Lighthouse 64 5.15 Final

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#46 Post by Q5sys »

gcmartin wrote:Thanks for the directional on ATI. I'm going to assume the procedure is the same for nVida.
Assuming I understand, boot with Vesa driver at FirstRUN. Then run Update and select the PET. On desktop restart all should be OK.

Here an application issue I'm having in the desktop.
Scenario
Running Live media LH64-515 Base. The system has been rebooted over 4 occasions with save-session on each occasion.

Anyone else seen/reported this problem?

Xine error on desktop
Tried running XINE from Menu>Multimedia>Xine. It briefly exposes on the desktop then disappears.

Xine error in terminal window
Tried running from a terminal session as root user and found the following

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# pwd
/root
<root> ~
bash-4.1# whoami
root
<root> ~
bash-4.1# xine
This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  136 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  2096
  Current serial number in output stream:  2096
<root> ~
bash-4.1# 
This is occcuring with the Vesa still running in BOTH my 515 on laptop and desktop. This has not been an issue with vesa in 514's desktop.

Hope there's enough info here to help.
If no one else can offer any other suggestions you can try this:

Load this Pet (its a debugger)
then open a console window and type:

Code: Select all

strace -o xine_error_log.txt xine
then upload that text file here.
Attachments
strace-4.5.20-x86_64-1.pet
(110.55 KiB) Downloaded 531 times

gcmartin

#47 Post by gcmartin »

Q5sys wrote:
gcmartin wrote: ... Anyone seen/reported this problem?

Xine error on desktop
Tried running XINE from Menu>Multimedia>Xine. It briefly exposes on the desktop then disappears.

Xine error in terminal window
Tried running from a terminal session as root user and found the following

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# pwd
/root
<root> ~
bash-4.1# whoami
root
<root> ~
bash-4.1# xine
This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  136 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  2096
  Current serial number in output stream:  2096
<root> ~
bash-4.1# 
...
If no one else can offer any other suggestions you can try this:

Load this Pet (its a debugger)
then open a console window and type:

Code: Select all

strace -o xine_error_log.txt xine
then upload that text file here.

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# strace -o xine_error_log.txt xine
This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  136 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  2098
  Current serial number in output stream:  2098
<root> ~
bash-4.1# 
@Q5sys, This seems similar to what was already shared. Hope this provides some insight.
Last edited by gcmartin on Wed 07 Nov 2012, 23:50, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#48 Post by Q5sys »

gcmartin wrote:
Q5sys wrote:
gcmartin wrote: ... Anyone seen/reported this problem?

Xine error on desktop
Tried running XINE from Menu>Multimedia>Xine. It briefly exposes on the desktop then disappears.

Xine error in terminal window
Tried running from a terminal session as root user and found the following

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# pwd
/root
<root> ~
bash-4.1# whoami
root
<root> ~
bash-4.1# xine
This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  136 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  2096
  Current serial number in output stream:  2096
<root> ~
bash-4.1# 
...
If no one else can offer any other suggestions you can try this:

Load this Pet (its a debugger)
then open a console window and type:

Code: Select all

strace -o xine_error_log.txt xine
then upload that text file here.

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# strace -o xine_error_log.txt xine
This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  136 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  2098
  Current serial number in output stream:  2098
<root> ~
bash-4.1# 
@Q5sys, This seems similar to what was already shared. Hope this provides some insight.
Sorry I wasnt clear enough. When you opened up the console window you probably were in the /root/ subdir. Look in there for the " xine_error_log.txt ".
or try this: find / -name xine_error_log.txt
When you find that... upload THAT file here.
It'll be way longer than just a few lines.

gcmartin

#49 Post by gcmartin »

You posted very quickly as I was correcting the upload. Had to fiddle with the file extensions. See the prior post's attachment.

Thansk in advnace

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#50 Post by Q5sys »

gcmartin wrote:You posted very quickly as I was correcting the upload. Had to fiddle with the file extensions. See the prior post's attachment.

Thansk in advnace
Yea I got it. Thanks.
Can you run:

Code: Select all

glxinfo > glx_info.txt
That'll put a file in your working directory.
Rename the text file to upload here like you did the last one.

Also paste the ouput of

Code: Select all

grep fglrx /etc/modprobe.d/*

gcmartin

XINE desktop Problem

#51 Post by gcmartin »

My original question is whether anyone else is having this problem. If so, I think it will help us know what to do.

Are you having the same problem? No one has answered.
Its easy to just open the Menu and click Multimedia and Xine. Then reply here, "Yea"/"Nay"

Someone reply, please. Thanks in advance.
Attachments
Xine_Problem.tar.bz2
This is a compressed file. It is NOT a text file
(186 Bytes) Downloaded 490 times

gcmartin

#52 Post by gcmartin »

The PPM is using a REPO for FATDOG from the 5xx era. Is this appropriate. Should we be pulling the PETs from the FATDOG 6xx PET library?

Here to help

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#53 Post by jamesbond »

gcmartin wrote:The PPM is using a REPO for FATDOG from the 5xx era. Is this appropriate. Should we be pulling the PETs from the FATDOG 6xx PET library?

Here to help
One can try but I'm not sure it will work. Among other things, 6xx is built with newer glibc than 5xx (thus Lighthouse64), and some applications have hard dependency on which version of libc they will use.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

gcmartin

ATI PET installation and video issues

#54 Post by gcmartin »

I've just again spent an eve trying to get the "magic" for using Update and PETs to change my video to the ATI driver in the Update. Up until 515, I have always used the Vesa driver. But, this time around, I want to move video responsiveness forward before changing my monitor.

My original message was about just that problem - "LH64 Instructions to follow for video driver installations".

Scenario
  1. I am running Live media system with save-sessions (although this has nothing to do with the system's desktop operations).
  2. I use UPdate to get the ATI PET and all seems well in UPdate operations.
  3. I follow PET installation instructions to RestartX
  4. Personalize Settings still shows VESA
Because there are no instructions I began testing
  1. I shutdown the system saving the current session
  2. I reboot the system
  3. Personalize Setting still shows VESA
  4. I close X to console and run Xorgwizard allowing it to Probe
  5. Restart X
  6. Personalize Setting still shows VESA
  7. I rerun Xorgwizard and select Choose
  8. After selecting ATI Catalyst I am presented with a message about driver "re-installation"
  9. At this point in the running of Xorgwizard I am in a loop of recurring steps which only brings me back to this message.
  10. Restart X
  11. Personalize Setting still shows VESA
Dilemma
If you following the Xorgwizard's (either "Probe" or "Choose") onscreen instructions, you are in a loop of steps which do not replace the VESA driver with the ATI driver

If there's anyone who has setup LH64 to use the ATI driver, please leave instructions to this post.

Thanks in advance for guidance

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#55 Post by meeki »

Hey GC.

Out of X. In the command prompt where your typing xorgwizard TRY TYPING xorgwizard-puppy

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#56 Post by meeki »

Nvidia Drivers!!!

our last driver release was Wed Jul 27. 2011 Surprising but only one main new card GPU type(s) was not supported.

Yep the R310 drivers that were in beta are now out.

This is a beta pet! It now works on my system after 5 failed attempts and having to reset my Xorg to vesa many times. So install this with a grain of salt until we start getting reports that it works on other systems.

Built/installed on:
Chip: Intel(R) Core 2 Duo 6600 2.40GHz, L2 Cache 4 MB, FSB Speed 1066 MHz
Ram: 8GB DD2 667
Video Card: 2X GeForce 7900 GS PCI Ecpress. (not in sli) 256Mb card(s)

So its working on my old stuff. I wonder how it will work on newer gear?

Known issues:

* Make dang sure you uninstall your old Nvidia Drivers!!!!!!!!
* Slight screen flicker at start for 1 second.
* Verry first start dont go clicking things until the CPU graph settles down to normal. can lock ya up.
* Some old 3D games have issue with libopenal.so.1 with the new drivers most new packages have fixed this

-= Driver =-
Version: 304.64
Release Date: 2012.11.06
Operating System: Linux 64-bit
Language: English (U.S.)
File Size: 29 MB

PET http://lhpuppetsfs.puppytune.org/beta/p ... .3-L64.pet
MD5 http://lhpuppetsfs.puppytune.org/beta/p ... 64.pet.md5



Installing the new drivers

Added this to my previous thread too!

(1) Uninstalling old drivers / saving old settings
(skip this if you have no previous drivers installed)
Video 1 http://youtu.be/SPp8CmoSxis

(2) Nvidia New driver install

Video 2 http://youtu.be/gz3IQim2r7c

(3) LH64 Nvidia Driver install continued

Video 3 http://youtu.be/Omt7YutwQD8

(4) LH64 Nvidia finishing up

Video 4 http://youtu.be/ofQhVjz6wNw



-= Supported Products =-
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-disp ... river.html
GeForce 600 series:
GTX 690, GTX 680, GTX 670, GTX 660 Ti, GTX 660, GTX 650 Ti, GTX 650, GT 645, GT 640, GT 630, GT 620, GT 610, 605

GeForce 600M series:
GTX 680M, GTX 675MX, GTX 675M, GTX 670MX, GTX 670M, GTX 660M, GT 650M, GT 645M, GT 640M LE, GT 640M, GT 635M, GT 630M, GT 620M, G610M

GeForce 500 series:
GTX 590, GTX 580, GTX 570, GTX 560 Ti, GTX 560 SE, GTX 560, GTX 555, GTX 550 Ti, GT 545, GT 530, GT 520, 510

GeForce 500M series:
GTX 580M, GTX 570M, GTX 560M, GT 555M, GT 550M, GT 540M, GT 525M, GT 520MX, GT 520M

GeForce 400 series:
GTX 480, GTX 470, GTX 465, GTX 460 v2, GTX 460 SE v2, GTX 460 SE, GTX 460, GTS 450, GT 440, GT 430, GT 420, GT 415, 405

GeForce 400M series:
GTX 485M, GTX 480M, GTX 470M, GTX 460M, GT 445M, GT 435M, GT 425M, GT 420M, GT 415M, 410M

GeForce 300 series:
GT 340, GT 330, GT 320, 315, 310

GeForce 300M series:
GTS 360M, GTS 350M, GT 335M, GT 330M, GT 325M, GT 320M, 320M, 315M, 310M, 305M

GeForce 200 series:
GTX 295, GTX 285, GTX 280, GTX 275, GTX 260, GTS 250, GTS 240, GT 240, GT 230, GT 220, G210, 210, 205

GeForce 200M series:
GTX 285M, GTX 280M, GTX 260M, GTS 260M, GTS 250M, GT 240M, GT 230M, GT 220M, G210M

GeForce 100 series:
GT 140, GT 130, GT 120, G 100

GeForce 100M series:
GTS 160M, GTS 150M, GT 130M, GT 120M, G 110M, G 105M, G 103M, G 102M

GeForce 9 series:
9800 GX2, 9800 GTX+, 9800 GTX/GTX+, 9800 GT, 9650 S, 9600 GT, 9600 GSO 512, 9600 GSO, 9600 GS, 9500 GT, 9500 GS, 9400 GT, 9400, 9300 SE, 9300 GS, 9300 GE, 9300 / nForce 730i, 9300, 9200, 9100

GeForce 9M series:
9800M GTX, 9800M GTS, 9800M GT, 9800M GS, 9700M GTS, 9700M GT, 9650M GT, 9650M GS, 9600M GT, 9600M GS, 9500M GS, 9500M G, 9400M G, 9400M, 9300M GS, 9300M G, 9200M GS, 9100M G

GeForce 8 series:
8800 Ultra, 8800 GTX, 8800 GTS 512, 8800 GTS, 8800 GT, 8800 GS, 8600 GTS, 8600 GT, 8600 GS, 8500 GT, 8400 SE, 8400 GS, 8400, 8300 GS, 8300, 8200, 8100 / nForce 720a

GeForce 8M series:
8800M GTX, 8800M GTS, 8700M GT, 8600M GT, 8600M GS, 8400M GT, 8400M GS, 8400M G, 8200M G, 8200M

GeForce 7 series:
7950 GX2, 7950 GT, 7900 GTX, 7900 GT/GTO, 7900 GS, 7800 SLI, 7800 GTX, 7800 GT, 7800 GS, 7650 GS, 7600 LE, 7600 GT, 7600 GS, 7500 LE, 7350 LE, 7300 SE / 7200 GS, 7300 LE, 7300 GT, 7300 GS, 7150M /NVIDIA nForce 630M, 7150 / NVIDIA nForce 630i, 7100 GS, 7100 / NVIDIA nForce 630i, 7050 PV / NVIDIA nForce 630a, 7050 / NVIDIA nForce 630i, 7050 / nForce 620i, 7025 / NVIDIA nForce 630a, 7000M /NVIDIA nForce 610M

GeForce Go 7 series:
Go 7950 GTX, Go 7900 SE, Go 7900 GTX, Go 7900 GS, Go 7800 GTX, Go 7800, Go 7700, Go 7600 GT, Go 7600, Go 7400, Go 7300, Go 7200

GeForce 6 series:
6800 XT, 6800 XE, 6800 Ultra, 6800 Series GPU, 6800 LE, 6800 GT, 6800 GS/XT, 6800 GS, 6800, 6700 XL, 6610 XL, 6600 VE, 6600 LE, 6600 GT, 6600, 6500, 6250, 6200 TurboCache, 6200SE TurboCache, 6200 LE, 6200 A-LE, 6200, 6150SE nForce 430, 6150LE / Quadro NVS 210S, 6150 LE, 6150, 6100 nForce 420, 6100 nForce 405, 6100 nForce 400, 6100

NVS Series:
NVS 510, NVS 310, NVS 300

Quadro series:
K5000, 7000, 6000, 600, 5000, 410, 4000, 400, 2000D, 2000

Quadro FX series:
FX Go1400, FX 5800, FX 580, FX 570, FX 5600, FX 560, FX 5500, FX 550, FX 540, FX 4800, FX 4700 X2, FX 4600, FX 4500 X2, FX 4500, FX 4000, FX 380 LP, FX 3800, FX 380, FX 370 Low Profile, FX 3700, FX 370, FX 3500, FX 350, FX 3450/4000 SDI, FX 3400/4400, FX 330, FX 1800, FX 1700, FX 1500, FX 1400, CX

Quadro Notebook series:
K5000M, K4000M, K3000M, K2000M, K1000M, 5010M, 5000M, 4000M, 3000M, 2000M, 1000M

Quadro FX Notebook series:
FX 880M, FX 770M, FX 570M, FX 560M, FX 540M, FX 380M, FX 3800M, FX 370M, FX 3700M, FX 360M, FX 3600M, FX 350M, FX 2800M, FX 2700M, FX 2500M, FX 1800M, FX 1700M, FX 1600M, FX 1500M

Quadro NVS series:
NVS 450, NVS 440, NVS 420, NVS 295, NVS 290, NVS 285, NVS 210S / 6150LE

Quadro NVS Notebook series:
NVS 5400M, NVS 5200M, NVS 4200M, NVS 320M, NVS 160M, NVS 150M, NVS 140M, NVS 135M, NVS 130M, NVS 120M, NVS 110M

Quadro Plex series:
Model IV, Model II, D Series, 7000

Quadro Sync series:
Sync, G-Sync II

Quadro SDI series:
Quadro SDI

ION series:
ION LE, ION

C-Class Processors:
Tesla C870, Tesla C2075, Tesla C2070, Tesla C2050, Tesla C1060, T10 Processor

M-Class Processors:
Tesla M2090, Tesla M2075, Tesla M2070-Q, Tesla M2070, Tesla M2050, Tesla M1060

X-Class Processors:
Tesla X2090

K-Series Processors:
Tesla K10

NVS Notebook Series:
NVS 5100M, NVS 3100M, NVS 2100M

VGX Series:
VGX K2, VGX K1
Last edited by meeki on Thu 08 Nov 2012, 23:58, edited 5 times in total.

gcmartin

#57 Post by gcmartin »

meeki wrote:Hey GC.

Out of X. In the command prompt where your typing xorgwizard TRY TYPING xorgwizard-puppy
Already tried with the same results.

When I use "Probe", and select the "ATI ... (Proprietary)" driver the resulting window gives me 2 options. Neither of these 2 options work for off-internet use. Seems that there is a missing/forgotten step on that screen.

Thus, what I am saying is that I think there is something wrong/bug that is "procedural".

Here to help

gcmartin

Procedure to install nVidia Propietary Driver - request

#58 Post by gcmartin »

meeki wrote:Nvidia Drivers!!!

Yep the R310 drivers that were in beta are now out.

This is a beta pet! ...
What is the procedure we should use to setup a system with this driver.

Assume you have just booted your ISO via its multi-session CD/DVD media. And, you have just arrived at desktop to setup your LH64.

I will be starting from the following screen, below.
Attachments
Shinobar-Version.png
(110.04 KiB) Downloaded 904 times

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#59 Post by meeki »

gcmartin:
What is the procedure we should use to setup a system with this driver.

Assume you have just booted your ISO via its multi-session CD/DVD media. And, you have just arrived at desktop to setup your LH64.
I don't run from a CD I run from a pet file on a USB or harddrive frugal install.
Never used a CD burn setup so Ive made a video for how i install it with my setup. Hope you can make it work for yours.



Installing the new drivers

Added this to my previous thread too!

(1) Uninstalling old drivers / saving old settings
(skip this if you have no previous drivers installed)
Video 1 http://youtu.be/SPp8CmoSxis

(2) Nvidia New driver install

Video 2 http://youtu.be/gz3IQim2r7c

(3) LH64 Nvidia Driver install continued

Video 3 http://youtu.be/Omt7YutwQD8

(4) LH64 Nvidia finishing up

Video 4 http://youtu.be/ofQhVjz6wNw


hope this helps.

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

Re: XINE desktop Problem

#60 Post by Q5sys »

gcmartin wrote:My original question is whether anyone else is having this problem. If so, I think it will help us know what to do.

Are you having the same problem? No one has answered.
Its easy to just open the Menu and click Multimedia and Xine. Then reply here, "Yea"/"Nay"

Someone reply, please. Thanks in advance.
I just checked both ISOs 514 and 515. Xine starts on both without problem.
I have no idea why you're is trying to access GLX. GLX is included in the ATI or NVIDIA drivers. And your system doesnt have them (obvious since you havent installed them)

Something else on your system must be causing Xine to want GLX.

As for your ATI driver issue, I cant help you out there since I dont have an ATI system to test. I guess now is the time to put that 40 years of OS Development and System operations to use and figure out what the issue is on your end.
The process you need to use has been explained to you now 3 times. (Myself, TazOC, and now Meeki with respect to nvidia drivers). The process to install drivers is the same no matter what driver your using. If its not working... its something on your end somewhere. Either because your card is rejecting the Catalyst driver (have you tried the Radeon option?) Or something else in your system is causing a conflict. (possibly related to your xine issue).

Try with a brand new fresh save file and see if it works that way. If it does... then you've confirmed that there is a conflict with some other change you've made on your system.

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#61 Post by meeki »

I too have no issue with Xine.

In 514 I had issues with some formats.

Now with 515 it plays every thing. I still use VLC player for most of my media needs.

Sorry you have an issue. If I had your vid card or cousin on hand I'd help.

I'd like to suggest something. If you think its card and driver related go out and get another card. I know this is not a fix of the current issue.

I do have 2 computers that Hate LHPUP and puppy in general. They both have on-board video cards. I have about 6 8meg to 16meg to 32meg pci video cards I use in issues like your having. I then see if the issue persists. If so I try another card. After 3 diff cards I tend to think its a software issue and not hardware.

Its hard to make an OS work on every thing,......

Meeki

gcmartin

#62 Post by gcmartin »

OK, Let's approach this from a different angle since no-one tried to boot Live media to verify my problem. And, their no other requests for additional information from the tools in LH64-515.

History
I have never installed any additional video driver in LH64. When 514 was released, I have continued to use the original setup's vesa driver. This has been shown in all I've presented since working with this community.

Last night LH64-514
Just for grins, I booted the LH514 Mariner live media on this LAPTOP. It booted as expected and also setup with the original boot vesa driver.

I tried to start Xine and it starts to the desktop. (Expected for never had any problems with Xine before)

So, the Xine problem is UNIQUE to 515 and this laptop.

LH64-515
There is an incorrect allusion by a member here that he feels someone has addressed the ATI installation procedure issue. I find his allusion total inaccurate and irresponsible. Further in his irresponsible attempt to discredit, it appears he has not shown evidence with data of what he is purporting. That is coming as it is purported that there is something in this system that was manually added....not the case.

No one has confirmed or provided collaborative evidence of the procedure actually working when someone starts from Live Media. Further, anyone can compare my steps to see that I follow all on-screen messages in attempts to report the problem with the video card.

I do not have a problem with VLC as it works fine with the Video drive...same as it did in 514. Xine does not work fine.

I am enclosing the current system's PPM page and its Update pages. If someone spots a feature which they find ill place and probable cause of the problem, please report.

Refreshing prior LH64-515 information from X2 laptop.
Both LH64-515 Mariner and Base have been downloaded and MD5 checksum at conclusion of each downloaded ISO. DEVX has NOT been installed or used in either's Live media operations.
Xine Problem
  1. discovered Xine problem in Mariner. No VLC issue
  2. Rebooted Mariner without VLC. Still the problem exist.
  3. Switched to Base. Xine problem here too.
  4. Installed VLC on base. NO VLC problem. Still the Xine problem exist.
ATI
  1. Driver problem with LH64-515 base[/b]
  2. Added ATI PET to base. Cannot boot get thru installation procedure with the system
  3. using the ATI Proprietary driver when arriving at desktop.
Problem with Xine exist on all systems where I booted from LH64-515 Live media.
Any useful suggestions from anyone whose not trying to be funny or inflammatory would be appreciated. I have always been a willing participant in providing any and all useful information to resolve issues and problems with anyone.

Lastly, as is noted in all of my past, should I get something wrong in assumption, or procedure, I am quick to point it out. I do NOT get embarrassed should I report or do something wrongly. There are members in this forum who know that I operate in that vane. I would hope that the arrogance of the irresponsible individual can man-up, too. I will should I find myself in those shoes.

Thanks in advance for any help.

User avatar
meeki
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 04:48
Location: Portland OR

#63 Post by meeki »

Ok I'll quit being lazy and try to replicate your issue with the same setup your running (IE Live media) minus the ATI. I'll do it SAT when I have some free time.

Also you and Q5 need to stop now please. I've seen it from both sides. Don't care who's right or who started it. I like both of ya so I'm not taking a side. Just move on for me please.

gcmartin

Xine problem does not exist IF I use these bootime parms

#64 Post by gcmartin »

Thanks Meeki
But, I have an UPDATE. I just rebooted the Mariner Live Media. I ONLY:
  1. At boot, I used "lhp pfix=ram,nosfs,pure64"
  2. Made the normal FirstRUN changes
  3. Followed normal instructions allowing desktop restart
  4. Started Xine
XINE Starts!!!

Now, to try to determine the element in the SFS loads that could be causing the Xine issue.

My only need was to see if others had used Live media and were experiencing the issue I find.

If I can nail the Xine issue I will. Now, to try to get better info about the driver loading problem.
Thanks to all
Attachments
FirstRUN-Mariner.png
Normal FirstRUN changes
(92.41 KiB) Downloaded 807 times
Last edited by gcmartin on Fri 09 Nov 2012, 20:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#65 Post by Q5sys »

gcmartin wrote:OK, Let's approach this from a different angle since no-one tried to boot Live media to verify my problem. And, their no other requests for additional information from the tools in LH64-515.
How do you know no one tried to boot from live media to verify your problem. Is this more of your 'all-knowing' claims where you somehow are omniscient and know what every person has done on their system and is thinking? I have used live-meda to try to verify your problem. And I did so again further in this post.
gcmartin wrote:So, the Xine problem is UNIQUE to 515 and this laptop.
Which means no one will be able to help you resolve an issue with your hardware, since we cant replicate it. It's up to you to solve. Sorry, but unless I have your hardware I cant do anything to help since I cant replicate your problem.

gcmartin wrote:There is an incorrect allusion by a member here that he feels someone has addressed the ATI installation procedure issue. I find his allusion total inaccurate and irresponsible. Further in his irresponsible attempt to discredit, it appears he has not shown evidence with data of what he is purporting.
I can only assume your 3rd person sarcasm here is intended for me... so I'll just go ahead and respond to it. The ATI installation has been addressed. If you are unable to read the previous posts... I'll direct you to here and
here.

But I guess you are unable to read and understand what people are saying since its not in a bullet point step plan... So here you go.

1.) Push the power button on your computer
2.) Put your LHP DVD/CD in the CD drive
3.) Boot your system with the LHP DVD/CD in the drive
4.) Wait for puppy to boot
5.) Once Puppy has booted click on the Update icon on the desktop
6.) Download and install the ATI catalyist driver
7.) confirm driver
8.) save and reboot

Now I'm sure you'll come back with some reply about 'that wont work for live media', so I'll go ahead and shut you down right now.
I had a friend over today who has an laptop with an ATI card.
So I decided to fire up a live DVD and install the driver. And guess what... it worked just fine.
But I'm sure you wouldnt believe me without proof... so here goes:
BEFORE ATI DRIVER INSTALL: http://puppy-linux.org/q5sys/gfx1.png
AFTER ATI DRIVER INSTALL: http://puppy-linux.org/q5sys/gfx2.png


You're Xine issue has not been able to be duplicated by anyone else, so its impossible for us to provide further assistance.
You're ATI driver issue was not reproducable by TazOC (he uses ATI), and even after your sarcasm I still decided to try and help you out and see if I could replicate your problem. I was unable to, so again its impossible for us to provide further assistance.

You've claimed to have 40 years OS development experience. If you cant figure out how to install a driver properly... I dont see how any of us can help you. I've only got 14 years experience in the IT field.
Thanks in advance for any help.
I'm more than willing to help. But please stop with your grandiose claims about what everyone else is doing and thinking. People here are willing to help, but you've got to be willing to try and help yourself. If we cant fix your problem, you might have to fix it on your own. I seriously doubt anyone on this forum knows the solution to your problem and isnt providing it. This isnt some vast conspiracy against you. So far, the bugs you've mentioned cant be replicated by anyone else... so there isnt much we can do to resolve them.
gcmartin wrote: There are members in this forum who know that I operate in that vane. I would hope that the arrogance of the irresponsible individual can man-up, too. I will should I find myself in those shoes.
Please stop with the Martyr crap. I also am amused how you can me irresposible... You'll have to fill me in on that one. I also find the irony of you speaking out against me while at the same time asking for my assistance most amusing. I will continue to offer assistance in spite of how you are acting towards me. If insulting me makes you feel better about yourself... then feel free. Insult away.

EDIT:
gcmartin wrote:Thanks Meeki
But, I have an UPDATE. I just rebooted the Mariner Live Media. I ONLY:
  1. At boot, I used "lhp pfix=ram,nosfs,pure64"
  2. Made the normal FirstRUN changes
  3. Followed normal instructions allowing desktop restart
  4. Started Xine
XINE Starts!!!

Now, to try to determine the element in the SFS loads that could be causing the Xine issue.

My only need was to see if others had used Live media and were experiencing the issue I find.

If I can nail the Xine issue I will. Now, to try to get better info about the driver loading problem.
I tried to replicated this using live media and Xine still loaded fine. Have you checked the md5 hashs for all your SFS and base SFS? I dont see how, but an errant bit might be causing something to go wonky.

Post Reply