the basesfs (puppy_slacko_5.3.1.sfs).

Look at the previously mentioned files in /etc/modprobe.d - you can either manually edit the differences or delete to revert back to their basesfs state.

---
Alternatively, start another save and configure how you like, but don't press alsa-wizard!

---

BTW the way what does the command lsmod | grep snd return when running live?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 09:33    Post subject:  

Thank you yet again darkcity.
I'll have to look at your latest advice later on, got my hands full at the moment.
I'm using a full install of Slacko 5.3.3 High Memory which I imagine uses 4G of my 8G available RAM. The processor is an AMD FX-4100.

lsmod | grep snd return, live disc attached.
capture3031.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  capture3031.png 
Filesize  12.27 KB 
Downloaded  74 Time(s) 

_________________
Hey! I may be old, but I'm slow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 14:33    Post subject:  

I tried your suggestion darkcity.
I removed the two files from /etc/modprobe.d and re-booted the installed version. MPlayer showed ALSA in preferences but didn't play, nor did the internet. I'm wondering if a complete re-install would be the answer. I hope not.
Your continued help is much appreciated.

_________________
Hey! I may be old, but I'm slow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 16:34    Post subject:  

What I think I need to do is properly examine what alsaconf is doing. I won't have time over the next few days though.

Another file it might be worth deleting your standard pupsave (while using live slacko) is /etc/asound.conf

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
titus


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Location: 52.3483 -3.1983

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2012, 02:07    Post subject:  

Darkcity, you are a star!
That last idea (delete /etc/asound.conf) worked. The system is, at present, working correctly, I am indebted to you.
I hope that one day I may be able to offer help on this forum, I always seem to be the one with his hand out.

_________________
Hey! I may be old, but I'm slow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0709s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]