Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 13:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 09:18    Post subject:  

The idea with sticking to SFS and Pacman is to keep package management consistent. Hopefully a pacman GUI will be included in the non-super-tinkerer edition.

I think the way to go is make Puppy programs work on standard Arch, then they will work on Puppy, ArchPup and Arch Linux. This has already been done with PBurn - though I haven't tested myself.

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 09:41    Post subject:  

Pacman GUI would be overkill? As indicated, it is entirely a personal factor of the way I prefer to work that I don't use the .sfs system, chacun a son gout.
As for 'mak(ing) Puppy programs work on standard Arch' surely somewhat pretentious?! Arch is, as its name suggests, arcane and archaic, the sort of distro designed to deter incomers, but entirely fine for those skilled in the art. Definitely not in the Puppy tradition of simplicity and intuitiveness. It will always be a minority sport, but none the worse for that. Might be better if those that are able, to contribute to ARM projects, notably RPi at present, which is clearly in the mind of BK. Pacman is not adopted by any of the major developers so is not a logical choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 16:00    Post subject:  

anyone know a good battery monitor for archpup?

tried batterymon-clone but I get division by zero error

Batti com plains about no socket in run/dbus/system-bus-socket
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 17:03    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
Batti com plains about no socket in run/dbus/system-bus-socket


what if you do:

Code:
mkdir /run/dbus
dbus-daemon --system


does batti run?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 06:45    Post subject: Re: ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Subject description: version 13.2 - Planning Phase
 

simargl wrote:

Here I will add my To-do list, changes compared to stable version and other future plans related to ArchPup development:

21 Jan

<snip>

- make two iso images:
    -one with only window manager, text editor and file manager --> small number of gui applications, and all inside adrv.sfs
    -second with archapps added to adrv.sfs. Down-side is that all development files from archapps must be in adrv.sfs



Is this the current thinking or leftover from previous versions of the first post?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 07:13    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:


what if you do:

Code:
mkdir /run/dbus
dbus-daemon --system


does batti run?


output

Code:
[12:11 root@archpup ~] > dbus-daemon --system
Unknown username "polkitd" in message bus configuration file
Unknown username "polkitd" in message bus configuration file
Failed to start message bus: Could not get UID and GID for username "dbus"


maybe create users?, huh? No time to tinker for me now, at work.

Stifing I want to ask you another question.
I have an older computer on which I want to run ArchPup but when I start it it says
it can only handle non-pae kernel.

Is there a non-pae Arch-Kernel and do you think it'll work using your standard
"replace the kernel"-method. If so do I have to downgrade packages?

Would you please give some input before I embark on this en devour?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 07:28    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
anyone know a good battery monitor for archpup?

tried batterymon-clone but I get division by zero error

Batti com plains about no socket in run/dbus/system-bus-socket

A number of puppies are using vattery.
Vaterry is in AUR. You may want to try it.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 08:15    Post subject:  

I was thinking what is the best way to distribute next version, so here is final decision for version 132, that will be based on
packages from 1st February 2013:
- First there will be archpup-132-alpha, iso with only archpup.sfs and adrv.sfs size around 80 Mb.
- After some period of testing and probably fixing Wink this alpha version, next iso will be archpup.sfs+adrv.sfs+archapps.sfs
and around 150 Mb size. I will no longer make this minimal 80 MB iso, because everyone can remove archapps.sfs and still
OS would be functional.
- In archapps will be included pacmanxg4, but not yaourt. Instead for managing packages from AUR there will be packer in
another sfs - archdev. Reason is simple, you need development sfs to compile packages from AUR, so packer is moved to
that module.
- Evince will be removed, and as new pdf viewer there will be qpdfview
- Under system menu new entry is added "Update package databases", easier for beginners no need for manual pacman -Sy.
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 11:49    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

- First there will be archpup-132-alpha, iso with only archpup.sfs and adrv.sfs size around 80 Mb.
- After some period of testing and probably fixing Wink this alpha version, next iso will be archpup.sfs+adrv.sfs+archapps.sfs
and around 150 Mb size. I will no longer make this minimal 80 MB iso, because everyone can remove archapps.sfs and still
OS would be functional.


Looks like a good plan.
However you may want to try the "big" version as alpha.
Three reasons,
more people (including novices) may use it and thus identify more issues (which of course means more work Shocked ). But the common wisdom is " the wider the testing, the better the app/pup" Wink
May reveal apps related bugs that will go unnoticed/undetected with a "small" alpha till is too late.
Will give you the chance to have some user feedback on the kind/mix of apps you will include in the "final" release.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xstylezx

Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 12:49    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
simargl wrote:

- First there will be archpup-132-alpha, iso with only archpup.sfs and adrv.sfs size around 80 Mb.
- After some period of testing and probably fixing Wink this alpha version, next iso will be archpup.sfs+adrv.sfs+archapps.sfs
and around 150 Mb size. I will no longer make this minimal 80 MB iso, because everyone can remove archapps.sfs and still
OS would be functional.


Looks like a good plan.
However you may want to try the "big" version as alpha.
Three reasons,
more people (including novices) may use it and thus identify more issues (which of course means more work Shocked ). But the common wisdom is " the wider the testing, the better the app/pup" Wink
May reveal apps related bugs that will go unnoticed/undetected with a "small" alpha till is too late.
Will give you the chance to have some user feedback on the kind/mix of apps you will include in the "final" release.


I like the idea of "big" version as alpha as well. Great reasons listed! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 14:37    Post subject:  

mavrothal & xstylezx,
That all sounds reasonable, but with my upload speed (or slowness) it takes more than 2 hours Surprised to upload
this small iso with 80MB. Imagine time required for uploading full CD size 700 MB.. actually no need to imagine
I just would not do it. archapps sfs will mostly stay as-is now, although with qpdfview and
pacmanxg added so I'm hoping there will be no problems.

Scooby,
I think conky also has support for battery monitor, so that's another option.
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 14:51    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

That all sounds reasonable, but with my upload speed (or slowness) it takes more than 2 hours Surprised to upload
this small iso with 80MB.

Ouch.
For the testing phase, you may want to use deltas of whatever is already uploaded.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 15:00    Post subject:  

Sorry I repeat my question here

I have an older computer on which I want to run ArchPup but when I start it it says
it can only handle non-pae kernel.

Is there a non-pae Arch-Kernel and do you think it'll work to insert kernel?
Do you have to recompile?
If so do I have to downgrade packages?

Vattery works fine but is not the styliest , Conky looks very interesting I think
I'm gonna tinker a bit with it

I fixed batterymon. I realized it was a script file and not a binary.
So I added check for avoiding division by zero. Guess I have hacked in python now as well Laughing
seems to work! notifications and all

Last edited by Scooby on Tue 22 Jan 2013, 15:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 15:15    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
maybe create users?, huh? No time to tinker for me now, at work.


yes:

Code:
adduser dbus


and press enter twice, so no password. polkit user shouldn't be necessary. even if u choose one of the other solutions for a battery monitor, you may still need dbus-daemon for something else. so if u happen to need it for another app in the future, my current workaround for it is by adding:
Code:
rm /var/run/dbus/pid &
dbus-daemon --system &


at the top of the '/root/.xinitrc' script.



Scooby wrote:
I have an older computer on which I want to run ArchPup but when I start it it says it can only handle non-pae kernel.


i'm presently using the retroprecise non-pae kernel and it's working perfectly fine. at the same time though, i'm still using archpup-12.12.iso which is before 12.12.1 and 12.12.2 and also before the adrv was implemented. i will be upgrading to the new release though.

so with all that being said, i don't see why switching the kernel using the method i illustrated wouldn't work. bark_bark_bark had a problem getting it to work though, on the newer archpup. so i can't say for 'certain' that it'll work, but i don't see why it wouldn't.

if you decide to try it out, let me know if it works. if you're getting that same 'error loading to ram/sfs mount' issue that bark_bark_bark was saying he got, when he tried using the slacko kernel.....i'll take a closer look at it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 15:31    Post subject:  

sim,

are you able to:

Code:
ping localhost


i was testing samba and couldn't see my own shares and narrowed it down to having to first run the command:

Code:
ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1


i was then able to ping localhost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1001s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]