Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 04:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 81 of 99 [1478 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Author Message
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2014, 16:49    Post subject:  

@ ac2011
I am not at home right now and don't recall the graphics processors one is a Dell Inspiron 1545 there were several variations of that model over a 2-3 year proud, mine is the one that has the Celeron 900 and 3GB RAM. Second laptop I'd a Dell Inspiron 1318 (if my memory serves me well) That one I am almost certainly has Intel graphics. The last one is a 2 year old low power AMD C-50 wrapped in a Compaq shell. Puppy has been so cooperative with my hardware the past four years or so that I haven't had to pay much attention to what hardware I had. This issue with MTP protocol preventing Android 4.0 and up from connecting over USB has been the only hardware related issues I have had in for years. I only recently had to discover what WiFi cops I had when I wanted to try out Lubuntu and nothing seemed to work out of the box. Hope this info gets you all closer to a fix.
Can8v
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1429
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2014, 18:11    Post subject:  

can8v wrote:
can8v wrote:
ac2011 wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:
I tried the latest xfdesktop that I compiled even thought the menu is faulty, still don't work with two monitors, the search continues.


I just booted into Saluki 023, then connected an external monitor. It worked fine, no problems. xfdesktop rarely went above 6% CPU and was mostly 1-2%.

Same version number of xfdesktop as in Carolina. Perhaps Jemimah did some clever patching, or perhaps the problem is elsewhere but causing xfdesktop to display this behaviour.

Edit: I meant Saluki 023, not 013. Had Fluppy on my mind.

I had the same experience in Saluki 023 last night.

I had a little more time to tinker with this and I have come to the conclusion that this may have something to do with bios or hardware, because I tested an external monitor on three of the four laptops in my house all all three worked with Carolina1.1 booting off the cd in pfix=ram and I also tested one of them with my save file. One of the machines refused to display wallpaper on the external monitor, but in no case did any of them exceed 6%CPU usage and they were all quite zippy. In fact the laptop I turned into my Carolina media server has broken hinges and the lcd got so dim this morning I just removed it altogether and left an external monitor connected. I was concerned that it would not reboot into the external monitor mode, but those fears prooved to be unfounded. Grub doesn't come up on the extenal monitor, but once the time delay is over and Carolina begins booting as default, I soon have the remainder of the boot sequence on screen and the external monitor is simply remembered from session to session. Further more, on all the laptops the function keys worked for toggling my monitor selection. All of this was out of the box. No other distro has worked so well with my hardware.


I tried the xfce-4.10-i486.pet from the repo, this gets two monitors working, but it also replaces the menu, panel settings and icons are missing from panel plugin's list, the existing plugins need to be retained so it's not a fix, though I've tried numerous times to find the files required to get the two monitors working, but still retain the menu and panel as is, but no luck so far, no matter what I do to fix it, changing the panel and menu back to how it should be, it then reverts to CPU going berserk, it is time consuming as it needs a reboot and then try something else each time it fails.

I need help with this as I have only the one laptop to test with and it is my wife's, need I say more Wink

Updated repo with crosti-1.10.0 and QuiteRSS-0.14.3

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2014, 20:31    Post subject:  

@Geoffrey,
Wish I could help you with testing this, but just before I left I tested this on my son's computer (the fourth and last laptop in my home) and this laptop also worked flawlessly in all external monitor modes with Carolina booting off the cd in ram mode. If I could replicate the problem I would certainly test any proposed solutions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1429
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2014, 22:09    Post subject:  

@can8v,

I have Carolina 1.1 as a frugal install on HDD which just won't run an external monitor, this is on a acer aspire 5310, I also have Saluki 0.23 as a frugal but it works fine with a monitor, though the monitor becomes the main viewer at boot until I get to a desktop, then the laptop screen is active.

Not to worry, I will sort it out eventually, it's just slow going.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan 2014, 13:28    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
@can8v,

I have Carolina 1.1 as a frugal install on HDD which just won't run an external monitor, this is on a acer aspire 5310, I also have Saluki 0.23 as a frugal but it works fine with a monitor, though the monitor becomes the main viewer at boot until I get to a desktop, then the laptop screen is active.

Not to worry, I will sort it out eventually, it's just slow going.


Since it works in Saluki and not in Carolina, there is obviously some difference between the two, but since it works fine in Carolina on my laptops, but not on yours, I keep thinking it must have something to do with the bios settings. Perhaps something to do with the way it is setup in Saluki is more universally compatible than the way it is setup in Carolina. I have now tested Saluki and Carolina on all four laptops and both work fine. One of the laptops refuses to display any wallpaper on the external monitor when running Carolina and on that same machine the desktop icons will only display on the laptop's LCD screen, not on the external monitor. But if I shutdown the LCD screen and use only the external monitor I can still access all the drives from within Thunar. using the external monitor. None of the four laptops using the external monitor have anything resembling the CPU issues that you and others have described. Despite the lack of wallpaper and some icons on the external monitor for one out of four of the laptops I have tested I would count all four as very usable configurations and three out of four work perfectly. The only suggestion I can think of is to go through you bios settings and check to see if there is anything relating to the monitor that might require a change to make it work. Most probably the issue would be something that could also be changed in xfdesktop to make it compatible with your current setup, otherwise it wouldn't work in Saluki either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan 2014, 17:55    Post subject: Media Transfer Protocol MTP (SOLVED)  

For anyone interested in the outcome of the MTP issue I had been working on. I got to the point where I took it outside the Carolina thread and sought the help of the larger puppy community. Tempestuous came up with a solution using gomtpfs instead of libmtp/gvfs-mtp. Then I came up with a way to mount and unmount from the right click context menu, instead of the command line. Everything you need to know to set it up is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91442#752416
and here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91442&start=15#752767
There may be some improvements forth coming, but this solution is quite workable. In fact I like it better than any of the solutions I have tried in other distros, as it just seems more reliable (at least with my hardware).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 03:26    Post subject: What creates these dialogs.  

What library, toolkit, etc. is used to create the dialogs in the attached image. And how can I create a dialog like that from a shell script. Please include the correct arguments/options to make it look like these. I would like the output from this script to match the rest of the operating system. I tried using gtkdialog, but I cannot get it to look like the rest of the dialogs in Carolina.
dialogs.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.17 KB
 Viewed   486 Time(s)

dialogs.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1429
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 03:48    Post subject: Re: What creates these dialogs.  

can8v wrote:
What library, toolkit, etc. is used to create the dialogs in the attached image. And how can I create a dialog like that from a shell script. Please include the correct arguments/options to make it look like these. I would like the output from this script to match the rest of the operating system. I tried using gtkdialog, but I cannot get it to look like the rest of the dialogs in Carolina.



notify-send.

Code:
# notify --help
Usage:
  notify-send [OPTION...] <SUMMARY> [BODY] - create a notification

Help Options:
  -?, --help                        Show help options

Application Options:
  -u, --urgency=LEVEL               Specifies the urgency level (low, normal, critical).
  -t, --expire-time=TIME            Specifies the timeout in milliseconds at which to expire the notification.
  -i, --icon=ICON[,ICON...]         Specifies an icon filename or stock icon to display.
  -c, --category=TYPE[,TYPE...]     Specifies the notification category.
  -h, --hint=TYPE:NAME:VALUE        Specifies basic extra data to pass. Valid types are int, double, string and byte.
  -v, --version                     Version of the package.


Sample
Code:
notify-send -t 3000 -i gtk-help "hello world"

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 05:12    Post subject: Media Transfer Protocol MTP  

For anybody that was following my progress in this thread on the connecting MTP devices via USB progress ground to a hault, so I started a MTP thread in the Users section to attract a wider audience than just Carolina users. Tempestuous came up with a command line solution using go-mtpfs and I wrote some scripts to automate the process if you are interested you can install the pet package from Tempestuous and the two scripts I provided and link them to right click actions in Thunar to have right click mounting and unmounting of MTP devices (ie. Android 4.0 and up and many media players) both from within Thunar and the XFCE desktop. I am sure JWM/ROX users have some similar way to launch the scripts. The thread with the pet package and scripts are here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91442
This would be a great addiation for Carolina 1.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1429
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 06:08    Post subject:  

@ can8v,

Yeah, I've tried it out works fine, rg66 and I have been looking at it, works ok with my Android tablet, we were of the same idea a right click in thunar to mount and unmount, I've been waiting to see were you get with it, would be nice if we could include it in the next release of Carolina, it should be ready for release very soon.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 14:20    Post subject:  

@geoffrey great I look forward to the release and will test and help where possible. Did you ever figure out your external monitor issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1429
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 22:24    Post subject:  

can8v wrote:
@geoffrey great I look forward to the release and will test and help where possible. Did you ever figure out your external monitor issue?


No I didn't, but that's on the back burner for the moment, it don't appear to be a problem for others, I can live without it, it must be a laptop issue as I'm sure two monitors works on a desktop, it did work in early version 003. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=664938#664938

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 23:14    Post subject:  

@ Geoffrey
is a newer version of glibc still being worked on? I came into this thread quite late, but vaguely remember you telling somebody that was the hold up on getting a newer version of Chrome working in Carolina. Is that still a hold up? If so can you give me a synopsis of the issues, so I can look into it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1429
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jan 2014, 00:04    Post subject:  

can8v wrote:
@ Geoffrey
is a newer version of glibc still being worked on? I came into this thread quite late, but vaguely remember you telling somebody that was the hold up on getting a newer version of Chrome working in Carolina. Is that still a hold up? If so can you give me a synopsis of the issues, so I can look into it?


No we aren't going to change the glibc, that would require lots of work and recompiling of repo content, I was going to look and see if Chrome could be run in the same manner as Slimboat, but it appears there's more to it, there is a libstdc++.so.6 to contend with as well and more than likely other stuff, I'm not that knowledgeable, but I will keep it in mind.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jan 2014, 16:57    Post subject:  

Code:

No we aren't going to change the glibc, that would require lots of work and recompiling of repo content, I was going to look and see if Chrome could be run in the same manner as Slimboat, but it appears there's more to it, there is a libstdc++.so.6 to contend with as well and more than likely other stuff, I'm not that knowledgeable, but I will keep it in mind.

That does seem like a lot of work and the repo has become quite extensive. It would be a shame if much of the content had to be recompiled. I have personally reverted to using the old version of Chrome. I like Slimboat, but Chrome is just plain faster and I decided that I really am not using the extra features in slimboat that much. I haven't uninstalled it, but it is rarely seeing any use on my system now. I will also look into any possibilities of running a newer Chrome without replacing glibc. This is new territory for me as well, so no promises.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 81 of 99 [1478 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1266s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0309s) ][ GZIP on ]