Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 14:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Hard disk install; one hdd, on different computers
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
mmagdiel

Joined: 16 Jan 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 12:14    Post subject:  Hard disk install; one hdd, on different computers
Subject description: Install puppy on a hdd, then insert it in onother computer and run puppy?!
 

I have two very, very old laptops (one siemens and the other one IBM)
As these are very low on RAM (one has only 64 and the onther 128) and the Siemen's CD unit it's mostly dead, and also there is no usb boot, I intend to take out the hdd and connect it to a desktop computer (with plenty of ram memory ...) and make a frugal install on this hdd. Then put it back in the laptop and run puppy.
With more processing power and more ram the installation should be done in minutes, while using the old laptop............, well it's painfully slow, not to talk about the bad CD unit.
Is this possible, and what do I have to keep in mind making this?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 12:26    Post subject:  

Are you planning to connect the hdd to the big computer with a USB adapter cable?

Here's the problem. With low-RAM machines like yours, a full install with swap is preferable. But Puppy won't do a full install to a USB device. So you are stuck with frugal.

Make sure that you add a swap partition to the hard drive. And flag the main partition as bootable.

You will use Grub4Dos Bootloader Config to set up the bootloader on the drive. It should be smart enough to do it correctly, so the drive boots when you move it back to the laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmagdiel

Joined: 16 Jan 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 16:14    Post subject:  

Not an USB adapter. I found on internet a n internall adapter from 40 to 44 pin IDE. Somethimg like this
http://www.okazii.ro/componente-computere/adaptoare-interfata/2006-adaptor-de-la-hdd-de-laptop-2-5inch-la-hdd-de-3-5inch-a121264798
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 16:35    Post subject:  

mmagdiel wrote:
Not an USB adapter. I found on internet a n internall adapter from 40 to 44 pin IDE. Somethimg like this
http://www.okazii.ro/componente-computere/adaptoare-interfata/2006-adaptor-de-la-hdd-de-laptop-2-5inch-la-hdd-de-3-5inch-a121264798


I've done it many times with an adapter like that.
Full installs with swap partition.
Depending on your cpu speed, it could be a problem
getting decent performance with your limited ram.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmagdiel

Joined: 16 Jan 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 03:33    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
mmagdiel wrote:
Not an USB adapter. I found on internet a n internall adapter from 40 to 44 pin IDE. Somethimg like this
http://www.okazii.ro/componente-computere/adaptoare-interfata/2006-adaptor-de-la-hdd-de-laptop-2-5inch-la-hdd-de-3-5inch-a121264798


I've done it many times with an adapter like that.
Full installs with swap partition.
Depending on your cpu speed, it could be a problem
getting decent performance with your limited ram.


And it is running without any compatability problems?! That's my question, because making this with a windows installation would not run unless the 2 computers are the same[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1033
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 05:31    Post subject:  

Frugal should be fine. A full install would be different, and with limited RAM that is what you really should be doing.
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]