Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 02:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Installing Frugal Wary and Retro Precise - severe issues!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 17:57    Post subject:  Installing Frugal Wary and Retro Precise - severe issues!  

Greetings Puppy community,

Before I get started on this - I want to thank user yorkiesnorkie for helping me out with this, but we are stumped and reaching out the forum. Who knows - maybe it's a bug.

Per my posts (and to summarize), I'm trying to put Puppy Linux on a Gateway Solo 9100 laptop. Before this post, I had three partitions, in which 2 partitions were WinXP and the last was a full install of Wary Puppy 5.3. Now, the reason I have 2 partitions of WinXP is that, in essence, they are the same partition, but the Gateway has an 8.4 GB limit on C: (or sda1 if you're in Linux), so the rest is in an extended partition. So, to summarize, WinXP occupied sda1 and sda5, and Puppy Wary was sda6.

Wary was fine until I started digging at it, and being a newbie and wanting to understand, I was curious on how to update things, but being told that Linux really doesn't linearly update. I also discovered a post about RetroPrecise which was a newer LTS version,and I was like, maybe I can frugal install Retro with Puppy Wary, which didn't work.

In a nutshell, I tried to reinstall Puppy Wary as a frugal install on sda6, but nothing work (yes I updated menu.lst and re-ran Grub4Dos). What I do note, which is odd, is 2 things:

1.) When I had Full Wary 5.3, I had it on sda6 and the boot flag was on sda1 - no problems there. My menu.lst was also in sda1, etc., but all of the Wary files were in sda6.

2.) For frugal install, I was able to boot into Retro when the files were in sda1 (or C: in WinXP), and the boot flag didn't matter (tried sda1 and sda6). I tried to moves the files off of sda1 to try and boot - nothing. Keep in mind I can't have too much on sda1 per the 8.4 GB limit.

So my question is, is it possible to even have a frugal install on my system, or, due to the fact that I have a 8.4 GB limit, do I have to have a full install?

Also, I am a noob so please go easy on me (I have learned a lot and am still learning! Razz ) - I can provide anything (i.e., screenshots and such) or try anything. I can still boot into Windows fine, so I know Grub4Dos is ok.

Thanks!
VV5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1774

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 18:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
So my question is, is it possible to even have a frugal install on my system, or, due to the fact that I have a 8.4 GB limit, do I have to have a full install?

Actually, it's the other way around:
Frugal installations take up much less space vs. full installations.
With frugals Puppy is compressed (in the SFS file).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 18:23    Post subject:  

Dewbie,

Right - sorry I should clarify. I wasn't having a problem with a full install, but when I tried to frugal install it on sda6 (where the full install was), that's when all hell broke loose. Evil or Very Mad

What I was trying to ask was, since I have an 8.4 GB limit, and the rest of the HDD space is an extended partition, is there any way to frugal install on sda6 just like I had the Full install of Wary on sda6 without using sda1's space, sine sda1 has WinXP files on it already and I don't have that much room on it. sda6 - no problem in terms of space.

Thanks!
VV5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1774

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 18:36    Post subject:  

Have you reformatted only sda6 to erase the fully installed Wary files?
(before proceeding with the frugal install)

I believe there's a limit of four standard partitions (including swap).
This setup keeps things simpler in terms of partition numbering.
Extended partitions are better-suited for multiple-OS installations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 19:06    Post subject:  

Dewbie,

Yes I did - I even took it out of the system, hooked it up to another IDE controller and in Manage in XP I erased it and reformatted it with Gparted for ext2, thus erasing the full Wary.

I can do it again if you'd like.

Thanks!
VV5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1774

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 19:12    Post subject:  

When you click on sda6, and then the Show / hide hidden files icon, nothing's there?
(If that's the case, reformatting shouldn't be needed.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 19:29    Post subject:  

VictorVictor5 wrote:
Right - sorry I should clarify. I wasn't having a problem with a full install, but when I tried to frugal install it on sda6 (where the full install was), that's when all hell broke loose.

Please describe what went wrong.

Also, what new GRUB menu.lst entry were you using when you switched to frugal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 21:59    Post subject:  

Dewbie,

When I click show/hide on sda6, I just have the wary53frugal install folder from when I just installed it - nothing else.

Let me know if you need a screen shot or somehow to wipe the drive and then reinstall. I can boot in from CD still, so we're good there.

Thanks!
VV5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 22:08    Post subject:  

rcrsn51,

Ok, first, on the menu.lst file - I am using the one that Grub4Dos generated after I installed Wary Frugal. I can attach that if you want.

Now, as to what happened - well, I wiped Wary full and proceeded to install frugal like full (i.e., format the partition to ext2, run Grub4Dos to generate the menu.lst file to put in the boot partition, etc.). My boot flag, when I had full Wary, was in sda1 (or C: in WinXP), and that was fine.

So I left that the same (the boot flag that is), and when I restarted the system after Wary frugal installed, when I select Wary frugal from the Grub4Dos menu, it just hangs. It says "Booting Wary Frugal 5.3..." but that's it. Nothing moves.


It's just odd that a full Wary install can work when I had it on sda6, but frugal can't. Weird.

Thanks,
VV5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 22:47    Post subject:  

I would repeat the procedure.

1. Put the three core Wary files in sda6 - vmlinuz, initrd.gz, puppy_wary_5.3.sfs.

2. Run Grub4Dos again.

The location of the boot flag is irrelevant. Grub4Dos does not use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 08:56    Post subject:  

rcrsn51,

Ok, before I do that - there is a file called "vmlinuz" in sda1 in a folder called "boot" - I think this is from when I had full Wary.

Did you want me to delete that? The files you stated in your post are already on sda6, in fact I'm looking at them right now (messaging from a different system currently). Specifically they're in mnt/sda6/wary53frugal.

Please let me know if you need a screen shot of what I'm talking about.

Thanks!
VV5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 09:19    Post subject:  

VictorVictor5 wrote:
there is a file called "vmlinuz" in sda1 in a folder called "boot" - I think this is from when I had full Wary. Did you want me to delete that?

Yes. Also any other core Wary files that might be on sda1.
Quote:
The files you stated in your post are already on sda6, in fact I'm looking at them right now (messaging from a different system currently). Specifically they're in mnt/sda6/wary53frugal.

Copy them again off the Wary CD to make sure you have good copies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yorkiesnorkie


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 505
Location: George's Island

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 09:28    Post subject:  

Initially, Jesse had a full install of wary on sda6 and grub4dos installed to sda1. Since wary was booting, my thought was not to disturb that and I suggested a frugal install of retro precise to sda1, unfortunately there isn't enough space there. The problem seems to be getting the boot stanza correct for sda6 because it can find the frugal install on sda1.

The computer boots retro precise on sda1 using the default grub4dos boot stanza. So, the grub4dos menu is the default one, i.e. the boot stanza has "find" in it. The boot stanza works with frugal installed on sda1, but not on sda6.

Jesse does have a couple of grub4dos artifacts on sda1 left over from his full install of wary which could use cleaning up.

A screenshot of Gparted Jesse sent shows sda1 as ntfs with a boot flag, followed by a second ntfs partition (sda5), and his ext2 partiton (sda6). There is a couple of megs of space between the partitions.

Instead of the find command in the boot stanza I suggested trying the commands set root, or root, but I'm not so sure about the equivalent numbering anymore. I would have thought sda6 to be (hda0,5)?

Greg

_________________
www.busygamemaster.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 09:42    Post subject:  

Ok,

Got rid of the old Wary files on sda1, reinstalled Frugal Wary on sda6 and ran Grub4Dos, and now I can't boot into anything (even Windows XP). Everything just hangs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VictorVictor5

Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 09:50    Post subject:  

Quick update - got WinXP back - I had to change the uuid number (had my old menu.lst file saved) - that did the trick.

Keep you all posted if anything else changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0788s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0132s) ][ GZIP on ]