Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 02:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Need to mount hfs+ drive [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jan 2013, 13:43    Post_subject:  Need to mount hfs+ drive [SOLVED]  

I would like to copy all the data from my hfs+ formatted drive (from my Mac) to my Linux formatted drive. When I click on the sdc1 (hfs+) icon, there is no data on the drive. Do I have to install something in order for hfs+ drives to mount properly?

I am running Puppy 5.2.8

Thanks!!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3907
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jan 2013, 17:05    Post_subject:  

Sounds like you need to... Loading hfs and hfsplus may be enough.

You can tell me whether the mount bit needs to happen..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 22:39    Post_subject:  

Hopefully the loading of the kernel module as suggested by Semme will solve the problem.

If there are compatibility issues, TestDisk may help, NB I once used TestDisk to copy files from a Ext4 formatted device in a version of Puppy that predated Ext4. TestDisk needs to be used with care though, as it can also be used to delete or reformat partitions.



http://superuser.com/questions/169096/recover-files-from-formatted-hfs-partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 08:36    Post_subject:  

Where are the hfs and hfsplus located. I can't see them in the puppy-lucid repo.

Thanks. I just happen to be in Puppy at the moment so I can try it out to see if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3907
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 08:53    Post_subject:  

They're already onboard. From here it's: modprobe module_name for each..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 09:50    Post_subject:  

I just did what you said. is something supposed to happen? I don't see anything on my desktop.

sh-4.1# modprobe hfs
sh-4.1# modprobe hfsplus
sh-4.1#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3907
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 09:54    Post_subject:  

Now use the rest of John Does`mount cmd- linked above..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0467s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]