Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#376 Post by pemasu »

Dam973. What I have googled, there have been issues with rt2800pci module and wpa/wpa2. Some of the problems have been fixed by patching the rt28000pci source and recompiling the module.

Could you run in console: pmodemdiag and post here the created tar ball from the /root, something like: /root/pmodemdiag-20121213.tar.gz

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#377 Post by Sage »

Thanks for that, rc, will try to remember for the future.
Dam973 has a PCI device
- yes I saw his suffix, that's why I showed my dongle as usb, but presume it's the same ic inside both?!

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#378 Post by Sage »

Dept. of dumb questions: presume 'blacklisting' only applies to installed systems not liveCD unless a savefile is invoked and an hard reset implemented? An X-restart is insufficient for kernel-level commands? Other methods of activation without hard reset? Any other useful observations?

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#379 Post by rcrsn51 »

You could use "rmmod" to unload the bad module, then "modprobe" to load the good one.

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#380 Post by Sage »

Ta! Will do. Good to have you around, rc.

rodin.s
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 19:50
Location: Ukraine

cannot compile GTK-code in Precise

#381 Post by rodin.s »

I can't compile this code in Precise:

Code: Select all

#include <gtk/gtk.h>

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){
	GtkWidget *window1;
	gtk_init(&argc,&argv);
	window1=gtk_window_new(GTK_WINDOW_TOPLEVEL);
	gtk_window_set_title(GTK_WINDOW(window1),"Header");
	gtk_widget_show(window1);
	gtk_main();
	return 0;
}
using this command:

Code: Select all

gcc `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0` first.c -o first
It compiles in latest Racy and Slacko. Maybe it's not a bug and in Precise pkg-config command should be changed.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#382 Post by pemasu »

Code: Select all

gcc -o first first.c `pkg-config --libs --cflags gtk+-2.0` 

rodin.s
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 19:50
Location: Ukraine

GTK-compiling

#383 Post by rodin.s »

Thank you. It works.

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#384 Post by dam973 »

thanks pemasu! :)

I ran pmodemdiag and i post the archive as attachement .

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#385 Post by pemasu »

phy0 -> rt2800pci_mcu_status: Error - MCU request failed, no response from hardware
http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-wire ... 85339.html

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#386 Post by dam973 »

I'm sorry i read the post from http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-wire ... 85339.html but i didnt understand what i actually have to do !! :(
Could you please explain to me?
Thanks a lot !!!

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#387 Post by dam973 »

I know this question may seem stupid but i am new at compiling . :s Thank you for your patience :)

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#388 Post by pemasu »

Yeah, I posted it more for reference. I will give it a go soon. It just looks like that your wpa problem has correspondence to that that link I posted.

I will post more when I have tried to patch that driver and tried to compile it.

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#389 Post by Sage »

I will give it a go soon
Can that include the rt2800usb, as well, please.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#390 Post by rcrsn51 »

rcrsn51 wrote:You could use "rmmod" to unload the bad module, then "modprobe" to load the good one.
Sage wrote:Ta! Will do
Sage wrote:Can that include the rt2800usb, as well, please.
It would be helpful if you first provided an update on your blacklisting situation.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#391 Post by pemasu »

Here is patched rt2800pci module.
It includes pinstall.sh script, which unloads previous rt2800pci, and loads the new one.

Cheers and please give feedback if this one fixes the connection problem.
Attachments
rt2800pci-patched-k3.2.29.pet
(7.09 KiB) Downloaded 730 times

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#392 Post by dam973 »

Thank you a lot!!! :) :) :)
I will try and send feedback!!

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#393 Post by Sage »

It would be helpful if you first provided an update on your blacklisting situation.
Rapidly getting nowhere. Can blacklist from the menu/system/Boot...
Can then modprobe or LOAD it back in again, but,
a) it thinks it's WEP only, maybe it is, - I have WEP switch off in my router and don't want to switch it back on.
b) can't find your earlier reference to an rt28x0 alternative and there doesn't seem to be one available for loading
We are now well beyond my pay-grade in SW manipulation... (try cosmology, medicine, politics?)

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#394 Post by dam973 »

It worked!! Thank you so much!! Puppy linux community is awesome!!!! :) :) :D :D

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#395 Post by pemasu »

dam973. Great. I am relieved that the patched rt28000pci worked. If it is not too much work, could you post again the pmodemdiag tarball so that I can confirm that the error message has dissapeared from kernel messages. If it has, I will include the patched driver to the next Upup Precise.

Post Reply