Page 19 of 22

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 16:33
by pemasu
Dam973. What I have googled, there have been issues with rt2800pci module and wpa/wpa2. Some of the problems have been fixed by patching the rt28000pci source and recompiling the module.

Could you run in console: pmodemdiag and post here the created tar ball from the /root, something like: /root/pmodemdiag-20121213.tar.gz

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 16:37
by Sage
Thanks for that, rc, will try to remember for the future.
Dam973 has a PCI device
- yes I saw his suffix, that's why I showed my dongle as usb, but presume it's the same ic inside both?!

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 17:48
by Sage
Dept. of dumb questions: presume 'blacklisting' only applies to installed systems not liveCD unless a savefile is invoked and an hard reset implemented? An X-restart is insufficient for kernel-level commands? Other methods of activation without hard reset? Any other useful observations?

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 17:54
by rcrsn51
You could use "rmmod" to unload the bad module, then "modprobe" to load the good one.

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 20:39
by Sage
Ta! Will do. Good to have you around, rc.

cannot compile GTK-code in Precise

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 20:40
by rodin.s
I can't compile this code in Precise:

Code: Select all

#include <gtk/gtk.h>

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){
	GtkWidget *window1;
	gtk_init(&argc,&argv);
	window1=gtk_window_new(GTK_WINDOW_TOPLEVEL);
	gtk_window_set_title(GTK_WINDOW(window1),"Header");
	gtk_widget_show(window1);
	gtk_main();
	return 0;
}
using this command:

Code: Select all

gcc `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0` first.c -o first
It compiles in latest Racy and Slacko. Maybe it's not a bug and in Precise pkg-config command should be changed.

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 21:26
by pemasu

Code: Select all

gcc -o first first.c `pkg-config --libs --cflags gtk+-2.0` 

GTK-compiling

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 21:40
by rodin.s
Thank you. It works.

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 23:14
by dam973
thanks pemasu! :)

I ran pmodemdiag and i post the archive as attachement .

Posted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 23:20
by pemasu
phy0 -> rt2800pci_mcu_status: Error - MCU request failed, no response from hardware
http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-wire ... 85339.html

Posted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 09:22
by dam973
I'm sorry i read the post from http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-wire ... 85339.html but i didnt understand what i actually have to do !! :(
Could you please explain to me?
Thanks a lot !!!

Posted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 09:28
by dam973
I know this question may seem stupid but i am new at compiling . :s Thank you for your patience :)

Posted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 13:45
by pemasu
Yeah, I posted it more for reference. I will give it a go soon. It just looks like that your wpa problem has correspondence to that that link I posted.

I will post more when I have tried to patch that driver and tried to compile it.

Posted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 14:08
by Sage
I will give it a go soon
Can that include the rt2800usb, as well, please.

Posted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 14:17
by rcrsn51
rcrsn51 wrote:You could use "rmmod" to unload the bad module, then "modprobe" to load the good one.
Sage wrote:Ta! Will do
Sage wrote:Can that include the rt2800usb, as well, please.
It would be helpful if you first provided an update on your blacklisting situation.

Posted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 14:43
by pemasu
Here is patched rt2800pci module.
It includes pinstall.sh script, which unloads previous rt2800pci, and loads the new one.

Cheers and please give feedback if this one fixes the connection problem.

Posted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 15:58
by dam973
Thank you a lot!!! :) :) :)
I will try and send feedback!!

Posted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 12:03
by Sage
It would be helpful if you first provided an update on your blacklisting situation.
Rapidly getting nowhere. Can blacklist from the menu/system/Boot...
Can then modprobe or LOAD it back in again, but,
a) it thinks it's WEP only, maybe it is, - I have WEP switch off in my router and don't want to switch it back on.
b) can't find your earlier reference to an rt28x0 alternative and there doesn't seem to be one available for loading
We are now well beyond my pay-grade in SW manipulation... (try cosmology, medicine, politics?)

Posted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 13:03
by dam973
It worked!! Thank you so much!! Puppy linux community is awesome!!!! :) :) :D :D

Posted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 20:40
by pemasu
dam973. Great. I am relieved that the patched rt28000pci worked. If it is not too much work, could you post again the pmodemdiag tarball so that I can confirm that the error message has dissapeared from kernel messages. If it has, I will include the patched driver to the next Upup Precise.