Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Localization Project
Vietnamese character
Moderators: Lobster, MU, raffy
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 03:06    Post_subject:  Vietnamese character  

Why Hacao made it display Vietnamese very well?
I was try but it display many code character Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 05:32    Post_subject:  

I think I had the code-characters too, when I tested vi.lng yesterday.

I thought, it was because I have no vietnamese font, or because I had no vi_VN locale.
So today I started my testsystem again, to check that.

But suddenly, the menu looks correct!

I don't know why Question
I have no idea, how to help you at moment Embarassed
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 07:01    Post_subject:  

You have Puppy 108, right?
You need a newer JWM, the one from Puppy 109.
Download:
http://grafpup.com/puppydev/jwm-1.7.tar.gz

Then start PupGet.
Click on "install alien Package"
Then select the downloaded jwm-1.7.tar.gz

That should fix it.
I tried it myself in a new Puppy 108 with vi.lng, and it works.
Does it work for you, too?
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 08:30    Post_subject:  

I am using Vietnamese puppy of Hacao
He said the version of it is 1.06
I will try
Thanks
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 09:58    Post_subject:  

I had file jwm-1.7.tar.gz
The size of it is 12kb!
It was error
when I install it using pupget,it appear:
There was an error expanding package jwm-1.7.
Either the file is corrupted, or has not expanded into its own directory with
name of jwm-1.7/ (which is how most packages expand).
You will have to go into /root/.packages/ directory and manually clean it up.
This script will now exit...
I try to download version 1.6(72kb)
It display better than defaults version
But some character as:"a,ư,ơ,..." not display correct
Can you give me a new link to download version 1.7?
I guess when using version 1.7,it display very well
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 11:34    Post_subject:  

Oh, I used Jwm1.6 too.
1.7 is broken, I will inform Nathan Fisher.
I will tell you, when it is available.
Hacao used Puppy2Alpha, that uses Jwm 1.7, too.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 11:40    Post_subject:  

here, try the file attached.
Extract with xarchive to
/usr/X11R6/bin/

I took it from my Puppy2.
But just tried it, and the character still is not visible Question
Why does it work for Hacao?
I will try to run Puppy2 again now.
Mark
jwm17.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  jwm17.tar.gz 
Filesize  60.21 KB 
Downloaded  516 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2006, 13:50    Post_subject:  

no, in Puppy2 it does not work either.
But here I could not choose vi_VN in chooselocale.
If I choose vi_VN in Puppy108, my /etc/profile is deleted, and so X will not start any more Shocked
But maybe I installed to much things before...
I added it manually now to /etc/profile, after I repaired it.

I also had problems with german in Jwm 1.6 and 1.7.
I could solve that, by saving de.lng in utf-8 -format in leafpad, before it was ISO-15.
I updated the Dotpup with this german file, it works now.

So why does Vietnamese not work correct?
I copied over the fonts from the hacao-devel-Iso, but no chance.
Maybe in Puppy2, Hacao uses a special vietnamese UTF-8 -font?
Hacao-Puppy2 is not yet available for download, so I can't have a look.

At moment, I have no more idea Embarassed
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Thu 25 May 2006, 10:00    Post_subject:  

I upgraded the new version 1.7,but the problem persist Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jun 2006, 10:07    Post_subject:  

I extracted jvm 1.7.tar.gz
When I reboot my computer ,and start puppy the start button it was lose(jvm 1.6 so)!
I copied arial font to /.font
But It was display correct
What version of puppy you are using?
Can you give me it?
I think when I uses puppy of you,it work
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jun 2006, 10:08    Post_subject:  

I extracted jvm 1.7.tar.gz
When I reboot my computer ,and start puppy the start button it was lose(jvm 1.6 so)!
I copied arial font to /.font
But It was display correct
What version of puppy you are using?
Can you give me it?
I think when I uses puppy of you,it work best
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
Hacao


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 225
Location: Saigon, Vietnam

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jun 2006, 22:59    Post_subject:  

Hi !

Replace "San-12" by "Arial-12" in ".jwmrc"

Work ! Smile

That's all.

Thanks,

_________________
Hacao Linux 2009 CE released !

Hacao.com English & Vietnamese !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jun 2006, 00:01    Post_subject:  

I not found San-12 in .jvmrc!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jun 2006, 00:47    Post_subject:  

/root/.jwmrc

For example:

Code:
   <TaskListStyle>
      <Font>Sans-12:regular</Font>
      <ActiveForeground>white</ActiveForeground>
      <ActiveBackground>#8899A6</ActiveBackground>
   </TaskListStyle>


So just must replace
<Font>Sans-12:regular</Font>
with
<Font>Arial-12:regular</Font>

There are more such entries.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
phantrongnghia


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 205
Location: Hanoi,Vietnam

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jun 2006, 09:09    Post_subject:  

I found it!
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Localization Project
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0796s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]