Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 03:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 14:56    Post subject:  

ArchPup is added on distrowatch waiting list http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=submit.

I was missing one thing from spaceFM compared to Thunar - emblem on read-only folders, so opened topic on
spaceFM forum. Main developer responded very quickly and positively so this might be implemented in future.
Here is that topic if you need to add some comments: http://sourceforge.net/p/spacefm/discussion/general

Last edited by simargl on Fri 18 Jan 2013, 17:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 783
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 15:47    Post subject:  

okay ArchPup boots with the replaced kernel, but it refuses to run X.

EDIT: At the console I did manage to get the kernel version of the modified ArchPup:

Code:
3.2.33-4g


But still no X

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Slackware 14.1

Last edited by bark_bark_bark on Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 15:51    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
Scooby wrote:
Did you try Mavrothals suggestion here?


...

I mean it being able to use .pet would allow me to at least be able to use pmusic on Archpup. But I highly doubt that adding a puppy repo to pacman,may spew out trouble.


I downloaded pmusic 2.6.7 from here.

followed Mavrothals instructions and installed it with inpet,

menu entry existed but I started it from terminal. It worked fine Laughing
playing real good music too - Hoovers -- Ride with me

There is some report of things missing

Code:

/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 401: /root/.pmusic/tmp/DONT_SAVE_PRESET: No such file or directory
which: no streamripper in (/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin)
which: no pfilesearch in (/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin)
which: no pfilesearch in (/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin)
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 417: /root/.pmusic/tmp/DONT_SAVE_PRESET: No such file or directory


I'm pretty sure it could be fixed.

I know you dont have net yet but when you do pmusic would be availible for you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 783
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:14    Post subject:  

I can't believe I forgot to copy the adrv*.sfs file to the folder with the modified ArchPup. No wonder why X wouldn't load.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Slackware 14.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:17    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
I can't believe I forgot to copy the adrv*.sfs file to the folder with the modified ArchPup. No wonder why X wouldn't load.


lol, well that solves that. does the wifi adapter create wlan0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 783
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:19    Post subject:  

well X still won't load, even with the adrv, so I'll never know if the wifi works or not.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Slackware 14.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:23    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
well X still won't load, even with the adrv, so I'll never know if the wifi works or not.


is the adrv loading?

try from that tty prompt:

Code:
sfs_load adrv-12.12.sfs
archpupx


and see if x will start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 783
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:27    Post subject:  

That didn't work at all.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Slackware 14.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:31    Post subject:  

I have a laptop with Elantech touchpad

I think it is detected as mouse??(How do you make sure?)

The solution then would be to install psmouse-elantech from AUR
I did.

I had to add link 3.6.8 to 3.6.8-1-ARCH in /usr/lib/modules

it compiles OK and put new psmouse,ko in /usr/lib/modules/3.6.8-1-ARCH/update dir

When I restart nothing new? Is it auto-loaded?


can I please get some input?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:33    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
That didn't work at all.


when you do:
Code:
sfs_load adrv-12.12.sfs


from the tty prompt, does it say that the sfs file successfully loaded?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 783
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:35    Post subject:  

Actually the adrv automatically loads at start up, it's the fact that the main sfs gives a error when it is being copied to RAM, that could be causing errors.
Last edited by bark_bark_bark on Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:37    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
it compiles OK and put new psmouse,ko in /usr/lib/modules/3.6.8-1-ARCH/update dir


i'd try moving psmouse.ko file inside the folder /lib/modules/3.6.8/misc and:

Code:
depmod -a
modprobe psmouse


and see if modprobe loads it without an error. if so add psmouse to the addlist line in /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG...and reboot, and hopefully it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:40    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
Actually the adrv automatically loads at start up, it's the fact that the main sfs gives a error when it is being copied to RAM, that could be causing errors.


dammit, all that hard work no pay off. i'm not sure what to try next man.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 783
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 18:33    Post subject:  

I am thinking right now though that this could be3 the scenario here.

These are the (most likely) components that are conflicting with each other:

-The archpup.sfs/adrv.sfs - fighting over mount points
-mount points - explains why the archpup.sfs won't mount
-the kernel - not sure why
-the init system? - maybe

Hopefully someone could explain why a lot better...

EDIT: Also there is most likely a missing environment variable that is preventing from X from loading at start up. I think the variable deals with the window manager. Not sure though...

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Slackware 14.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 19:28    Post subject:  

well let's test that theory....rename the adrv-12.12.sfs to xadrv-12.12.sfs....and see if the archpup-12.12.sfs loads to ram, now that the adrv doesn't exist. if so, afterwards try from the tty prompt:

Code:
sfs_load xadrv-12.12.sfs
archpupx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0772s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]