Problems mounting NAS

Using applications, configuring, problems
Post Reply
Message
Author
saroele
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 20:50

Problems mounting NAS

#1 Post by saroele »

Hi,

I'm completely new to puppy linux, have a few months of Ubuntu experience. I use slacko puppy 5.5, frugal install.

On my ubuntu laptop, I'm able to mount my NAS (Synology) with the following command:

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t nfs 192.168.xxx.yy:/volume1/Data /mnt/nas/data
This did not work out of the box on puppy. I could solve the first error message by installing nfs-utils. Then a second error message came and I'm unable to solve this. Here's the message:

mount.nfs: rpc.statd is not running but is required for remote locking.
mount.nfs: Either use '-o nolock' to keep locks local, or start statd

Any hints on this?
Thanks a lot on beforehand,

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#2 Post by Semme »

Saroele- Welcome! Did you install through pacman or solo-dwnld? Is logcheck-database installed?

saroele
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 20:50

#3 Post by saroele »

Semme,
I installed the nfs-utils with the Puppy Package Manager. Is Pacman the Puppy alternative to apt-get in Ubuntu?

What is logcheck-database? PPM can't find it so I suppose I don't have it and don't know how to get that.

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#4 Post by Semme »

Saroele- no worries as I refer to any distros package manager as :wink: pacman.

Having had a chance to inspect the pkg you have there I see it comes supplied with rpc.statd. Consulting the readme it would appear she relies on the distro in questions method for handling services. Aboard Pup this means creating a symlink to your users Startup folder.

Open two Rox filers.. One @ /root/Startup and one @ /usr/sbin.

Drag the start-stat script to Startup, let go and choose link relative.

The above assumes rpc.stat resides in /sbin.
Attachments
symlink_start-statd_to-root-Startup.jpg
(73.07 KiB) Downloaded 540 times

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

Re: Problems mounting NAS

#5 Post by rcrsn51 »

saroele wrote:use '-o nolock'
DId you try using this option?

Code: Select all

 mount -t nfs 192.168.xxx.yy:/volume1/Data /mnt/nas/data -o nolock

saroele
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 20:50

#6 Post by saroele »

rcrsn51, that was a great suggestion: adding the -o nolock makes it work just out of the box. I tried it before but I did not know that the -o nolock had to come in the end.

Is there something unsafe or stupid about using this -o nolock ?

If not, I will not investigate the (more complex) solutions proposed by other helpful posters. Thanks for your help, but this is by far the most easy solution.

saroele
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 20:50

#7 Post by saroele »

One addition: puppy did NOT shutdown anymore.

I tried again, and when I unmount all the mounted folders from my NAS, puppy shuts down again nicely. What is the most elegant way to add this automatically to some shutdown procedure?

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#8 Post by Karl Godt »

There had been some adjustments to /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown beginning mit Slacko-5.3[.?] also in regards to network mounts.

Would be nice if you could post an example output of the

Code: Select all

mount
command when your NAS are mounted.

Post Reply