Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Dec 2017, 07:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
BareBones Puppies & BABYies
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [132 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4741
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 03 Nov 2015, 09:23    Post subject:  

jrb wrote:
Starhawk and Greengeek, Xvesa works on most but not all hardware, but the resolution choices may be limited. I chose 640x480x16 for the initial resolution at boot because I think thats probably the most universal. Try the original wary-5.3-BABYbarebonesXvesa.iso and see if it will work.
Thanks - same problem for me with the original too. Might be my nVidia graphics. Will try it on any other older hardware i come across.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1031
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 03 Nov 2015, 11:27    Post subject:  

@ Puppus Dogfellow & greengeek,

You may wish to try my f2fs version of 666philb's Unicorn-6.0 building block pupplet.

www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=816817#816817

It is something I keep returning to as it is quick,versatile & very stable.
No problem with Nvidia.

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 03 Nov 2015, 13:22    Post subject:  

@jrb -- works fine Smile a pity about the 640x480 initial res, though -- good heavens that stuff makes the icons big! Base VGA resolution there is really only suited to something like Windows 3.x that's expecting it.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2176

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 12:41    Post subject:  

jrb wrote:
rufwoof wrote:
I just took the Wary 5.3 Barebone XVesa only ISO and added dbus and my own remaster script to that..

Excellent idea rufwoof. I downloaded your version and tried it. Its works well with the latest version of Seamonkey.

I notice that you created it by remastering. This is fine for your own use but it picked up the video and ethernet settings for your PC and overwrote the more general initial settings. I suggest you untar the debus .pets and your remaster script, possibly with UExtract, and then add them manually to the original puppy_wary_5.3.sfs using edit-sfs.

Done : https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4MbXu8cvE_Wdlg0R0xxR0x2bFE/view?usp=sharing 61MB ISO of the original barebone wary 5.3, but with dbus PET's extracted and a get_latest_firefox added to the /root directory that downloads/starts the latest firefox. Repacked into a ISO with just the puppy sfs replaced

Loaded up firefox 42.0 OK browsing to sneekylinux's video and that played ok (presumably via firefox HTML5), sfs loaded my local copy of libre office, and master pdf editor which also fired up/ran ok. Had to search for/install pet's for screeny and xwd to enable a screen capture to be made.
sc.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   76.09 KB
 Viewed   639 Time(s)

sc.jpg


Last edited by rufwoof on Thu 05 Nov 2015, 13:16; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 463
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 12:42    Post subject:  

Hi darry 1966
Your update links no longer work. Is it possible to get them working again?

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4741
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 14:15    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Had to search for/install pet's for screeny and xwd to enable a screen capture to be made.
Do you have mtPaint in there as a default? That has the ability to take a screenshot without adding any other pets. Also I feel SFR's "Take a Shot" (TAS) is worthy of consideration. It is the best screenshotter I have found. (don't know about dependencies though)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2176

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 15:28    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
rufwoof wrote:
Had to search for/install pet's for screeny and xwd to enable a screen capture to be made.

Do you have mtPaint in there as a default? That has the ability to take a screenshot without adding any other pets. Also I feel SFR's "Take a Shot" (TAS) is worthy of consideration. It is the best screenshotter I have found. (don't know about dependencies though)

Wary 5.3 barebones is ... pretty bare. No mtpaint. I've loaded quite a few different sfs's however (skype etc.) and it runs surprisingly well.

Not much use generally however other than to play with. My thoughts were to utilise it as a PXE boot option i.e. 60MB to net boot to desktop, net connect and then wget from the cloud at http speeds rather than gPXE (slow) speeds.

If I boot barebone Wary 5.3 and from the desktop sfs load puppy wary 5.5 sfs, then I in effect have all the apps in wary 5.5 available (abiword, mplayer, gnumeric .... etc). Does hit the problem of running the startup of wary 5.5 but a modified w5.5 puppy.sfs would resolve that.

Dowloading firefox 50MB or 130MB Wary 5.5 puppy sfs on my network connection takes seconds. To gPXE boot 200MB would take ages.

Last edited by rufwoof on Thu 05 Nov 2015, 17:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry1966


Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 898

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 16:23    Post subject:  

keniv wrote:
Hi darry 1966
Your update links no longer work. Is it possible to get them working again?

Regards,



Ken.


431max here:
https://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_Puppy_431_upgrade

Other page deleted by source forge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 463
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 17:13    Post subject:  

Hi darry 1966,
Thanks for that.

Regards,

Keen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2176

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 17:35    Post subject:  

The attached image is Wary Barebone 5.3 (XVesa only) with a Slacko puppy sfs just finished being sfs-loaded on top of that. You might be able to see from the tray that its run another network ... etc i.e. the slacko startup process. The slacko programs - such as mtpaint are then available.

Haven't tried it (posting from that Wary barebone now) but I guess you could exit to prompt and run xorgwizard and change from Xvesa to a more 'normal' choice ...etc.

Given that wary barebone is small so boots quickly (good for PXE booting), provides a network connection that can then be used to download firefox and then that firefox could be used to download another puppy sfs (relatively quickly) and sfs_load that puppy sfs to in effect be running that choice of puppy - that would be a lot quicker than PXE booting that target puppy alone.

Barebone underdog pup - with your own choice of topdog pup to layer on top of that underdog.
ss.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   92.83 KB
 Viewed   561 Time(s)

ss.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2176

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 18:03    Post subject:  

Booted wary 5.3 xvesa only barebone, sfs loaded wary 5.5 puppy and exited to prompt, ran xorgwizard and set nv (nvidia) ok, xwin'd back to desktop. BUT I think both xvesa and nv are running as the scrolling of firefox is slow/jerky. Exiting back out and running xorgwizard to set xvesa again and scrolling is more normal.

I tried loading tahr 6.04 on top of wary 5.3 barebone, but it complains about GLib's missing. Dawned on me that I probably needed to load the zdrv sfs first, but wary 5.3 sfs load doesn't like (load) that. Perhaps if tahr's zdrv content was mksquashfs'd with wary 5.3 ???
v.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.7 KB
 Viewed   558 Time(s)

v.jpg

ss.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   78.56 KB
 Viewed   565 Time(s)

ss.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11260
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 20:54    Post subject:  

Hi, rufwoof.

You wrote:
Quote:
> Dawned on me that I probably needed to load the zdrv sfs
first, but wary 5.3 sfs load doesn't like (load) that.


I believe there's an option to force (re)creation of a zdrv.sfs for any
Puppy in its remaster utility. That would make your two Puppies level,
I guess.

A comment if I may: it occurred to me that wanting to load a TahrPup-6
on top of a Puppy-5.3 is a bit weird, but hey, "to each his own"! Smile You
want to do this because... Smile

BFN.

musher0

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2176

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 21:31    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:

A comment if I may: it occurred to me that wanting to load a TahrPup-6
on top of a Puppy-5.3 is a bit weird, but hey, "to each his own"! Smile You
want to do this because... Smile

... nowt better to do other than develop experiences of what can and can't be done Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3044
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2015, 05:50    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Done : https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4MbXu8cvE_Wdlg0R0xxR0x2bFE/view?usp=sharing 61MB ISO of the original barebone wary 5.3, but with dbus PET's extracted and a get_latest_firefox added to the /root directory that downloads/starts the latest firefox. Repacked into a ISO with just the puppy sfs replaced


this barbone is very interesting because it is so tiny (and find place also in very small fat partitions like boot partitions in EFI / UEFI systems and includes gparted (the question is of old gparted versions can do the same and if it is secure as new ones...)

if it would also include testdisk and photorec, it would be a Swiss knife to recover HD Wink

sorry, the vesa driver is not very good any more: the choices of given resolutions are not the best. it can not be the base to be used often...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2176

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2015, 15:02    Post subject:  

oui wrote:
rufwoof wrote:
Done : https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4MbXu8cvE_Wdlg0R0xxR0x2bFE/view?usp=sharing 61MB ISO of the original barebone wary 5.3, but with dbus PET's extracted and a get_latest_firefox added to the /root directory that downloads/starts the latest firefox. Repacked into a ISO with just the puppy sfs replaced

this barbone is very interesting because it is so tiny (and find place also in very small fat partitions like boot partitions in EFI / UEFI systems and includes gparted (the question is of old gparted versions can do the same and if it is secure as new ones...)

if it would also include testdisk and photorec, it would be a Swiss knife to recover HD Wink

sorry, the vesa driver is not very good any more: the choices of given resolutions are not the best. it can not be the base to be used often...

I've started a separate thread for this one http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=871222#871222

I guess with something like a Raspberry Pi plugged into a network with a small puppy running together with a PXE server and appropriate vmlinuz and initrd.gz (barebone puppy) image ... then any other PC on that same LAN that had net boot capabilitity (most network cards support net booting, whether its activated in the PC's boot device/method sequence is another thing) could boot a small barebone type puppy relatively quickly ... that then downloaded and overlaid another fuller puppy on top of that.

The topdog puppy that was to be overlaid could be selected as per requirements .... to fix a PC, do a presentation, ...etc.

Come to that with a underdog puppy (barebone), others could publicise try this topdog (overlaid) puppy from http://xxx.yyy or wherever. Just a simple pointer (to file location anywhere in the world) update.

Much quicker than PXE booting a large image (assuming fast internet access was available).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [132 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0731s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]