HOWTO create easy multi-boot USB Puppy from Linux

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
Message
Author
Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

HOWTO create easy multi-boot USB Puppy from Linux

#1 Post by Scooby »

*!OBS!* For newer versions of easy2boot directory structure is different
read on http://www.easy2boot.com for info

Alternative 0 - the ultimate way
I have created a pet file for installing a modified version of Easy2Boot
on a USB stick. For this release I have compiled fbinst for Linux,

The script is self explaining but the filestructure of Easy2Boot is a little bit modified,

Obs! You've gotta press Download button on second page!

NEW and untested!
Download pEasy2Boot-1.55 - Easy2Boot Installer


OLD and tested!
Download pEasy2Boot - Easy2Boot Installer


Put any linux ISOs in _ISO/Linux that you want to boot automatically.
Also puppy linux ISOs can be put here but savefile wont work
If you want savefile put puppy linux ISOs in folder _ISO/Puppy
Obs! Just copy file to folder and then reboot, no editing of menu's are required.


You can put one linux iso in the Default folder and it will be booted by default on next boot.

If there are ISO files present at the two locations of
Default folders the order of Default booting is

1. The ISO in _ISO/Puppy/Default
2. The ISO in _ISO/Linux/Default

A more complete description will be forthcoming


The pet is tested on ArchPup, Wary, Lupo, Lighthouse64, DPUP, Carolina and Slacko

The script uses gtk.

Alternative 1 - the easiest way

1. Most puppies have the program Grub4Dos Bootloader config under their system menu.
(Or execute in terminal /usr/sbin/grub4dosconfig)

Run it and choose your target USB Drive - press OK trice when prompted.
You should receive a message saying everything went well.

2. Delete everything on USB

3. Download, unzip (extract) and copy the Easy2Boot_v1.55a_DPMS.zip
(attached below ) file to your USB drive
Get newer versions at the Easy2Boot page


OLD easy2boot page
Easy2Boot page

4, Drop any number of puppy linux ISO's of your choice in folder _ISO/Linux/AUTO.

5. reboot and play :lol:

Alternative 2 - the second easiest way

1. Open terminal window and execute to make sure your USB drive
is unmounted. If you get a message "umount: can't unmount /mnt/sdc1: Invalid argumnent".
It is OK that only means it was already unmounted

Code: Select all

umount /mnt/sdxx


where sdxx is exchanged for your label

2. Obs! This Will format your USB drive, Data may be lost!

Code: Select all

mkdosfs -F 32 -I /dev/sdxx


where sdxx is exchanged for your label
and -I is i and not the L character.

3. Make USB drive bootable with Grub4Dos.

Code: Select all

bootlace.com --floppy=y /dev/sdxx
where y is exchanged for the number of the partion you want to install the bootloader on(most commonly 1
and sdxx is exchanged for your label

4.Download, unzip (extract) and copy the Easy2Boot-grub4dos_v0.5.zip (attached below ) file to your USB drive
Newer versions might be availible at the Easy2Boot page

5, Drop any number of puppy linux ISO's of your choice in folder _ISO/Linux/AUTO.

6. reboot and play :lol:

Save File
There was a problem with loading the savefile on some puppies, although not on ArchPup.
check out this for a solution.

Tips and Tricks

1. Go straight to the automatically generated list of linux ISO's,

Edit file /grub/MENU.lst

Instead of this line

/grub/automenu.bat .automenu /_ISO

put this line

/grub/autolinuxmenu.bat .automenu /_ISO/Linux/AUTO

2. Boot deafult ISO after 5 seconds

Edit file /grub/LINUXUSER.mnu

At the top of the file change

default 0
#timeout 5

to

default 0
timeout 5


default 0 menas the first itme in the list and hence default 1 would mean
the second item int the list and so forth


Original Info
Easy2Boot
Format USB
bootlace.com and Grub4Dos
Last edited by Scooby on Fri 28 Nov 2014, 22:03, edited 18 times in total.

rmprep
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2013, 15:08

#2 Post by rmprep »

My tutorial on the rmprepusb site had been updated. There was a bug in the download you provide (if you go back from the linux menu to the main menu, it does not find other .mnu entries). The new version fixes this - see http://www.rmprepusb.com/tutorials/72-- ... o-maintain
Also added a hi-res background image, memtest86+ and a FreeDos floppy image to the menu. Others can easily be added by downloading the corresponding .mnu file and the ISO payload.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#3 Post by Scooby »

First of all let me congratulate you for your very good work.

I love it!

I will update the files when tested,

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#4 Post by Scooby »

Files updated to latest version as rmprep suggested

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#5 Post by Scooby »

rmprep wrote:My tutorial on the rmprepusb site had been updated.
I wanted to ask you if you know any alternative to WinContig on Linux?

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#6 Post by Scooby »

There is defragfs in Arch/AUR

works fine on ArchPuppy!

Files on USB stick will be fragmented under Linux huh? :o

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#7 Post by Scooby »

If you like me, want to go straight to the automatically generated list of linux
ISO's, you can edit file /grub/MENU.lst

Instead of this line

Code: Select all

# generate the menu.lst file and specify the  Main Folder that will be scanned for .mnu files
/grub/automenu.bat .automenu /_ISO
put this line

Code: Select all

# generate the menu.lst file and specify the  Main Folder that will be scanned for .mnu files
/grub/autolinuxmenu.bat .automenu /_ISO/Linux/AUTO
Save file, reboot and play :D

Les Kerf
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 13:30

#8 Post by Les Kerf »

I tried this and it works great except it can't find the save files when I reboot. It just comes back as a pristine boot (first run).

When I set up a thumb drive using the Universal installer, upon reboot, the save file is in /mnt/home. This method puts the save files in /mnt/sdb4. I tried dragging the save files to different places, but it still doesn't find them.

I used ThinSlacko, Precise, and Wary Puppies, all of which have performed perfectly on USB booting from the "normal" installations.

I finally just partitioned my thumb drive and did manual frugal installs to three separate partitions, then used Grub4Dos to boot. Works great.
Les

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#9 Post by Scooby »

Les Kerf wrote:I tried this and it works great except it can't find the save files when I reboot. It just comes back as a pristine boot (first run).

When I set up a thumb drive using the Universal installer, upon reboot, the save file is in /mnt/home. This method puts the save files in /mnt/sdb4. I tried dragging the save files to different places, but it still doesn't find them.

Les
I beg to differ. I run Archpup and have absolutely no problem with save file.
I will try savefile with ThinSlacko and Precise and Wary.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#10 Post by Scooby »

Scooby wrote:
Les Kerf wrote:I tried this and it works great except it can't find the save files when I reboot. It just comes back as a pristine boot (first run).

When I set up a thumb drive using the Universal installer, upon reboot, the save file is in /mnt/home. This method puts the save files in /mnt/sdb4. I tried dragging the save files to different places, but it still doesn't find them.

Les
I beg to differ. I run Archpup and have absolutely no problem with save file.
I will try savefile with ThinSlacko and Precise and Wary.
This is confirmed, There is a problem with savefile. I am not sure what gives but
maybe there is a workaround!?

I thought puppy checked all drives, the first level of directories, after savefiles?

Archpup works fine though :lol:

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#11 Post by Scooby »

Les Kerf wrote:I tried this and it works great except it can't find the save files when I reboot. It just comes back as a pristine boot (first run).

When I set up a thumb drive using the Universal installer, upon reboot, the save file is in /mnt/home. This method puts the save files in /mnt/sdb4. I tried dragging the save files to different places, but it still doesn't find them.
Les
Okay I checked boot parameters in thin slacko and there was a parameter
called psavemark and if set to the partion with savefile. most cases 1
savefile is loaded.

During boot press F2 key

and then write the following

Code: Select all

puppy psavemark=1
then savefile will work, This can be somewhat tedious so will see if it can be automated somehow?

Les Kerf
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 13:30

#12 Post by Les Kerf »

Just got back to town to use internet at the library. In my previous post I stated that the save file is placed in sdb4, but that is incorrect; it is in sdb1. I doubt that makes any difference, but I like being accurate in my descriptions.

I will try your suggestions.
Thanks for the help,
Les

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#13 Post by greengeek »

I've seen a discussion on another thread about how/when/where savefiles and sfs are found at boot time. Seems rather complex (and probably varies between puppies):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... start=2258

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#14 Post by greengeek »

Also, a comment from ETP regarding similar issues here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... &start=278

Les Kerf
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 13:30

#15 Post by Les Kerf »

Scooby wrote:
Les Kerf wrote:I tried this and it works great except it can't find the save files when I reboot. It just comes back as a pristine boot (first run).

When I set up a thumb drive using the Universal installer, upon reboot, the save file is in /mnt/home. This method puts the save files in /mnt/sdb4. I tried dragging the save files to different places, but it still doesn't find them.
Les
Okay I checked boot parameters in thin slacko and there was a parameter
called psavemark and if set to the partion with savefile. most cases 1
savefile is loaded.

During boot press F2 key

and then write the following

Code: Select all

puppy psavemark=1
then savefile will work, This can be somewhat tedious so will see if it can be automated somehow?
Ok, that does indeed find the savefile and boots with it.

As I was playing with this, it dawned on me that this is an ideal means of "test driving" Puppy linux. Just drag an ISO file into the thumb drive it and take Puppy for a walk. No need to fiddle around with partitions, bootloaders, etc. If you don't like this one, delete it and try another.
Sweet :-)
Les

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#16 Post by greengeek »

Hi Les, can you clarify the method you would use to testdrive Puppy in this way please? Did you mean drag the iso intact, or did you mean strip the sfs out of it?

Les Kerf
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 13:30

#17 Post by Les Kerf »

greengeek wrote:Hi Les, can you clarify the method you would use to testdrive Puppy in this way please? Did you mean drag the iso intact, or did you mean strip the sfs out of it?
Yes, just drag the entire ISO file into the folder _ISO/Linux/AUTO

It really is that simple. I put about a dozen in there, and they all boot up just fine.
Les

gcmartin

What was done to allow direct ISO booting?

#18 Post by gcmartin »

Hi @Les Kerf.

This idea, you share, has good emphasis for test along with widespread use.

I think you could help all here if you would explain what boot manager you used, and what the bootmanager's configuration looks like to accomplish ISO file boots to RAM. In short, what did you have to do so that the PC would boot an ISO directly.

Thanks in advance for more useful information.

User avatar
Ray MK
Posts: 774
Joined: Tue 05 Feb 2008, 09:10
Location: UK

#19 Post by Ray MK »

Easy2Boot - 1st post, 1st page
[b]Asus[/b] 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. [b]IBM A21m[/b] laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. [b]X60[/b] T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. [b]T41[/b] Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.

gcmartin

#20 Post by gcmartin »

Thanks @Ray MK.

I forgot. I read it couple weeks ago, had plan to test it, and forgot that it had been described.

My forgetting is probably due to the amount of alcohol I have consumed in University.

THANKS! ... for the reminder.

Post Reply