Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 12:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
JWM Desktop Updates to V755 (Release) and V910 (Test)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 16 [240 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16
Author Message
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1052
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 18:14    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
Hi Scsijon
As for the main problem (maximized/fullscreen windows on external screen) it doesn't seem to be related to SDL at all (eg. YT [Flash/HTML5] doesn't make use of it, I believe?).
Like I said in the other thread I don't use/own an external monitor, however I just recalled that 1.5-2 years ago when I set up Slacko-5.3.3 (JWM s578) on my mate's laptop and we were trying to get the display on his TV, the resolution was ok, but we wasn't able to force Gnome-Mplayer's window to fill the entire screen.
I think the occupied area was equal or close to the laptop's native resolution...

Greetings!


AH! that problem!

It will always default to the video devices internal native resolution unless it's set by the kernel or you tell puppy that you want another.

The setting is in the Puppy startup command by adding something like

puppy video=800x600 (or 1024x768, etc....)

alternately you can use the hex codes for linexcolumn.

puppy video=0xnnn

But it's only what ever you have available in the video chips set (not the full drivers set) which is usually smaller.

However if the kernel has been configured internally with a fixed size your stuck with what has been decided in the kernel.

sorry
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1114

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 11:51    Post subject:  

Thanks Scsijon, I'll keep that in mind for the future. Cool

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1851
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 14:03    Post subject:  

Hello,
Thank you guys for replying! Very Happy
Sorry not to have answered earlier but I was not at home for more than a month. Though I was not in my "environment", I had all the time to think about... Wink
joewing wrote:
When you mention extra configuration, are you changing the JWM configuration file and restarting JWM?

So it is what I did...
But I made my decision to stand up for adapting my scripts to the new JWM behaviors, finally found something which gives the same result and much more simple: so, all's well that ends well!
Quote:
JWM now makes maximized windows take up the full screen. It used to leave the borders, which would allow you to click behind the window despite it being fullscreen.

[EDIT1] I noticed maximized windows corners are now squared. In previous versions of JWM, rounded corners of maximized windows let user activate any Rox panel behind easily while dragging mouse cursor right or left, up or down maximized windows corners using free space, shown as red on the picture below.

Now, unable to "touch" anything!

Thank you for your attention and your so nice job!

[EDIT2]
SFR (Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:30 am about background) wrote:
No probs here, either - see screenie.

Greetings!

I guess it works perfectly running Slacko!
I found time to test it running Puppy Precise 5.7.1: it doesn't work. So this is not specific to ToOpPy, based on Puppy Precise 5.4.3... Problem is somewhere else!

Cordialement.
140425_190956_66x49_easyshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   3.47 KB
 Viewed   1301 Time(s)

140425_190956_66x49_easyshot.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
David Andrew

Joined: 15 Nov 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 03:42    Post subject:  

Hello, can anyone advice me on how to get this working on Puppy Precise 7.1? I've tried to install all versions posted here without success:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93438
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1203
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 05:33    Post subject:  

Hi David,

There is Precise v 5.7.1 (if that is what you meant to type) and I have just updated my Precise 5.7.1 from jwm v 896 to jwm v 910 using the pet from page 1 of this thread and all is well.

Perhaps, if you have doubts, make a back up, then
after installing jwm2-910-w5c. pet restart X and type in your terminal:
Code:
jwm -v

to check your version No is updated to 910.

My regards

You could also try the latest jwm pet (currently test v 913) using the appropriate devx (from BarryK if Precise) and src2pkg (from amigo) to make your own pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
David Andrew

Joined: 15 Nov 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 08:22    Post subject:  

Jasper wrote:
Hi David,

There is Precise v 5.7.1 (if that is what you meant to type) and I have just updated my Precise 5.7.1 from jwm v 896 to jwm v 910 using the pet from page 1 of this thread and all is well.

Perhaps, if you have doubts, make a back up, then
after installing jwm2-910-w5c. pet restart X and type in your terminal:
Code:
jwm -v

to check your version No is updated to 910.

My regards

You could also try the latest jwm pet (currently test v 913) using the appropriate devx (from BarryK if Precise) and src2pkg (from amigo) to make your own pet.


Yeah, Precise 5.7.1.

Terminal registers it as vgit-819, despite having the 910 pet from here installed (and restarting X)

I'll give the other suggestion a try anyway. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1851
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 08:35    Post subject:  

Hello David Andrew,
Don't you have 2 jwm files: one inside /usr/bin/ and another inside /usr/local/bin?
Puppy has usually its jwm file inside /usr/bin...

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 935
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 09:58    Post subject:  

I have uploaded a build of JWM-913
Compiled in Wary so should be fine in most recent 32 bit Puppies including Precise 5.7.1

There is also version 871 which I have found to be OK. With some shortly after this I started seeing a problem with the tray icons, but I think that got fixed again later.

Regarding JWMconfig
JWMconfig 3 will only work in recent Woof-CE Puppies so will not work in Precise 5.7.1

I believe the latest BarryK variant of JWMconfig 2 is already in Precise 5.7.1
There are some other slightly later versions of JWMconfig 2 available, but they are designed for Slacko so would change the appearance of a few things.

Download from:-
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks
Always take the usual precautions when installing anything.
You must restart X server after installing JWM for the change to take effect.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
David Andrew

Joined: 15 Nov 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 11:11    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
I have uploaded a build of JWM-913
Compiled in Wary so should be fine in most recent 32 bit Puppies including Precise 5.7.1

There is also version 871 which I have found to be OK. With some shortly after this I started seeing a problem with the tray icons, but I think that got fixed again later.

Regarding JWMconfig
JWMconfig 3 will only work in recent Woof-CE Puppies so will not work in Precise 5.7.1

I believe the latest BarryK variant of JWMconfig 2 is already in Precise 5.7.1
There are some other slightly later versions of JWMconfig 2 available, but they are designed for Slacko so would change the appearance of a few things.

Download from:-
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks
Always take the usual precautions when installing anything.
You must restart X server after installing JWM for the change to take effect.


Thanks, this one registered as the latest version in the terminal, but I'm still not getting the options for the new XP / Mac / UNIX-ish buttons. I'm assuming they are only available in JWMconfig 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 935
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 23:09    Post subject:  

Upgrading the JWM package alone will not give you those extra window buttons. What you could do though I reckon is to take the button icon sets from Slacko 5.7 along with the switcher script, add in a couple of other bits and pieces to create a separate menu entry in the Desktop category which will launch the switcher GUI. I made a .pet which will do that.

Did a bit of testing and it seems to work, but as always:-

Take precautions (backups or whatever) before installing stuff or making changes to your system.
buttons-menu.jpg
 Description   Window button changer is launched via a new MENU entry (not from within JWMconfig)
 Filesize   103.27 KB
 Viewed   1377 Time(s)

buttons-menu.jpg

buttons-gui.jpg
 Description   Window button changer GUI with XP-ish already selected
 Filesize   65.24 KB
 Viewed   1379 Time(s)

buttons-gui.jpg

jwmbuttons-0.1.pet
Description  Add JWM Button Changer as a MENU item
pet

 Download 
Filename  jwmbuttons-0.1.pet 
Filesize  5.41 KB 
Downloaded  133 Time(s) 

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
David Andrew

Joined: 15 Nov 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Tue 29 Apr 2014, 05:20    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Upgrading the JWM package alone will not give you those extra window buttons. What you could do though I reckon is to take the button icon sets from Slacko 5.7 along with the switcher script, add in a couple of other bits and pieces to create a separate menu entry in the Desktop category which will launch the switcher GUI. I made a .pet which will do that.

Did a bit of testing and it seems to work, but as always:-

Take precautions (backups or whatever) before installing stuff or making changes to your system.


That .pet seems to work fine, many thanks. I'll be creating some themes that match the new buttons that I'll share in the JWM thread. Here's an XP theme I've had in mind (poor quality .jpeg):



Is it possible to manually create additional buttons?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
redandwhitestripes

Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 12:11    Post subject:  

Please,please, please

What's the simplest way to permanently disable the shading option?

Did a search, could only find a workaround relating to an older version and installation of two config pets that did not work for me at the time Sad

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 822
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2014, 10:57    Post subject:  

How can I get a window to stay on all desktops? I know about groups but not on setting them up for anything like this.

Is there a way in jwm to have the window not be able to close. even though in gtkdailog it is set to have decorated="true"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1951
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2014, 06:33    Post subject:  

hi oldyeller

right click on title bar and choose stick

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1951
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 02 Oct 2014, 15:48    Post subject:  

i've been trying the latest jwm-976 and it fixes a bug that's been annoying me for ages. when watching a film in ful screen i used to get tiny white pixels in the corners of the screen. i think this commit fixes that
Code:
commit 16364dbfe8198815a7b3b3c2c9c3a21b1660cfc7
Author: Joe Wingbermuehle <joewing@joewing.net>
Date:   Fri Sep 5 13:52:04 2014 -0500

    Don't use rounded borders for fullscreen windows.

M   src/border.c


however with the latest jwm, menu & taskbar items don't have an outline (see picture below) does anyone know the setting for this?

thanks
older_jwm.png
 Description   older jwm
 Filesize   44.97 KB
 Viewed   511 Time(s)

older_jwm.png

newr_jwm-1.png
 Description   new jwm
 Filesize   57.6 KB
 Viewed   527 Time(s)

newr_jwm-1.png


_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 16 [240 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1034s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]