Lighthouse 64 5.15 Final

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#166 Post by Q5sys »

Q5sys wrote:Im trying to build drivers for a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI card

and I have one slight problem...
in the make file, I have this entry where I'm getting an error.

MODPATH = /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/ssound

however in /lib/modules/3.0.3/kernel/drivers there is no sound sub-dir
Where on earth are the kernel sound drivers in lhp?
sigh... sometimes command line betrays you. GUI lets you see all the folders at once, instead of just cd-ing into the directory you want

If anyone is wondering its under:
/lib/modules/3.0.3/kernel/sound

Any particular reason thats not in with the rest of the drivers?

Problem #2


Here is the make file:

Code: Select all

ctxfi-objs := xfi.o ctatc.o ctvmem.o ctpcm.o ctmixer.o ctresource.o ctsrc.o ctamixer.o ctdaio.o ctimap.o cthardware.o cthw20k2.o cthw20k1.o
        
obj-m += ctxfi.o

ifeq ($(DEBUG), y)
CFLAGS += -g -DDEBUG
endif

KERNELDIR 	?= /lib/modules/$(shell uname -r)/build
PWD		:= $(shell pwd)

all:
	$(MAKE) -C $(KERNELDIR) M=$(PWD)

clean:
	rm -rf *.o *~ core .depend .*.cmd *.ko *.mod.c .tmp_versions

PHONY := install uninstall

MODDIR = $(PWD)
MODPATH	= /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/ssound
MODULES = ctxfi.ko

install:
	@echo "Copy module files..."
	@rm -rf $(MODPATH)
	@mkdir $(MODPATH)
	@cd $(MODDIR)/; cp -f $(MODULES) $(MODPATH)/
	@echo "Update module dependency relationships..."
	@/sbin/depmod
	@/sbin/modprobe ctxfi

users := $(word 3, $(shell /sbin/lsmod | grep ^ctxfi | head -n 1))
uninstall:
	@if [ "$(users)" = "0" ]; then \
		echo "Unload ctxfi..."; \
		/sbin/modprobe -r ctxfi; \
	fi
	@echo "Remove module files..."
	@rm -rf $(MODPATH)
	@echo "Update module dependency relationships..."
	@/sbin/depmod

.PHONY: $(PHONY)
and here is my output....

Code: Select all

make -C /lib/modules/3.0.3/build M=/initrd/mnt/dev_save/work/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-3.0.3'
  LD      /initrd/mnt/dev_save/work/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/built-in.o
  CC [M]  /initrd/mnt/dev_save/work/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/xfi.o
/initrd/mnt/dev_save/work/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/xfi.c:14:26: fatal error: sound/driver.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make[2]: *** [/initrd/mnt/dev_save/work/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/xfi.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/initrd/mnt/dev_save/work/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-3.0.3'
make: *** [all] Error 2

the package from creative is supposed to be everything you need. But apparently, I'm missing something on my local system I should have. Ideas?

User avatar
tazoc
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon 11 Dec 2006, 08:07
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US
Contact:

Creative X-Fi workaround

#167 Post by tazoc »

Hi Q5sys,
I googled sound/driver.h: No such file or directory and found this at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1304627:
rosseto wrote:Re: Can't install X-Fi drivers in 9.10
I know that it's not the best solution.. but after a bunch of tries it worked for me =)
I simply removed the include directives of sound/driver.h present in xfi.c and ctac.h
After I comment the following statement in xfi.h
//card = snd_card_new(index[dev], id[dev], THIS_MODULE, 0);
(the function snd_card_new probably is called from sound/driver.h)
After that I successfully compiled and installed and after a reboot the sound was working fine good.
With the Devx loaded you will find the files noted above at /usr/src/linux-3.0.3/sound/pci/ctxfi/

Hope that helps,
TaZoC
[url=http://www.lhpup.org/][b][size=100]lhpup.org[/size][/b] [img]http://www.lhpup.org/gallery/images/favicon.png[/img][/url] [url=http://www.lhpup.org/release-lhp.htm#602]Lighthouse 64 6.02[/url]

User avatar
tazoc
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon 11 Dec 2006, 08:07
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US
Contact:

bash_advanced_guide-6.6 pet

#168 Post by tazoc »

don570 wrote:I couldn't get my pet package of the Bash manual to
install correctly because you have some block
in effect.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 564#671564
Hi don570,
Lighthouse moves /usr/doc to /usr/share/doc for consistency with Puppy's docs.

I've rebuilt your Pet and the .desktop files accordingly and now it works. This is a really nice Pet, thank you!

Regards,
TaZoC
[url=http://www.lhpup.org/][b][size=100]lhpup.org[/size][/b] [img]http://www.lhpup.org/gallery/images/favicon.png[/img][/url] [url=http://www.lhpup.org/release-lhp.htm#602]Lighthouse 64 6.02[/url]

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

Re: Creative X-Fi workaround

#169 Post by Q5sys »

tazoc wrote:Hi Q5sys,
I googled sound/driver.h: No such file or directory and found this at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1304627:
rosseto wrote:Re: Can't install X-Fi drivers in 9.10
I know that it's not the best solution.. but after a bunch of tries it worked for me =)
I simply removed the include directives of sound/driver.h present in xfi.c and ctac.h
After I comment the following statement in xfi.h
//card = snd_card_new(index[dev], id[dev], THIS_MODULE, 0);
(the function snd_card_new probably is called from sound/driver.h)
After that I successfully compiled and installed and after a reboot the sound was working fine good.
With the Devx loaded you will find the files noted above at /usr/src/linux-3.0.3/sound/pci/ctxfi/

Hope that helps,
TaZoC
I'll test various options... I dont think it makes any sense to intentionally remove stuff that creative obviously thought was a good idea. Maybe there is another work around. Thanks for the info... I'll see what I can manage.

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#170 Post by Q5sys »

Not that anyone was waiting to find out... but the Nvidia Quadro NVS 420 cards work fine in LHP with the Nvidia drivers.
Oddly enough they apparently overrule the NVS 290 card completely. Its still on my board but its not detected at all after I installed the NVS 420 card.
Image
Spans across all 4 screens with no problem.
My 2nd NVS 420 is in the mail currently, when it arrives I'll plug it in and see how the sytem works with two NVS 420s.

If anyone is currently in the market for GFX cards... I no longer need my old setup. So I'm selling my two ZOTAC AMP! GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB cards.
Here for specs
Here for pics: Pic 1, Pic 2 Pic 3
I ran these under LHP since it 4.43 I believe. I have not had any issue with them and they work fine with puppy.

See Sig for link.

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#171 Post by meeki »

Q5sys I want a photo from your camera of all them screens running when you get it setup....... please :)

sorry the 290 did not play nice with the other NVS's. My 290 is happy with my 550 TI thought it would work for you.

Oh and fair price on them cards.

on another note I just got my network (internet back up) went playing around with my linux router box and had a hell of a time getting it all back up.

tossed unbuntu running e17 desktop and back to my LHpup install. I just love this OS I can't stay away. My wife had to use my computer while her laptop was waiting for a new power adapter and she hates LightHouse :P I had to install a copy linux mint (the one she uses) in Virtualbox for her. I think Lighthouse is too rough for ubber basic users.

Happy holidays to all you LightHouse lovers.

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#172 Post by meeki »

Oh good news too I got a working pet and SFS of Dropbox that does not break Virtual Box or any thing else I know of.

It's version 1.6.6 released 12/14/2012

The bad -

you have to login every time you reboot

Its the closed source version. Dropbox does have an version you can compile GPL version 1.4.0 the prob is it needs nautilus. This version would fix the auto login issue if we had nautilus.

You need to tell it to use a folder outside the pup save file if you need space.

The Good. -

The icon in the tool bar shows up and works now. It tells you whats syncing.

Again after i get my service back up and the server running right ill post a copy here :)

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#173 Post by Q5sys »

meeki wrote:Q5sys I want a photo from your camera of all them screens running when you get it setup....... please :)

sorry the 290 did not play nice with the other NVS's. My 290 is happy with my 550 TI thought it would work for you.

Oh and fair price on them cards.
Got both of my NVS 420s now!
Whats odd is that the NVS 290 ran great with my two GTX 550Ti cards in SLI. Not quite sure why it suddenly decided not to work with the 420 card. I've got both NVS 420s installed and they are running nicely. I only own 5 screens though... but right now i've got them all hooked up.

As for pics... Here is the inside of the rig:
http://puppy-linux.org/q5sys/system/DSC04522.JPG
Screenshot:
Click for larger image. Size warning. Image Resolution = 5760 x 2160 pixels
Image

Can't wait to start getting the rest of my new system. Rest of my system will be up for sale within a month or so. Out with the old and in with the new.

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#174 Post by Q5sys »

Newest Nvidia Driver pet.
Nvidia-313.09-beta-k3.0.3-L64
Nvidia considers this driver to be Beta. It does have some significant increases in some areas.
Per Nvidia:
- Improved the performance of glDrawPixels() by up to 450% when the pixel data is of type GL_BYTE.
- Improved performance of OpenGL framebuffer object binds with Xinerama enabled by 2000-3000% when the application's windows do not span screen boundaries.

Keep in mind however this driver is considered BETA.
It may or may not work fully on your system. If that is the case, you can use the last stable driver: use Meeki's link below.

Both of these drivers have included significant improvements over the older 304.64 Driver.
Last edited by Q5sys on Sun 23 Dec 2012, 22:38, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#175 Post by meeki »


User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#176 Post by meeki »

Image

Nvidia 310.19 SFS Dirvers
SFS http://lhpuppetsfs.puppytune.org/sfs/nv ... x86_64.sfs
MD5 http://lhpuppetsfs.puppytune.org/sfs/nv ... 64.sfs.md5

These drivers are for GeForce cards 8000 and up. See supported card list here.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-disp ... river.html

Q5sys nvidia pet did not work for me.

If your looking for lagacy nvidia drivers
Nvidia 304.64 PET Dirvers
PET http://lhpuppetsfs.puppytune.org/pet/Nv ... .3-L64.pet
MD5 http://lhpuppetsfs.puppytune.org/pet/Nv ... 64.pet.md5

See supported card list.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-disp ... river.html

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#177 Post by Q5sys »

meeki wrote: Q5sys nvidia pet did not work for me.
thanks for the report. I'll pull the link.
SFS release is a problem for video drivers. Due to the layering of the system when it boots... save file sits on top of SFS files... so if they have an older driver in their save file... the newer one in the SFS wont be used.

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#178 Post by meeki »

thanks for the report. I'll pull the link.
Its the 310 pet not the new beta one ya posted. Your pet works until I reboot. If I jsut reboot X it works. On a full restart of the system your pet made my screen txt small at boot and when xwin loads It goes black.
SFS release is a problem for video drivers. Due to the layering of the system when it boots... save file sits on top of SFS files... so if they have an older driver in their save file... the newer one in the SFS wont be used.
Agree.... this is why I am switching all my Drivers to SFS for now on. Even if i uninstall my old 304 nvida pet and install my new 310 SFS it fails.

Ive now installed and uninstalled the nvida SFS and it stays happy.

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#179 Post by Q5sys »

meeki wrote:
thanks for the report. I'll pull the link.
Its the 310 pet not the new beta one ya posted. Your pet works until I reboot. If I jsut reboot X it works. On a full restart of the system your pet made my screen txt small at boot and when xwin loads It goes black.
SFS release is a problem for video drivers. Due to the layering of the system when it boots... save file sits on top of SFS files... so if they have an older driver in their save file... the newer one in the SFS wont be used.
Agree.... this is why I am switching all my Drivers to SFS for now on. Even if i uninstall my old 304 nvida pet and install my new 310 SFS it fails.

Ive now installed and uninstalled the nvida SFS and it stays happy.
cool. Might want to make a note that it will require a user to install any previously installed nvidia pet so updates can be done via the SFS method.
Its a good idea, keeps the bloat out of the safe file and makes updating and rolling back a piece of cake.
Good thinking doing that with the video files, It never crossed my mind before.

gcmartin

Save sesssion processing in Mariner and other LH64s

#180 Post by gcmartin »

Question
In LH64, isn't the save-session files (I run live media) loaded before the SFSs. Thus this puts it highest in the order and SFS loading would not compromise save session stuff.

I ask, because I seem to remember TaZoC doing a significant amount of structuring to arrive at the boot-time management that we see.

This is, I believe, how it works in, say, Mariner.

Is that a correct view?

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#181 Post by Q5sys »

gcmartin wrote:Question
In LH64, isn't the save-session files (I run live media) loaded before the SFSs. Thus this puts it highest in the order and SFS loading would not compromise save session stuff.

I ask, because I seem to remember TaZoC doing a significant amount of structuring to arrive at the boot-time management that we see.

This is, I believe, how it works in, say, Mariner.

Is that a correct view?
I dont know what significant time would have been required to use a basic puppy function. This is not a slight against TazOC at all. So please no one take it as that. But the functionality of a save file sitting in top of everything is is a needed function for a frugal system with persistance to even work. So it doesn't take special skill to manage that. He has hacked the initrd script quite a bit to enable the addons that we see in LHP, but thats all lower work dealing mostly with SFS package management. (its been a while since I ripped the inird apart and looked at it, so I may be operating on older information)
TazOC can correct me If I'm wrong, (and I hope he does if I am wrong) but the only thing I remember that needed special attention was the order the SFS layers loaded into memory. Thats why the zWine layer loads first, and if you run KDE or other SFS like that they have a number appended to the beginning so they are loaded before others. He worked through that in LHP v4 series I think. That did require trial and error on his part to work out the proper order for certain SFS packages. Is that what you are refering to?


The Save session sits on the top level of layered file system. This is the same as every other puppy that Im aware of. Thats how the user save file can overwrite any changes in the Base SFS thats on the ISO or any add-on SFS packages the user installs.
In my previous post I said "save file sits on top of SFS files". In the layered file system the layers on top have priority over the layers below... so what I said means the same thing as what you said... this puts it highest in the order and SFS loading would not compromise save session stuff.
Hence the conversation Meeki and myself had.
meeki wrote:
SFS release is a problem for video drivers. Due to the layering of the system when it boots... save file sits on top of SFS files... so if they have an older driver in their save file... the newer one in the SFS wont be used.
Agree.... this is why I am switching all my Drivers to SFS for now on. Even if i uninstall my old 304 nvida pet and install my new 310 SFS it fails.

Ive now installed and uninstalled the nvida SFS and it stays happy.
EDIT:
Found it:
Image

snayak
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2011, 05:49

#182 Post by snayak »

Dear All,

Thanks for putting the base/mariner iso files in torrent. I am happy to get it.

Is it not possible to put devx file in torrent?

Since, these files are big, I fear to download them without torrent. This is because my Internet goes off time to time. Also I have severe bandwidth limitation per month.

Hope, if we can have all the big files in torrent, we poor can have a taste of newly released puppies, when we have some leftover bandwidth in the last week of months.

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak
[Precise 571 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 512MB RAM]
[Fatdog 720 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

[url]http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/[/url]

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#183 Post by Q5sys »

Normally I run Arch on my netbooks but I decided to fire up LHP on it and see how it'd run... well everything ran great for about 20 minutes... then the entire system just started to get slow as crap. And I mean SLOOOOOOWWWWW. I checked the I/O stats and nothing was doing anything, so I fired up Htop and was presented with this:
Pic is larger than 800x600 so Im linking instead of embedding it.


That's sorted with top CPU% at the top. Something is burning through the CPU, but isnt showing in either Htop, top, ps -ef, or any other way for me to check my processes.

Has anyone else had a similar situation come up?

snayak
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2011, 05:49

#184 Post by snayak »

Hi Q5sys,

I run Lhpup 5.14 on one of my pc. I haven't seen this issue. However, one thing i remember that we better change gkrellm settings to poll the status every 1 minute. By default it polls too frequently. From your figure also you can see that it takes more cpu time. Apart from this, I am not sure why your cpu is working so hard.

Another issue I saw 1 week back is,
I switch on my machine and left lhpup idle for around 20 minutes, kernel dump happened! This was first time I saw this. I had to hard boot the machine.

Another issue I saw 3 weeks back is, it didn't powerdown completely, it hanged on the last screen that writes, "power down."

i was running lhpup 5.14 on lenovo g570.

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak
[Precise 571 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 512MB RAM]
[Fatdog 720 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

[url]http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/[/url]

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#185 Post by Q5sys »

NetHogs is a net top tool which displays traffic used per process instead of per IP or interface.

Made this for myself and decided to share it. Ironically enough it was featured on the Linux Action Show today as well. So if anyone saw that and wanted to try it out... Here you go.

I had to include 2 extra lib packages. Depending on what you have on your system you may need another. If thats the case let me know and I'll throw it up here.

Included Libs:
libnl-1.1-x86_64-1
libpcap-1.1.1-x86_64-1

Any problems let me know.

Post Reply