Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 03:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Changed to ADSL now POP3 mail won't come down[Mostly Solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 17:22    Post subject:  Changed to ADSL now POP3 mail won't come down[Mostly Solved]  

Next Question.
As above I download my mail by POP3 from yahoo and gmail
All was setup and running well with my GPSM internet connection but now with my new TPG adsl connection they time out
I can't get my mail atm

I suspect its to do with these security certificates you get and have to just blindly accept .

Anybody know how to fix this? I use Sylpheed

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.

Last edited by tytower on Tue 01 Jan 2013, 02:35; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 02:00    Post subject:  

I don't think anything needs to be changed going to different internet types. If you had your mail client set up properly for yahoo/gmail then it should continue to work.

What are the security messages? You should never blindly accept such things.

Your query isn't really about Puppy or Linux, but it might pay to check what your DNS settings are now and make sure you aren't still using the DNS servers from the old ISP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 21:05    Post subject:  

Well something has shanged and I still have not been able to access POP3
I tried setting up a new connection but no go .
It has to be something to do with the ADSL change?

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 21:53    Post subject:  

xan wrote:
I don't think anything needs to be changed going to different internet types. If you had your mail client set up properly for yahoo/gmail then it should continue to work.Mate ! like I said it does not.

What are the security messages? You should never blindly accept such things.When you choose "Use secure Authentiation" there is a system of certificates invoked and you must accept the one given on the first use or you don't get on"

Your query isn't really about Puppy or Linux, but it might pay to check what your DNS settings are now and make sure you aren't still using the DNS servers from the old ISP
I don't think we are even on the same page here.. I am saying its a puppy issue because I am using Sylpheed and nothing else but the ADSL2 has changed - Where else would you like me to pose my question.?
.


I'm thinking this is to do with ADSL2 change for sure as when I switch back to GPRS Modem connection everything again works fine

Anyone seen this behaviour before and know a fix?

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 16:12    Post subject:  

I asked my ISP if they knew what was happening and got this response . Now I will just have to sit down for a few hours and work out what , if anything at all , their reply means !

Quote:
Please be informed that we have a very limited support for the email client.
But usually, when you are using an email client:
* the Incoming mail server should be from the email host; and
* the Outgoing mail server should be from the Internet Service Provider
(ISP)
Therefore, the outgoing mail server depends on the ISP you are currently
using. If you are using the TPG connection, the outgoing mail server should
be mail.tpg.com.au. However, if you are using a different ISP, you have to
get their outgoing mail server and configure it over to your email client
Also, your incoming mail server depends on the email address you are using.
If you are using Yahoo or Gmail address, you need to use your email host's
incoming mail server.

Please let us know if we could further assist you.

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 15:27    Post subject:  

Hi, I don't know why gmail is not working for you. All I can say is what is not causing your problem.

It's not your ISP. They are not responsible for gmail/yahoo. TPG do not block them that I'm aware. My ISP doesn't.

It's not a problem with ADSL. I use an Australian ADSL2+ service (not TPG) and don't have such a problem.

I haven't use sylpheed but there shouldn't be much you need to configure.
Just the username and password
the POP3 mail server: pop.gmail.com
the incoming port: 995 (the normal default is 110 so you may have to change this)
and enable encryption: TLS

If you need more then you'll have to give the actual error message.

The reason I asked about DNS is that maybe when you are changing your internet connection you are leaving the old DNS settings and the mail server is simply timing out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 02:15    Post subject:  

Yeh thats why I didn't understand your post.

Even leaving the old DNS would not cause this.
The browser looks up Yahoos address IP and can get that from any availaable DNS -Domain Name Server-. The browser then goes off merrily to the IP it found and the rest is up to the server at that IP

This is more like a block by TPG or the certificate obtained from Yahoo contains the Originators IP and when that changes it wont accept it any more .

I turned off the security certificate anyway but it still does not accept me . Both Yahoo and Gmail

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3251
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 04:40    Post subject:  

tytower

" This is more like a block by TPG "

Sorry mate ...but you appear out of your depth on
mail and modem issues.

I have had TPG for over 15 years without your heartaches.

"""""

My top tip for all your probs is register on Whirlpool

http://whirlpool.net.au/profile/index.cfm?a=register

:::

" To register, you will need to confirm your email address.
Free, web-based email services occasionally cause problems
with the registration process.
It is strongly recommended that you enter your main email
address — often the one supplied by your ISP,
but ideally one you'll have for a long time."

Register a separate email A/C on Lavabit
They do not spy on you.
Use that one for Whirlpool.

https://lavabit.com/apps/register

Then go to the TPG forum

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum/90

and tell them your issues.

They have good TPG reps.

Joseph D...is very helpful.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/user/344067

""""

TPG general settings.

Incoming Mail Server (POP3 or IMAP) mail.tpg.com.au 110 (POP3) 143 (IMAP)
Outgoing Mail Server (SMTP) mail.tpg.com.au 25
Email Address TPG username@tpg.com.au
Email Username Your TPG Username
Email Password Your TPG Password

http://www.tpg.com.au/support/generalsetting.php

other settings are there

:::

Your username is >>> ????


Username whatever@tpg.com.au

Email Address whatever@tpg.com.au


Subnet Address 1 Netmask 1
Subnet Address 2 Netmask 2
Subnet Address 3 Netmask 3
Subnet Address 4 Netmask 4
Subnet Address 5 Netmask 5
DNS Servers

Primary: 203.12.160.35

Secondary: 203.12.160.36

""""""


ADSL2+ Standalone Modem Guides

http://www.tpg.com.au/support/modem_support_standalone.php

""""""

TPG Email Settings

http://www.tpg.com.au/support/emailsetting.php


""""

I would wipe your modem to Factory default

and start again.

Make sure you know your settings,
user name and password.

And then update the modem.
Back it up if all working before getting any update.

After update and all working...back your modem up again.

If you can get wireless in Windows but not Puppy
then you are using the wrong version...or need a Pet
from Tempe etc.

No ifs...no buts.
You have the wireless switched on in Puppy....
Sure...the most common problem???
Do not assume that it's on.

And stop buggering about...just use Frisbee.

"""""""""""

3. Re-configure The Router In Layer2 PPPoE

Log into your router’s web interface and please ensure you use
the following settings if/when asked:

a. Connection Type/Encapsulation: PPPoE LLC

b. Encapsulation Mode: LLC

c. VPI: 8

d. VCI: 35

e. Security Protocol: PAP or AUTO

f. NAT: enabled

g. Modulation

i. For ADSL customers – G.dmt

ii. For ADSL2+ customers – Multimode or ADSL2+

h. User name:
TPG username> @L2TP.tpg.com.au for Fixed IP plans

OR

TPG username> @PPP.tpg.com.au for Dynamic IP plans

(e.g. adsl1234@L2TP.tpg.com.au )

g. Password: Your Password by default is the same as your TPG username

however if you have changed your password since registration time, please use your current TPG password

4. Save Settings and Reboot The Router

"""

Support Information
For further assistance, please call TPG Technical Support
on 1300 360 855

Technical Support Opening Hours
Monday to Friday 8am – midnight
Saturday and Sunday 9am – 9pm
Public Holidays 9am – 6pm

:::::::::

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 15:49    Post subject:  

Well thanks for taking the time Mate .
That's a lot of information .Must be something I can use in there.I appreciate it.

In a nutshell exactly what do you think my probrem really is ?
Stabbing out at everything is a practical approach alright but far from the best approach.

Some motor mechanics will change everything until they hit on the part causing the problem. This seems to be your approach here and don't get me wrong , nothing against that , but there are less expensive ways but they require a little thought.

Quote:
No ifs...no buts.
You have the wireless switched on in Puppy....This intrigues me . Where and how do you mean to do that? I have access Points turned on in the router
Sure...the most common problem???
Do not assume that it's on.

And stop buggering about...just use Frisbee.I'll give this a try . Didn't know it was any better but requires a download so I didn't try it

I don't think you read my post properly to realise I don't have a problem with TPG's pop3 . I have a problem getting yahoo and gmail's pop3 through TPG!

Quote:
If you can get wireless in Windows but not Puppy
then you are using the wrong version...or need a Pet
from Tempe etc I don't follow your logic here It's a different and separate problem. I can load Puppy 5.4.2 from Live CD and get the wireless dongles recognised but they will not connect properly to the router ?



Quote:
Sorry mate ...but you appear out of your depth on
mail and modem issues.Really You are partially right thats why I am here asking

I have had TPG for over 15 years without your heartaches.Ah yes but have you ever tried to download from Yahoo or Gmail with pop3 through TPG ?


I have a GPS modem and when I plug it and connect I have no problem getting mail from yahoo and gmail by pop3

The router as set now has the right DNS anyhow and I browse with no problems - Its only the pop3 mail of the above 2 that's giving me the problem ![/quote]

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.

Last edited by tytower on Tue 11 Dec 2012, 20:39; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 18:26    Post subject:  

tytower wrote:

In a nutshell exactly what do you think my probrem really is ?


Not your ADSL service.

Either you are blocking gmail with your firewall, or you don't have your email client set up properly, or you need to change your gmail settings to allow POP3 for all mail.

I installed Sylpheed just to see what you are seeing. I used the default settings, but I had to log in to gmail with a browser and allow POP3 access for all mail. Maybe that's what you need to do. (By the way, gmail supports IMAP, which is better than POP3).

Aside from that, I wasn't much impressed with Sylpheed. I prefer Seamonkey's Mail client (or Thunderbird).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 22:01    Post subject:  

Please don't find me rude but I have pop3 setup to work on gmail and on yahoo.

I have been using it with the same settings for about 2 years or more so the email client is set up OK. I did that (browser into gmail and yahoo) at the start.2 years ago.

Perhaps the firewall is an issue and I have not looked at IMAP . Might do so .
Sylpheed is independent of Mozilla and so I consider it less likely that my browser and email is open to mozilla's scrutiny if they choose to look.

I still consider the problem is caused by TPG but if I find out otherwise I will openly and honestly admit that here

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 03:29    Post subject:  

tytower wrote:
Please don't find me rude but I have pop3 setup to work on gmail and on yahoo.


I'm only relaying my experience earlier today. I found Sylpheed to be flaky with Gmail. Initially it downloaded the mail, but then it stopped responding and just sat there until it timed out. While at the same time a non-gmail mail account continued to work. Throughout that time Seamonkey mail continued to poll gmail quickly and successfully.

Even though I already had pop3 enabled in Gmail, when I went back and enabled it for all mail Sylpheed started working again, but still seemed hesitant compared to the solid nature of the Seamonkey polling. That's was all done on the same internet connection and operating system.

I can't say any more because I've uninstalled Sylpheed.


Quote:
Sylpheed is independent of Mozilla and so I consider it less likely that my browser and email is open to mozilla's scrutiny if they choose to look.


Wouldn't that mean you know have two parties looking at you rather than just one?

What about Claws? Maybe it works a bit differently to Sylpheed.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/claws-mail-3.8.1-i486.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 21:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
Wouldn't that mean you know have two parties looking at you rather than just one?


Well its the big boys that go bad and ignore your privacy rights ...because they can.
The smaller ones have to be careful not to lose patronage so they don't take the risk or they don't survive if they do.

See the logic?

I'm not interested in changing my mail program .
What I seek an answer to is "What has changed that is interfering with my usual mode of obtaining my email."

Seeking an answer to this is important to me as I don't like the "swap out old parts with new "approach

That said I was playing round with my Firewall today and noticed that you can alter the settings for SMTP and also for POP3 so I'll experiment there for a bit and wonder if TPG's firewall affects that.

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 20:30    Post subject:  

cthisbear ,cthisbear are you there?

Funny how they dash in fix all your problems in one fell swoop and then disappear! Maybe he'll come back in next Sunday

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3251
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 06:21    Post subject:  

tytower:

Mate i pointed you to Whirlpool Forum for TPG.

Hello....Mars calling Earth....can you hear me.

I am also in the process of moving.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0849s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]