How to find my IP address?

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
timremy
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat 27 Jun 2009, 04:42

How to find my IP address?

#1 Post by timremy »

:?: hello

my internet provider went down and when i called them, the person ask me

for the ip address. i could not figure out where to see it.

any help please?

i am using puppy 4.2.1.

thank you

timremy

User avatar
gposil
Posts: 1300
Joined: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 10:00
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia
Contact:

#2 Post by gposil »

In terminal...run the following:

wget -q -O - checkip.dyndns.org|sed -e 's/.*Current IP Address: //' -e 's/<.*$//'

.

Cheers
[img]http://gposil.netne.net/images/tlp80.gif[/img] [url=http://www.dpup.org][b]Dpup Home[/b][/url]

timremy
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat 27 Jun 2009, 04:42

ip address

#3 Post by timremy »

hello

thank you.

timremy

Janpup
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 08 Sep 2008, 20:24

IP address

#4 Post by Janpup »

For your IP address, log into whatismyip.com

Note that depending on your ISP (cable, DSL etc) and whether you turn your modem on and off, your IP address may possibly change each time you log on to the internet.

Jan

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#5 Post by aragon »

DELETED

aragon
Last edited by aragon on Sun 23 Aug 2009, 23:02, edited 1 time in total.

Bruce B

#6 Post by Bruce B »

aragon wrote:maybe i get something wrong, but i think the easiest way is open a console and type

Code: Select all

ifconfig [INTERFACE]
aragon
Our machines can very easily have three IP addresses

1) 127.0.0.1 (ifconfig lo) AKA localhost
2) the LAN address
3) the Internet Address

The problem is: Us who are behind routers get the LAN address with the ifconfig utility. I don't even think the machine knows the Internet IP address in these cases.

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#7 Post by aragon »

bruce, your answer is absolutely correct. thinking before posting does help. i do know the difference between internal and external adresses, as i'm also behind a router at home. and sure, ifconfig gives only the internal for these setups.

aragon

timremy
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat 27 Jun 2009, 04:42

ip address solved

#8 Post by timremy »

hello

thank you


timremy

solved

aplihs
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 10 Aug 2012, 10:28

#9 Post by aplihs »

Hi, You can visit http://www.ip-details.com/ to get your IP address. Al the best mate.

postfs1

Re: How to find my IP address?

#10 Post by postfs1 »

timremy wrote:...

my internet provider went down and when i called them, the person ask me

for the ip address. i could not figure out where to see it.

any help please?

i am using puppy 4.2.1.

...
[1]
hardinfo
--->
Program's box:
..Network -->
....Interfaces

[2]If the computer is under hardware protection, then the user activates the computer's network adapter and opens the defender's programmatic control panel by web-browser or by another special program where, perhaps, was written the line with the needful external IP address.
Last edited by postfs1 on Fri 23 Nov 2012, 07:36, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#11 Post by Geoffrey »

Try this.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
wget -4 -t 2 -T 20 --waitretry=20 --spider --level=1  -S echoip.com 2>&1 |grep OK > /tmp/echoip
if [ ! -s /tmp/echoip ];then 
Xdialog --title "" --timeout 6 --msgbox \
"\n   echoip.com is unreachable
Check that you have a connection to the internet   \n" 0 0
exit 0
else
EXTIP=`curl echoip.com/ 2> /dev/null`
PCIP=`ifconfig | grep 'inet addr:'| grep -v '127.0.0.1' | cut -d: -f2 | awk '{ print $1}'`
export IP='
<window title="ExtIP" resizable="false">
  <vbox>
    <text justify="2"><label>"External IP"</label></text>
    <text justify="2" use-markup="true" selectable="true"><label>"<b><span size='"'large'"'>'$EXTIP'</span></b>"</label></text>
    <text justify="2"><label>"Computer IP"</label></text>
    <text justify="2" use-markup="true" selectable="true"><label>"<b><span size='"'large'"'>'$PCIP'</span></b>"</label></text>
    <hbox>
    <button use-underline="true">
    <label>_Close</label>
    <action type="exit">exit</action>
	</button>
   </hbox>
  </vbox>
 </window>'
gtkdialog --program=IP

exit 0
fi
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
Monsie
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu 01 Dec 2011, 07:37
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

How to find my IP address?

#12 Post by Monsie »

I am not sure why this thread was revived, but it should be mentioned as well that Puppy has ipinfo... a script that can be simply called at the command line:

Code: Select all

ipinfo
As such, it also brings up a gui (using gtkdialog3) which displays one's External IP address.

In fact, ipinfo was written by vovchik before this thread began and probably could have been mentioned back then...

Just sayin...
Monsie
My [u]username[/u] is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.

Post Reply