Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 02:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Questions: Precise .pets, Package manager, Multimedia keys
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 00:21    Post subject:  Questions: Precise .pets, Package manager, Multimedia keys  

After exploring a little (e.g. http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/), I have a few questions -

1) Can I use Lucid .pets on Precise?

2) It seems I can use any .deb (awesome!!), however I've found the puppy package manager mysterious (I'm used to synaptic) - is there a link that will walk me through it's usage (particularly adding the Precise main, universe, x, repos)?

3) Third, E17 (I'm using Macpup) doesn't seem to recognize my multimedia keys...How do I map them?

Thanks much -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 10:15    Post subject:  

1) Yes you can use lucid pets on precise, or even 4.3. But when a program is compiled on certain platform, it may not work well on other. But all of the pets i tested from lucid, 4.3 worked fine.
2) I think it's easier than synaptic. You go to configure and on your right you have the repos. In my case i'm using slacko 5.4 and i activate puppy-noarch(here you have pets for puppies no matter the arch, like the langpacks). Slackware14 oficial, slackware10salix, slackware10slacky,puppy slacko14. In your case you'd have to tick ubuntu-universe, multiverse, main, precise, noarch. You can have up to five. Then close the ppm and open again. When you search for packets, it doesn't matter if you're on desktop, multimedia or anything, it searchs in all categories. What you can choose is where you want to look for the packets, you can choose from all repositories or just one. IF the programs needs dependencies, you'll have to click examine dependencies, it'll search and it'll show you all the dependencies, you can just download them and not install, or just click download and install packets, and it'll do everything. To remove a packet in the right, bottom corner, there is a list with the installed packets, just click on the packets you want to uninstall. You have to uninstall one by one.

3) I don't use E17, but you can use sven. I think the links are down atm, so i upload it here. It's a program that allows you to map the keys. I DONT remember if it shows you the code of the keys. If you want to know which code is each key, you have to download this http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=12635 . You extract it, run xev, and a tiny window will open and also a console, that tiny window must be the main. Then when you type any key the console will show you the code for that key, ie my volume keys, if i remember well, are 179 178 176.
Sven even has a plugin that shows you a little bar showing the volume amplitude when you press the keys. I think that plugin, maps them automatically
sven-0.6-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  sven-0.6-i486.pet 
Filesize  286.94 KB 
Downloaded  179 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 18:05    Post subject: Puppy file manager  

capicoso wrote:
I think it's easier than synaptic. You go to configure and on your right you have the repos.


After finally noticing "choose only five repos" I was on my way Smile

Should I worry about the missing libraries etc - or only if the program fails?
missing.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.16 KB
 Viewed   896 Time(s)

missing.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 20:23    Post subject:  

capicoso wrote:
1) Yes you can use lucid pets on precise, or even 4.3. But when a program is compiled on certain platform, it may not work well on other. But all of the pets i tested from lucid, 4.3 worked fine.


Apparently the missing files I noted above were deal breakers. Hence I've been looking for a libreoffice .pet for Precise / Lucid to no avail. Perhaps there are download locations I've missed?

I'm assuming this won't work since it's slackware compatible -> http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/Libreoffice-3.5.2.pet ?

Does puppy have a utility that will install multiple .debs at once? I ask because I noticed that the official (from site) LibreOffice package extracts to a folder full of .debs. The thought of installing each was, shall we say, not encouraging.

Should I just be looking for an .sfs...?

Last edited by toomanyquestions on Wed 09 Jan 2013, 20:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 20:29    Post subject: Re: Puppy file manager  

toomanyquestions wrote:
capicoso wrote:
I think it's easier than synaptic. You go to configure and on your right you have the repos.


After finally noticing "choose only five repos" I was on my way Smile

Should I worry about the missing libraries etc - or only if the program fails?

Hmm, i would worry but, i never had a problem. Also, i don't know if it's bugged, but i think there you have 3 o 4 libs, but they're repeated.
Anyways, it looks like you installed gimp. I don't know if you're new to puppy but always try to see if a .pet or .sfs version had been done for it. Sfs are great, and they were compiled for puppy. It's not that ubuntu packets won't work or won't work correctly, but a .pet or .sfs will be better. I dont remember if precise puppy has a sfs package list builtin(slacko does), if not you have to search within the forum. Programs like libreoffice, gimp, googlearth, vlc, kdenlive, etc(big programs) have a .sfs. Gimp for example http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61584 . Do you know the pros about .sfs packets? Or how to load them?


edit: I also have a precise 5.4 somewhere, and i think i used this libreoffice sfs http://smokey01.com/saluki/sfs/LibreOffice-3.5.1-en_us-2.sfs

If the maker of the sfs/pet says that he compiled it just for slacko, then i doubt it'll work on other puppies, but others try to make them work on all versions

Well you can download .debs and click all of them at once eheh. I installed cinelerra from a ppa this way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 20:43    Post subject: Re: Puppy file manager  

Quote:
Do you know the pros about .sfs packets? Or how to load them?

Well you can download .debs and click all of them at once eheh. I installed cinelerra from a ppa this way


Yes, I am very new to puppy (I can count in hours...Wink I don't know the pros/cons of sfs & I'd love to know. GIMP seemed to work (used it to tighten the screenshot)...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 20:51    Post subject: Re: Puppy file manager  

toomanyquestions wrote:
Quote:
Do you know the pros about .sfs packets? Or how to load them?

Well you can download .debs and click all of them at once eheh. I installed cinelerra from a ppa this way


Yes, I am very new to puppy (I can count in hours...Wink I don't know the pros/cons of sfs & I'd love to know. GIMP seemed to work (used it to tighten the screenshot)...

Here you go. http://puppylinux.org/wikka/squashfs . It's very useful in a frugal install(which is the strong point of puppy plus many more). You know, your savefile has a limit of 1g 2gb or whatever the space you assigned to it. Sfs get loaded but they don't get installed. They don't consume puppy space. If you break something with that program, you just unload it. All the dependencies are included. There are huge sfs like compiz, xfce, kde, QT4.8, etc. So you can have a whole desktop on a sfs, if it doesn't work or it breaks something, just unload it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 00:57    Post subject: Re: .sfs  

capicoso wrote:
If you break something with that program, you just unload it. All the dependencies are included.....So you can have a whole desktop on a sfs, if it doesn't work or it breaks something, just unload it...


I think I'll try a Lucid .sfs & see how it works (I've had success using LibreO .sfs in live mode). Perhaps I'll gain the courage (or stupidity) to do all the Libre .debs one by one... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 01:18    Post subject: Re: .sfs  

toomanyquestions wrote:
capicoso wrote:
If you break something with that program, you just unload it. All the dependencies are included.....So you can have a whole desktop on a sfs, if it doesn't work or it breaks something, just unload it...


I think I'll try a Lucid .sfs & see how it works (I've had success using LibreO .sfs in live mode). Perhaps I'll gain the courage (or stupidity) to do all the Libre .debs one by one... Smile

Why would you do that? If the .sfs worked then you don't need anything else!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 15:36    Post subject: Re: .sfs  

capicoso wrote:
Why would you do that?


Well it seems to work so I probably won't - I'm clinging to commonsense. Very Happy

BTW, do you know how to acquire the commands retrovol executes when you click up/down/mute (uncheck) in the gui?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 20:42    Post subject: Re: .sfs  

toomanyquestions wrote:
capicoso wrote:
Why would you do that?


Well it seems to work so I probably won't - I'm clinging to commonsense. Very Happy

BTW, do you know how to acquire the commands retrovol executes when you click up/down/mute (uncheck) in the gui?

Hmm i use alsamixer command, it works.
alsamixer sset Master 0 will mute it
alsamixer sset Master +1 will add 1% volume
alsamixer sset Master -1 will lower 1% volume

The sven pet with the plugins come with a tool that already does this, maps automatically the volume keys, and add a graph bar indicating the %
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 19:22    Post subject: Sound & .sfs Libre Office  

capicoso wrote:
The sven pet with the plugins come with a tool that already does this, maps automatically the volume keys, and add a graph bar indicating the %


It turns out that one only needs to have the volume icon loaded on the shelf, then the shortcut keys work like a charm.

Is there a way to make sfs/Libre Office show up in the Default Applications Chooser? I'm guessing the answer is no, but I ask because it's inconvenient to load a blank LO doc & than manually open the doc of my choice (Libre shows up in my system menu, but not the what-do-you-want-to open-it-with menu).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 21:59    Post subject: Re: Sound & .sfs Libre Office  

toomanyquestions wrote:
capicoso wrote:
The sven pet with the plugins come with a tool that already does this, maps automatically the volume keys, and add a graph bar indicating the %


It turns out that one only needs to have the volume icon loaded on the shelf, then the shortcut keys work like a charm.

Is there a way to make sfs/Libre Office show up in the Default Applications Chooser? I'm guessing the answer is no, but I ask because it's inconvenient to load a blank LO doc & than manually open the doc of my choice (Libre shows up in my system menu, but not the what-do-you-want-to open-it-with menu).

You have to right click on a txt or whatever format you want to open with libreoffice and you have two options. Define what to execute and there you'll have the default executable for that type of file, ie in a .png it says imagedefaultviewer. If you want to open it with libreoffice you have to type the libreoffice command, check on /usr/bin or type libreo in terminal and press tab so the whole command shows up. And type that in the box. The other one is right click and open with, a menu will show up but i wont show libreoffice command, so go down to personalize. A menu will explain you then. You have to make a symlink to the libreoffice command.

Rox is nice, but i prefer Qtfm or XFEfm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 14:50    Post subject: Re: Sound & .sfs Libre Office  

capicoso wrote:
Rox is nice, but i prefer Qtfm or XFEfm.


Wish I'd read your walk-through before I played w/.debs... More to the point, Is it possible to dual fm? Are Qtfm or XFEfm pretty user friendly? I'm used to fairly traditional ones - pcmanfm, thunar, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 16:10    Post subject:
Subject description: fms
 

Traditionally xfe is my first add-on to any pup, it's that user-friendly Wink

Every fm has a niche, like text editors and other apps - absolutely you can use whatever suits your needs and prefs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1015s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]