Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 18:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Missing task bar
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 12:52    Post subject:  Missing task bar
Subject description: Where did it go? How do I get it back?
 

the other day when I booted up, the rask bar ws missing. I tried rebooting numerous times but it's still missing. I do see a 1 pixel wide bar in the lower left corner but nothing I can right-click, left-click or drag. It's not just invisible, clicking known positions (menu, desktops, etc) does nothing.
_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 13:42    Post subject:
Subject description: 1 pixel wide
 

Hmm, usually a single pixel wide is a 'hidden' bar .. just move the pointer to that edge and it should unhide/pop-out. Depending on if it's a jwm tray or some other panel (like pfbpanel, etc) you can set it to be non-hidden (always visible).

Hope that helps a bit, more info on just which window manager and tray/panel(aka 'taskbar') might help to narrow down a solution..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 19:34    Post subject:  

It doesn't act hidden (pop out when hovered over or clicked). In the Openbox confic (accessible via right cick on the desktop) I can find nothing about the taskbar's config.
_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 22:54    Post subject:
Subject description: true
 

That helps - openbox itself has no native panel/taskbar so I'd imagine this is one of those pups (Lucid?) with pfbpanel to provide it. In that case the config for pfbpanel is probably in /root/.config/fbpanel/default or symlinked somewhere thereabouts - there may even be a menu item under desktop or setup section to access the config ui. Some users report that pfbpanel's a bit flakey to set up as you might want (lots of options so some fiddling about might be unavoidable since you need to do it in a certain way to get it to work as expected Rolling Eyes ).

If nothing else, you can get the original config from /initrd/pup_ro2/*/.. dir (that's the read-only for your basic OEM pup with nothing altered)

likely path(s) for the pfbpanel config file
/.config/fbpanel/default
/root/.config/fbpanel/default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 14:53    Post subject:  

Thanks. I found the width and height were set to 0% and 0px. I tried manually editing them (the -old and -bak files as well) but after a momentary flash of visibility on X restart it vanished again. Finding Fbpanel Configuration in the menu and setting the parameters there, I finally got it back, ans now re-edited the default-old again to eliminate those unwanted 0s.
_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2012, 23:10    Post subject: fixable each time but not solved  

I found that each time I reboot the taskbar will flash momentarily but then disappear again. The config brings it back. Might there be some archived file somewhere that's getting reloaded instead of the default I'm setting in the config?
_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 15:17    Post subject:  

(I think) every time I start the Fbanel config and look at the plugins tab, the Show CPU monitor is disabled but if I don't look at plugins, sometimes it's enabled when I close the config. What.s going on with that? Why won't it remember to show the full taskbar (looks hidden but won't pop out on mouseover) when I boot again?
_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 11:15    Post subject:  

Come on, nobody has thoughts on this?
_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 23:10    Post subject:  

I am still having trouble with this. The taskbar shows at boot but then vanishes to a single line in the lower left corner as if hidden but won't unhide when hovered over.

merely running the Fbpanel config and closing it without making changes will bring back the task bar, though I have to first look at the plugins tab for it to properly display (or not display) my chosen (or unchosen) plugins.

_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 05:34    Post subject:  

Try this:
Switch from Openbox to JWM and back this way.

menu->Desktop->Desktop Settings->WM Switcher

Switch to JWM
Get desktop with JWM and it's taskbar.
Reboot.
If still have JWM and it looks OK.
Use WM Switcher and change to Openbox.
Get desktop with Openbox and Fbpanel.
Reboot.
How did that work.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 17:50    Post subject:  

Shifting to JWM and rebooting kept the taskbar but switching back to openbox even before a reboot he tasbar disappeared after a few seconds.
_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 21:59    Post subject: Re: Missing task bar
Subject description: Where did it go? How do I get it back?
 

n0ukf wrote:
the other day when I booted up, the rask bar ws missing. I tried rebooting numerous times but it's still missing. I do see a 1 pixel wide bar in the lower left corner but nothing I can right-click, left-click or drag. It's not just invisible, clicking known positions (menu, desktops, etc) does nothing.


Hi, n0ukf.

Back to the basic question : what window manager are you using?

jwm is known to zap its own tray every now and then when you modifiy the jwm
configuration. Look for /root/.jwmrc-tray.bak and if it's not zero length, copy it back
to /root/.jwmrc-tray.

If it's zero length, the absolute original is in /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.jwmrc-tray, so
Code:
cp -f /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.jwmrc-tray ~/.jwmrc-tray

will bring it back. Of course the original won't contain your recent edits.

You'll have to redo your edits. Once done, make a back-up copy to .jwmrc-tray.n0ukf
or whatever. If jwm ever acts up again, you'll have a copy ready.

Generally, openbox uses either fbpanel or lxpanel, that are pretty stable. So I don't
expect the problem to be with those panels.

Keep us posted? BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Fri 10 Jan 2014, 12:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 22:22    Post subject: Re: Missing task bar
Subject description: Where did it go? How do I get it back?
 

musher0 wrote:
Back to the basic question : what window manager are you using?

jwm is known to zap its own tray every now and then when ...



Generally, openbox uses either fbpanel or lxpanel, that are pretty stable. So I don't
expect the problem to be with those panels.

Keep us posted? BFN.

musher0

Openbox is the one I use. JWM was just a test proposed by bigpup. At first it was fine but after a few months it went bad as described above.

_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 05:20    Post subject:  

Let us see if the config file is corrupted.

Try this:
In Rox file Manager.
Click on eye icon so hidden files are shown.
Go to /root/.config/fbpanel
Delete default and default-old
Only file still there should be fbpanel,conf
Close Rox file Manager.

Reboot.

Taskbar should show on desktop with nothing in it.

Run the Fbpanel Configuration program.
Do not change any settings.
However, make sure hidden option is set to false.
Other settings look OK.

Just click OK to close program.

Reboot.

What do you have now on desktop?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 15:51    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Let us see if the config file is corrupted.

Try this:
In Rox file Manager.
Click on eye icon so hidden files are shown.
Go to /root/.config/fbpanel
Delete default and default-old
Only file still there should be fbpanel,conf
Close Rox file Manager.

Reboot

Taskbar should show on desktop with nothing in it..

Nothing on it but it still vanished after a few seconds.

Quote:
Run the Fbpanel Configuration program.
Do not change any settings.
However, make sure hidden option is set to false.
Other settings look OK.

Just click OK to close program.

Reboot.

What do you have now on desktop?

Again, it shows the taskbar for a few seconds but then vanishes.

_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0767s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]