1.0.9 CE, 64MB RAM: Firefox won't open from CD

Booting, installing, newbie
EmaP

1.0.9 CE, 64MB RAM: Firefox won't open from CD

#1 Post by EmaP »

I'm really new to Puppy but I like it very much.
I've searched a lot but I wasn't able to find the solution to my problem.

I'm tying to use it for a Sharp Laptop with Pentium 3, 2 Gb free HDU but only 64 Mb of RAM.

I found a strange behaviour for Firefox.
- when I start the Multisession-CD distribution, Firefox works
- when I start the Live-CD distribution (pup001 and puppy.swp on HDU), Firefox doesn't open.

My "feeling" is that MultisessionCD use a different way to create/use the swap.
It seems to use it at a much earlier stage then LiveCD.
In one case Firefox run, in the other no. :shock:

Thanks for your suggestion on how to have it run on LiveCD.

Bye,

Dr.Freeze

your inluck

#2 Post by Dr.Freeze »

i have the same dist: In order to get it working you have to right click and go to setup. Know click ethernet/ network wizard a box should pop up. click eth0 then auto DHCP then save the configureation. thats how it worked for me

EmaP

#3 Post by EmaP »

I've already done it.

My problem is that Firefox itself is not opening when I use LiveCD: I click the icon and nothing happens.

When I start the MultisessionCD it's OK.

:?:

stlchuck

Firefox problems ?

#4 Post by stlchuck »

What versions of Puppy and Firefox are you using? People have reported that Firefox 1.5.0.3 in Puppy 1.0.9CE will not run with less than 128MB or so of RAM - less requires use of a swap file or partition. Not sure why there is a difference between the live CD and Multisession where running Firefox is concerned. If you can give some more info maybe one of our more advanced users will be able to fill us in on the why and how.

EmaP

#5 Post by EmaP »

I use Puppy 1.0.9CE with Firefox provided with it (I think 1.5).

LiveCD an MultisessionCD were downloaded for the same version, the same day.