Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 15:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Free space in /root is 1/3 of the one in personal storage
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 05:36    Post subject:  Free space in /root is 1/3 of the one in personal storage  

As seen on the following screen capture http://imgur.com/UAaad35, the free space available on /root is less than a third of the one available on personal storage, and probing the drives with Partview gives still another figure. Ffconvert outputs an error message and stops working because it only detects the smallest free space. How come /root has such small free space? How can I change this? I can't use 'resize personal storage' because I have installed Puppy on a USB flash drive such that personal storage is an entire partition, so the program doesn't even starts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 07:40    Post subject:  

Check the properties on that mozilla folder.. There's no doubt someones cache needs clearing.
roger_pv.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.99 KB
 Viewed   209 Time(s)

roger_pv.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 13:23    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Check the properties on that mozilla folder.. There's no doubt someones cache needs clearing.


I don't use Mozilla, I use Chromium instead. Another program I use is Bleachbit, to wipe caches, thumbnails, temp files, etcetera on a regular basis. The screencap was taken after wiping 75 Mb using Bleachbit.

Any other suggestion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 16:34    Post subject:  

Then why's there a Mozilla folder in your capture?

If you think it's Chromium, check ~/.cache or /opt.

Here, let this remove most of your guesswork:
Code:
du -h --max-depth=1 /

Mind your options and BB becomes obsolete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 07:57    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Then why's there a Mozilla folder in your capture?

If you think it's Chromium, check ~/.cache or /opt.

Here, let this remove most of your guesswork:
Code:
du -h --max-depth=1 /

Mind your options and BB becomes obsolete.


Thanks for your help.

Mozilla is there because Precise Puppy comes with it. I don't use it so It can't produce temp files on its own, and even if it could, I guess Bleachbit would take care of it.
I have switched to lxpup, thinking that maybe LXDE would be easier to handle. Lxpup is based on Slacko, but I've got the same problem I had with Precise: Only about 600 Mb seem to be available for my programs.
writing your suggestion on the terminal gives this output:

Quote:
sh-4.1# du -h --max-depth=1 /
1.3G /usr
303M /root
751K /var
27G /mnt
0 /sys
1016K /tmp
4.0K /dev
86M /lib
6.7G /initrd
2.6M /etc
232M /lost+found
12K /install
180M /opt
5.6M /bin
du: cannot access ‘/proc/10652/task/10652/fd/4’: No such file or directory
du: cannot access ‘/proc/10652/task/10652/fdinfo/4’: No such file or directory
du: cannot access ‘/proc/10652/fd/4’: No such file or directory
du: cannot access ‘/proc/10652/fdinfo/4’: No such file or directory
0 /proc
5.8M /sbin
36G /
sh-4.1#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 08:37    Post subject:  

I'm guessing Chromium's in /opt, it's cache where I said it is.

Open *under the hood* and remove some of this.. watch /roots`size drop.

Check what's in lost'n found- you can most likely toss it.

The rest looks OK.

Maybe try'n experiment with a save file next hop..
herein-lies-your-bulk.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.09 KB
 Viewed   153 Time(s)

herein-lies-your-bulk.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 17:45    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
I'm guessing Chromium's in /opt, it's cache where I said it is.

Open *under the hood* and remove some of this.. watch /roots`size drop.

Check what's in lost'n found- you can most likely toss it.

The rest looks OK.

Maybe try'n experiment with a save file next hop..


I erased everything except the passwords stored within Chromium, and it dindn't make much of a difference. Have a look at these screen captures:http://imgur.com/gwtwOI7,BuZJ1r1#1
The first image was produced before wiping, and the second one after. The terminal has two tabs, with the output of the command you showed me, swapping between both tabs makes it easy to spot the differences, and are almost non existent, albeit there are some in /root, /var, /tmp, /dev, and /initrd,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 18:02    Post subject:  

The goal here is still- how to have more room in /root, correct?

Gimme a few.. I'll have to test prior to posting my suggestion..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 18:48    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
The goal here is still- how to have more room in /root, correct?

Gimme a few.. I'll have to test prior to posting my suggestion..


The goal is to make the various Gbs of free space located on my USB Flash drive available for programs to use. At the moment Ffconvert only picks up the space in /root, so increasing this space would be one way of sorting it out.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 21:28    Post subject:  

This sounds like your ticket.. and I think it's gonna take two partitions on that flash drive of yours.

Granted we can automate the mount bit, I'm just not sure what kinda time I'll have this weekend.

I'll try'n give a modified version of this a shot too with time..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0678s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]