Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 08:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
mpdPup - Simplified MPD Music Server/Jukebox - v0.9.3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 27 of 36 [528 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Author Message
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 17:01    Post subject:  

And again I'm replying to myself Smile

Glad to report that the problem is solved!

It was simple, really: the "sound device" (i.e. MyDAC) was rebooting muted!

So, I followed Idolse's recipe from the page 1 of this thread ("No sound after the initial setup/reboot though everything appears to be working"), rebooted - and voila! - sound is coming out as it should Smile

Just one more question: how do I solve this on the future machines that I'll be setting up - without having MyDAC at hand?
Just save the current "asound.state" file somewhere else as a backup for users with MyDAC, and copy it over the existing ("default") one?

Regards,

Denis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 19:36    Post subject:  

It looks to me like ctl value error might be related to alsactl - after you select the soundcard the wizard saves the sound device settings using the command 'alsactl -f /etc/asound.state store'. ALSA automatically loads the asound.state file after reinitiating the sound device.

Did you try booting without the sound device plugged in or unplugging/replugging the device after bootup?


Edit - cross posted. After un-muting type the command above:
alsactl -f /etc/asound.state store

For future devices you could try saving the asound.state file - there is a good chance that will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willemoes

Joined: 08 Nov 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 15:31    Post subject:  

Is there a way to add/remove music files on a headless Mpd-machine when using local sata hdd as storage?

It´s connected to a router for using tablet as client over wi-fi.

Also connected to router is a Windows Pc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 16:51    Post subject:  

willemoes wrote:
Is there a way to add/remove music files on a headless Mpd-machine when using local sata hdd as storage?

It´s connected to a router for using tablet as client over wi-fi.

Also connected to router is a Windows Pc


Do you mean you have the music library on the HDD on the mpdPup machine?

In that case, without installing samba, etc., you can use Filezilla on the Windows side to copy files.

In Filezilla, enter your mpdPup computer IP address, username "root" and password "woofwoof" (unless you changed the default password), and use port "22".
It should work, and you should be able to connect to mpdPup machine from the Windows PC on the local network. From there you can find the directory where the music library is, and upload (or delete) files there.

Should be rather easy to do, no need for samba or anything else: I just tried it with a Windows machine on a local network: took me about 3-4 minutes to download Filezilla, install it, and then in about 10 seconds I was connected to my mpdPup computer, and sending files to and fro... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willemoes

Joined: 08 Nov 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed 22 May 2013, 04:24    Post subject:  

DenisP wrote:

Do you mean you have the music library on the HDD on the mpdPup machine?


Yes; would like to compare SQ between local 2.5 Hdd to musiclibrary over network - as well as have the possibility to bring the machine to friends for listening (have the ability to connect KVM if necessary).

Will check out Filezilla, Thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thisisvv

Joined: 05 Jul 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 00:10    Post subject: unable to change anything after i type xwin  

when i go to xwin normal window pop up and then the mpd is always hanged...

it works perfectly in devices but when i try to go to xwin and try to change anything it is just hanged...

tried multiple usb no change...

any idea why...

V
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kocozze

Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 15:08    Post subject: spotify  

Hi all!
Anyone know how can I hear spotify or grooveshark in mpdpup with mpddroid on tablet?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 07:28    Post subject:
Subject description: USB remote issue
 

More remote issues... Sad

I've got a few cheap Chinese USB remotes from ebay, like the one in the attached image.

After some fiddling, I relized that it does respond - but only when I start X!
Namely, when I turn on the computer, and use console (without starting X), the remote does not respond. "showkey" command shows nothing, empcd with verbose output (empcd -y 9 -f) shows nothing.

However, when I start X, and e.g. open a terminal window, I get the remote recognized, and can configure keys in /etc/empcd.conf.
When I close X and return to console, everything still continues to work, and I can use the remote to control mpd (volume, start/stop, etc. - everything I've configured in empcd.conf).

HOWEVER, if I reboot the computer, the remote again does not work in console.

Basically, I have to start x and close it again for the remote to work...

What am I missing? What should I do in order for the remote to be recognized in console, without having to start X server? I'm trying to run a headless machine, and starting x just to recognize the remote is unnecessary hassle.

NOTE: no lirc necessary, this is a USB remote, and (under X) it sends keypresses, no problem. I haven't fiddled with lirc at all (fresh install). Once recognized (under X), I can use empcd.conf to define keys, and everything works just fine - no hassles at all. BUT, in order for the remote to be recognized at all, I first have to start X (and then close it and go back to console... to avoid unnecessary load on the processor, memory etc.)
Upon booting, the remote is recognized by dev/input, and appears under /dev/input/event4.

Any ideas how to get it recognized in console, without having to start X first (or fiddling with lirc)?
PC-Remote-Controller-S-PRC-0114-.jpg
 Description   ebay PC remote
 Filesize   73.65 KB
 Viewed   1205 Time(s)

PC-Remote-Controller-S-PRC-0114-.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 17:29    Post subject:
Subject description: USB remote problem solved!
 

Again, glad to say that I resolved my cheap ebay USB remote problem Smile

The problem was that I didn't understand how the input is handled....

After some googling, I found out the solution, here:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW-TO:Configure_VRC-1100_remote_for_Ubuntu
I followed the instructions for finding out to which device the remote was assigned - in my case it was "/dev/input/event4" - it can be found out easily by comparing the output of
Code:
ls -l /dev/input

BEFORE plugging the USB remote receiver and AFTER plugging it in.
After the remote receiver is plugged in the USB port, you will usually find two new events - in my case those were "event4" and "event5".
The rest was easy, following the above instructions.

What I did is to issue two commands:
Code:
cat /proc/bus/input/devices

- this gave me the Vendor ID and Product code numbers (identified by "Handlers: XXX" line - in my case there were two items, one had line "Handlers=kbd event4" and the other had "Handlers=mouse1 event5".

After that, I issued two commands:
Code:
udevadm info -q all -n /dev/input/event4
udevadm info -q all -n /dev/input/event5

Those gave me the required MINOR and MAJOR numbers, and I was finally able to do:
Code:
vi /etc/udev/rules.d/10-irremote.rules

and then I entered the following:
Code:

SUBSYSTEM=="input",ATTRS{idVendor}=="1d57",ATTRS{idProduct}=="ad02",ATTR{dev}=="13:68",SYMLINK="input/irremote0"
SUBSYSTEM=="input",ATTRS{idVendor}=="1d57",ATTRS{idProduct}=="ad02",ATTR{dev}=="13:69",SYMLINK="input/irremote1"

("Vendor ID" and "Product" codes might be diferent for other devices, though - this worked for mine, after finding WHICH devices those were as described above....)

Saved the file, and then issued
Code:
udevadm trigger

and there it was, after issuing "ls - l /dev/input", I got two new devices:
Code:
crw-r----- 1 root root     13,  68 2013-05-27 22:16 event4
crw-r----- 1 root root     13,  69 2013-05-27 22:16 event5
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root           6 2013-05-27 22:16 irremote0 -> event4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root           6 2013-05-27 22:16 irremote1 -> event5
crw-r--r-- 1 root root     13,   0 2002-08-31 22:31 js0

(those are "irremote0" and "irremote1").

After that, I changed the device in "/etc/empcd.conf" to "/dev/input/irremote0", saved changes to disk, rebooted, and lo and behold, it works!!!!

Smile

Hope this helps someone else, too....

Next I'll probably try to do the same for a homebrew serial IR receiver, since I have enough parts to solder several of those.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 04:32    Post subject:  

Hm, back to square one...

This morning I turned the machine on, and the remote commands are again not recognized unless I start X (xwin)....
What bugs me the most is that last night everything worked in the console, without starting X first - even after several reboots Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 02:42    Post subject:  

Getting behind on my replies here...

@Denis, Sorry I can't provide tons of help on this remote support - I'll need to pick up some cheap USB sensors/remotes to see if I can figure out what's going on. You were on the right track with the udev rules though. Maybe it's showing up as a slightly different device during the boot process and missing those rules you created - try checking dmesg and lsmod to see what has been loaded after a clean boot. The XWindows bit is mystifying to me - not sure what it's doing to the inputs to 'fix' the system.

@kocozze, Spotify can be listened to but you need to use the command line to do it, it's far from intuitive. It also needs spotify premium to work. I don't believe Grooveshark is supported at all. Generic streaming radio is much easier to deal with.

@thisvv, I'm not sure what's going on, and it's a bit difficult to tell from your description what the problem is. Maybe try making changes from the CLI instead of the command line? What exactly are you trying to change?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RoxGsm

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jun 2013, 11:36    Post subject: No Hd sound  

Hi Idolse
Thank You or big work and helping .... just a question please:
Mpdpup is working fine on Hiface Two usb soundcard playing 16/44 audio files only. But No Hd audio file (24/88,96,192) is possible to play on MpdPup!
Soundcard and Dac support 24/192 but hd flac files not start. Something went wrong in configuration? Help me please. Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jun 2013, 19:31    Post subject:  

ldolse wrote:

@Denis, Sorry I can't provide tons of help on this remote support - I'll need to pick up some cheap USB sensors/remotes to see if I can figure out what's going on. You were on the right track with the udev rules though. Maybe it's showing up as a slightly different device during the boot process and missing those rules you created - try checking dmesg and lsmod to see what has been loaded after a clean boot. The XWindows bit is mystifying to me - not sure what it's doing to the inputs to 'fix' the system.


I think I found out what's wrong. Seems like empcd can't (re)start automatically - my event is called "irremote0", and it seems that the path is too long (as it says in the empcd.conf). Once I (re)start empcd manually, everything works.
I'll see what I can do to start empcd manually, by invoking "/usr/sbin/empcd" when the machine is started. What would be the best way? I've tried adding it to "profile", but it seems like it's not a good way Smile

Any other idea about starting empcd automatically (and properly)? I'll try changing the name of my event , or just leaving it as "event4"...

Thanks,

Denis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jun 2013, 19:42    Post subject:
Subject description: Donation for further work on mpdPup?
 

BTW, Idolse, can you contact me at denple@gmail.com ?

I think I might have a hardware donation for you Smile

Also, I can offer help in documenting the mpdPup project, like writing a manual, etc. (I've already written a manual in Croatian....)
THX,
Denis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DenisP

Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jun 2013, 19:28    Post subject:
Subject description: USB remote problem solved (I think...)
 

OK, looks like I sorted out the problem with the remote.

First, I had to add another command to /etc/rc.d/rc.local:
Code:

sleep 10
/usr/sbin/empcd &


Namely, the default command for starting empcd (file "30.empcd" in /etc/init.d) doesn't seem to work - I'm not sure why...

First command (sleep 10) seems to be necessary - the remote has to wait for MPD to start cleanly, otherwise it won't start properly - this could be even "sleep 15" or "sleep 20", just to be on the safe side.

After finding out which "event" in /dev/input belongs to remote sensor, I was able to see which button does what by using command "empcd -y 9 -f" (prior to that I edited "/etc/empcd.conf" by selecting the proper "event" - in my case it was the line:
Code:
eventdevice /dev/input/event4

After that, I noted the button codes, and edited the "empcf.conf" appropriately, using the key codes I got in the step above.

THEN came the real pain in the behind:
I wanted to make sure the remote sensor is always mapped to appropriate symlinked "event", which I called "ir0".
If I use the default "eventX", it sometimes happens (particularly if I remove or add another USB device, e.g. USB DAC) that the event numbers get shuffled around - so, it's not a good idea to use e.g. "event4" - because it can sometimes be "event5" Sad

After a LOT of reading, and a lot of trial and error, I managed to write a proper udev rule, which now always maps the USB remote sensor to "/dev/input/ir0", regardless whether it is attached to "event4" or "event5" - or whatever. Well, at least it seems to work - most of the time Smile

Took me quite a while to find out the unique string to use as identifier for the udev rule - I finally used "Phys" key, which I got by using command "cat /proc/bus/input/devices"....

To cut the long story short, it was an arduous journey Sad

But, I think I got the USB remotes sorted out now.... mostly... So, if anyone needs help with any particular remote control problem, perhas I could be of help... Smile

It bugs me that it still happens now and then that the remote isn't recognized, and the key presses do nothing: it happens mostly after shuffling the usb devices around, plugging them into different USB sockets... But, it now works relatively reliably - the most important thing is that the remote sensor is recognized and properly mapped to symlink "/dev/input/ir0" - and I edited "empcd.conf" to use "/dev/input/ir0" as the eventdevice...

Also, the remote starts working only after a slight delay (about a minute AFTER the mpd is started....). No big deal... as long as it works OK afterwards Smile

Next I'll also try to use that "power off" button on the remote using the "exec" command in the empcd.conf in order to shut down the system from the remote.
It would also be nice if I could start (power on) the computer using the remote, but that won't be that easy, I guess (from what I managed to deduce so far...).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 36 [528 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1091s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]