Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 05:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Getting a projection device working with Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3385
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 17:39    Post_subject:  Getting a projection device working with Puppy
Sub_title: I need suggestions.
 

I recently got a used projection device that hooks up to the monitor connector on back of a laptop.
I was able to get it to work with Win XP using the function keys to select LCD and external monitor combination.
But I so far have been unable to get it to work with Puppy.
The same video hardware is used in both cases of internal and external and only the monitor type would differ.
And the function key software that selects the external monitor is not available in Puppy.
So how does one select an external monitor/projector in Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Laie

Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 290
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 17:56    Post_subject:  

Well, I just connect the projection device to the laptop, start the beamer (the german way to name projection devices Razz ) first and next the laptop. Slacko does everything else. The resolution of the projection device rules the resolution of the laptop screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3385
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 20:53    Post_subject:  

Evidently, the function key for external video is needed to route the video card output to the external port. That port does not seem to be active unless I select it in windows and I cannot see how to select the external port in Puppy since it does not seem to see the function key software needed to make that external port active.
So I guess my next question is how does one make the external port active in Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 22:41    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
Evidently, the function key for external video is needed to route the video card output to the external port. That port does not seem to be active unless I select it in windows and I cannot see how to select the external port in Puppy since it does not seem to see the function key software needed to make that external port active.
So I guess my next question is how does one make the external port active in Puppy?
its usually Function(Fn)+f8
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0765s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0363s) ][ GZIP on ]