Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 23:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 509

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 14:52    Post subject: Re: Precise Puppy 5.4  

watchdog wrote:
Problems with loading savefile light-encrypted ext2: no backdrop-image, the same error of slacko 5.3.1. I tried the same console command:

gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache

but I lost all the installations. Is it recoverable?


Solved with new save file ext2 light-encrypted with no backdrop-image problem. I think that in the first installation something went wrong with the installation of the package z_mesa-8.0.3-up.pet. I renounced to install that package and all went well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 15:05    Post subject:  

Follow up to my posts concerning the black screen issue using PAE
5.4 Precise. I did fresh hd frugals of retro 5.4 to my other two P4 PCs
and did ten hard reboots each. No black screens at all! So that's over
15 startups on my first test PC and 20 on the other two PCs for a
total so far of over 35 hard reboots without any black screens.

Haven't yet had time to evaluate retro any further but on the surface
it seems at least as fast if not faster than PAE version on my
machines.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1504
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 16:11    Post subject: Integration of Frisbee into Puppy -- eventually  

Although I appear to be duplicating contributions by peebee and pemasu, my goal is to eventually integrate the benefits of the Frisbee package into the mainstream puppies. My initial steps are to:
    - update the b43 firmware package to include the "k3.x+" versions while retaining unduplicated older files. In doing that, many of the older files are now upgraded to the later versions. When wary 5.4 is released, we will need to try that package with it to verify the newer versions cause no issues.

    - upgrade dhcpcd to an adaption of jemimah's enhanced version that is the last before ipv6 support gets added to dhcpcd (in 5.5). Because it is more recent than precise's version 5.15, it may improve the network-connection experience. The enhancement adds the option to delay closing the connection when the signal is weak, to reduce actual disconnections. So far, I have not found where that option is used, but assume Frisbee does somewhere.
    EDIT: Now I get it! Thanks, pemasu. The new option is "-j dropwait-in-seconds"

    - create a wl driver package ready for inclusion in the pet-package library.
The really "interesting" challenge will be to adapt Frisbee to use common puppy services and set itself up only when selected by the user (instead of at installation time). I expect to experiment with frisbee by posting in the Frisbee thread, so as to avoid hijacking this thread. I hope some of you will work with me to get that working, by testing the experiments.

For now, please try the attached packages without Frisbee, to see if there is any wireless improvement or impact. The "wl" package is the result of my installing Peebee's multi-kernel package and extracting the module, to be consistent with other module packages.
Richard

UPDATE 10/28/2012: Compiled dhcpcd from annotated version of jemimah's "dropwait" source code. Because it is what I expect to submit for woof, please use it instead of the original. But there is no need to replace the original except to verify the recompiled package.
dhcpcd-dropwait-5.2.9.pet
Description  Upgraded dhcpcd, by Jemimah, compiled in precise pup, logic unchanged.
Potential candidate for woof.
pet

 Download 
Filename  dhcpcd-dropwait-5.2.9.pet 
Filesize  49.01 KB 
Downloaded  257 Time(s) 
firmware_linux_module_b43-20121024.pet
Description  merge of new and old b43 firmware files.
pet

 Download 
Filename  firmware_linux_module_b43-20121024.pet 
Filesize  375.67 KB 
Downloaded  284 Time(s) 
dhcpcd-5.2.9-dropwait.pet
Description  Upgraded dhcpcd, by Jemimah
Please use the recompiled version above: dhcpcd-dropwait-5.2.9.pet
pet

 Download 
Filename  dhcpcd-5.2.9-dropwait.pet 
Filesize  43.06 KB 
Downloaded  268 Time(s) 
broadcom_sta-5.100.82.112-k3.2.29.pet
Description  Broadcom proprietary driver wl.
pet

 Download 
Filename  broadcom_sta-5.100.82.112-k3.2.29.pet 
Filesize  1 MB 
Downloaded  274 Time(s) 

Last edited by rerwin on Sun 28 Oct 2012, 21:43; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 16:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
The enhancement adds the option to delay closing the connection when the signal is weak, to reduce actual disconnections. So far, I have not found where that option is used, but assume Frisbee does somewhere.

/usr/local/Frisbee/func:
Code:

function set-drop-timeout {
set -x

   Xdialog --title "Frisbee" --ok-label "Set"  --inputbox  "If the connection drops, how many seconds should we wait before deconfiguring the wireless interface? \n Increase this time for flaky connections.  Decrease it if you have trouble roaming between networks." 0 0 $WTIMEOUT > /tmp/entry 2>&1
   NEWTIMEOUT=`cat /tmp/entry`
   rm /tmp/entry
   if [[ "$NEWTIMEOUT" -gt 0 && "$NEWTIMEOUT" -lt 120 ]] ; then
      WTIMEOUT=$NEWTIMEOUT
      cat /usr/local/Frisbee/config | sed "s/WTIMEOUT=.*\$/WTIMEOUT=$WTIMEOUT/" >  /tmp/config
      mv /tmp/config  /usr/local/Frisbee
      reset-dhcp
   fi
}

export -f set-drop-timeout


In Frisbee gui, click the Wireless Diagnostics tab, and you see the option in the bottom row.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 16:37    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The PDF problem discussed here is still present. Or do other users not see it? As a work-around, install the attached version from Slacko. It also reverts the libpoppler library. Please provide feedback.


It works, colours are displayed properly.

BTW, copying and pasting from epdfview is still impossible Rolling Eyes . The evince .pets I found on the forum won't work, and downloading evince from Ubuntu repos is a nightmare for my slow connection because of all the dependencies listed. I'm using old English-only foxit reader 1.1 while I find another PDF viewer .pet (or learn to compile it myself).

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español

Last edited by vicmz on Thu 25 Oct 2012, 16:58; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 760
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 16:40    Post subject:  

PDF problem seen and confirmed - will try fix and report back
_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8942
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 16:56    Post subject:  

vicmz wrote:
BTW, copying and pasting from epdfview is still impossible

It works, sort of.

1. Choose Edit > Select text.

2. Drag your mouse over some text to hilight it. It will un-hilight when you release.

3. Use a middle-click to paste the text in elsewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 17:07    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
vicmz wrote:
BTW, copying and pasting from epdfview is still impossible

It works, sort of.

1. Choose Edit > Select text.

2. Drag your mouse over some text to hilight it. It will un-hilight when you release.

3. Use a middle-click to paste the text in elsewhere.


I suppose I'm a bit clumsy with less known software. Embarassed Thank you rcrsn51. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 17:16    Post subject: FAIL reboot precise5400retro  

IBM ThinkPad x30 (has PAE)
cpu 1200MHz, ram 768MB, harddrive 30GB
+ Precise5400retro
+ manual frugal
+ devx_retroprecise_5.4.sfs

Boots EVERY time after a SHUTDOWN.

FAILS to boot EVERY time after a RESTART,
black screen, need to hard powerdown.

ALL other wary and racy work either restart or shutdown.

compiled and working great,
precise5400retro, wary5300, racy5300:
+ sylpheed-3.3.0beta2
+ bbe-0.2.2
+ bvi-1.3.2
+ dstat-0.7.s
+ Gforth 0.7.0
+ hexdiff-0.5.5
+ iftop-10.pre2
+ md5deep-4.3
+ memtester-4.2.2
+ p7zip_9.20.1
+ smartmontools-5.43
+ SwiftForth i386-Linux 3.4.5
+ vim-7.3.712
+ cmus-2.4.2-w-20111002.pet

Most used apps:
vim, sylpheed, gnumeric, seamonkey, cmus

I write compilers for multi-core embedded processors,
design and maintain databases.

Hardinfo 'Generate Report' ONLY Devices/Processor checked,
an EMPTY report was generated, no data, only html template.

Grabbed this info using 'Copy to Clipboard'
" -------1---------2---------3---------4---------5---------6----
Mobile Intel(R) Pentium(R) III CPU - M 1200MHz
6, 11, 4 (Pentium III/Pentium III Xeon/Celeron)

cmov Conditional Move instruction
cx8 CMPXCHG8 instruction
de Debug Extensions - I/O breakpoints
fpu Floating Point Unit
fxsr FXSAVE and FXRSTOR instructions
mca Machine Check Architecture
mce Machine Check Architeture
mmx MMX technology
msr Model Specific Registers
mtrr Memory Type Range Registers
pae Physical Address Extensions
pge Page Global Enable
pse Page Size Extensions (4MB pages)
pse36 36bit Page Size Extensions
sep Fast System Call (SYSENTER/SYSEXIT)
sse SSE instructions
tsc Time Stamp Counter and RDTSC instruction
up smp kernel running on up
vme Virtual 86 Mode Extension

" -------1---------2---------3---------4---------5---------6----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 619
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 18:43    Post subject:  

I've promised myself not to mention that awful wallpaper.
Oops, what did I do there??
To be honest, the icon set does not look bad if the background is changed to the solid dark grey. Once you go into directories it starts looking a mess though.

Anyway...
Tried both PAE and no PAE versions.
Frugal install to HDD on a Compaq Armada M700
P3 850
576mb RAM
Sound detected on first boot.
Linksys PCMCIA wifi adapter up and running (b43 module)

There is a slight speed gain with the non-PAE, more so when booting.
My main concern though is that I have Opera-Next 12 running in its own directory on a partition (not in savefile). Been running this in several Pups for quite a while without problem.
On both these precise versions it is achingly slow, taking a minute to switch tabs for instance. It worked ok on the 5.3.95.1 release.
Posting from Opera right now, (but on Wary) so its definitely the OS. Seamonkey runs without problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 760
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 21:53    Post subject:  

Report Video 1.4 - Thu 26 Oct 2012 on Precise Puppy 5.4 - Linux 3.2.29 i686

Chip description:
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
oem: Intel(r)852MG/852MGE/855MG/855MGE Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)852MG/852MGE/855MG/855MGE Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver used: intel
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Hi rcrsn51

Tried your fix for PDF viewer - and it works - many thanks.

Very best regards - Ray

JFYI - sys-info report if useful.
report-video-full.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  report-video-full.gz 
Filesize  6.75 KB 
Downloaded  252 Time(s) 
sys-info-121026.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-121026.gz 
Filesize  12.16 KB 
Downloaded  260 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 04:46    Post subject: epdf problem  

I can confirm the problem with the epdf viewer. The test page appears in red rather than blue!

The attached pet in rcrsn51's post solves the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 06:28    Post subject: Black screens issue pAE version  

For what it's worth in eventually fixing the 'mostly black screen at
bootup' problem, I happened to notice that if udev is disabled the
problem goes away.

To anyone interested, you find such system settings buried under
Menu - Setup - Wizard Wizard - Configure startup of Puppy -
Manage system services - Choose which to run at startup

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4777
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 07:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
'mostly black screen at
bootup' problem

Unfortunately not fixed for these damn SiS chipsets!
The only way I can get a picture on them is booting with 'nox' then selecting VESA no greater than 800x600.
However, on other matters, retro is performing very well indeed, including running the dread Cohiba wifi dongle at first ask every time. FP loaded by default and finds discrete PCI sound card by default, too. DHCP on wired connection has to be loaded manually (SNS) on most HW. This version is certainly mature enough to allow BK to progress to his other tasks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
algyzas

Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 07:12    Post subject:  

Started 5.4 from USB, then while shutdowning it offered to save only into sdb1, USB stick, then I copied this save file from USB to HDD, now while starting precise cannot find this save file, precisesave.4fs, it is on D:\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1038s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]