Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 00:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
TestDisk: Flash Drive="CHS and LBA don't match" [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 11 [156 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3578
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 16:01    Post subject:  

I have NEVER had a problem running that routine, or any similar.

GParted aside, did you try to copy anything to the drive?

Does Pup light up and see it when plugged?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 16:51    Post subject:  

1. I have NEVER had a problem running that routine, or any similar.
You are probably more experienced than I.
I think the website instructions are failing to mention certain points where I aught to hit <Enter>.
Hence, I'm hitting <Enter> when I guess I aught to do so, even though not instructed.
Fingers crossed that I'm not making mistakes. Confused

2. GParted aside, did you try to copy anything to the drive?
Haven't yet tried that.
Will attempt it now:
sdb1 won't mount, mind you, Xfe IS able to see /mnt/sdb1, and Xfe DID succeed in copying a file to /mnt/sdb1, and I WAS able to open the text file [a .log file] using Geany. Very Happy
How come?

3. Does Pup light up and see it when plugged?
When I plug in the Flash Drive...
The LED flashes, then goes constantly lit.
And...
The drive appears on the desktop as a USB connected device named sdb1.
But it won't mount. Sad
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Prior to the above...
Succeeded in running "LinuxMint-14.1-mate-dvd-64bit.iso".
And...
Ran GParted in there...
And...
It failed to complete any attempts at a fix [delete, re-format].
This Mint looks interesting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3578
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 17:04    Post subject:  

In the event I missed it- this is, which Pup?

When you say won't mount.. you mean, via click? How about through a console?

As far as that page goes you probably followed close enough.. enter after anything bolded.

What they neglect to say is the bit about removal and reinsertion prior to format.

Besides- you said format finished OK and you're able to copy, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 17:54    Post subject:  

1. "In the event I missed it- this is, which Pup?"
Slacko-5.3.3.1-scsi.iso

2. "When you say won't mount.. you mean, via click?"
Yes.
Normally when I click on an icon for a partition->[filesystem], the partition just mounts...
But in this case [since there is a problem?], Pmount runs and displays all the partitions, including sdb1.
But when I then click the entry for sdb1, Pmount reports: "ERROR: unable to mount sdb1".

3. "How about through a console?"
How should I do that?

4. "Besides- you said format finished OK"
Um, the "write" completed successfully [partition table altered].
And, "mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/sdb1" completed OK.
Are either of these a FORMAT?

5. "and you're able to copy, right?"
Right.
i.e. Able to copy a text file to sdb1, and display/read the contents of the file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 18:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
sdb1 won't mount, mind you, Xfe IS able to see /mnt/sdb1, and Xfe DID succeed in copying a file to /mnt/sdb1, and I WAS able to open the text file [a .log file] using Geany. Very Happy
How come?
how come indeed?
Quote:

Succeeded in running "LinuxMint-14.1-mate-dvd-64bit.iso".
And...
Ran GParted in there...
And...
It failed to complete any attempts at a fix [delete, re-format].
suggest to use the Mint disk utility, NOT Gparted.

don't give up yet
more suggestions:

using testdisk, > Delete all data in partition table
then

using Gparted [Puppy], > Write partition table [Devices tab]
or
using Pdisk [Puppy, System] > fdisk > create new empty DOS partition table

then create partition[s] as desired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3578
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 21:08    Post subject:  

Not to interrupt the previous post..

Console mount? Possibly >> mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1

fdisk is a partitioning tool.

mk* handles format.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 21:24    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
sdb1 won't mount, mind you, Xfe IS able to see /mnt/sdb1, and Xfe DID succeed in copying a file to /mnt/sdb1, and I WAS able to open the text file [a .log file] using Geany. Very Happy
How come?

There is no reason why any file manager or the cp utility wouldn't copy to /mnt/sdb1, if that directory exists and is writable by you (which it should be if you are root). But that doesn't mean that it is copying the file to your drive. If the drive couldn't be mounted, then /mnt/sdb1 is just another sub-directory of the /mnt directory.

If the file is still in /mnt/sdb1, you will probably find that the file will still be there even after physically removing your flash drive. In fact, if you ever succeed in mounting a flash drive on /mnt/sdb1, the file will no longer be visible -- at least not until you unmount the drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 08:12    Post subject:  

proebler:
1. suggest to use the Mint disk utility
Tried to, but couldn't find anything named "disk utility" within the Mint environment.
Where is it located?
Does it come natively included, or would I need to install it?

2. using testdisk, > Delete all data in partition table
then...

I'll attempt that ASAP.

Semme:
3. Console mount? Possibly >> mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
Tried that and got...
Code:
# mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
mount: mount point /mnt/sdb1 does not exist
#


npierce
Thanks for the explanation.
I believe I understand what you said. Very Happy
It is my routine, when session changes are made...
To NOT auto save [back to the lupusave], or manually save, DURING the session.
And...
To NOT save at shutdown/reboot either.
Hence, if [during the session] the file was saved within the filesystem held in RAM...
It would be lost at shutdown, hence no longer exists.

I'm very grateful for all the assistance guys! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3578
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 08:24    Post subject:  

No sdb1? Create one.. any folder for that matter.

If it were >> /root/test_mount >> you would:
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /root/test_mount

Check it.. We have files?

==

And I doubt "disk utility" is the name of the program..

Pretty sure they meant Mints`partitioning utility.

Oop's.. maybe it is Disk Utility?

Shell >> gnome-disk-utility.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 08:58    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
. . . To NOT save at shutdown/reboot either.
Hence, if [during the session] the file was saved within the filesystem held in RAM...
It would be lost at shutdown, hence no longer exists.

Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 10:18    Post subject:  

Semme:
1. "No sdb1? Create one.. any folder for that matter."
How?
You didn't explicitly say I should do it as follows...

2. "If it were >> /root/test_mount >> you would:
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /root/test_mount
"
Did this and got:
Code:
# mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /root/test_mount
mount: mount point /root/test_mount does not exist
#


proebler:
3. "using testdisk, > Delete all data in partition table
then
"
Did this, and it appeared to succeed, but subsequent operations failed, which suggests it really didn't succeed.

4. "using Gparted [Puppy], > Write partition table [Devices tab]
or
using Pdisk [Puppy, System] > fdisk > create new empty DOS partition table
"
Both of these operations failed. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3578
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 11:11    Post subject:  

Explicitly >> create test_mount in /root. "Does not exist" should've told you something..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 12:37    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Explicitly >> create test_mount in /root. "Does not exist" should've told you something..

I'm not keen on riddles. Confused
If I were knowledgeable and experienced in Puppy->Linux [which I'm not], what should I deduce?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3578
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 12:46    Post subject:  

Rt-clk, new folder. Doesn't matter where or what you name it so long as it's at the tail end of that mount cmd.
Last edited by Semme on Wed 27 Feb 2013, 14:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2221

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 13:26    Post subject:  

I think I can provide some insight here as I have an unusual flash drive which illustrates something. Like most new flash drives it was formatted as FAT32. I later re-formatted it to ext2 -but without changing the partition type. Now, it can be mounted as either FAT32 or ext2 -the formatting markers for ext2 did not destroy all old markers for FAT32. If I mount it as a FAT, I can see sertain files which I added when it was *formatted* as FAT. But, if I mount it as an ext2 FS, then I can see other files which I added to it when t was mounted as an ext2... but not the files that are from the 'FAT times'.

Anyway, it shows that you can really have weird things happen. The partition type is not always exclusive to a certain filesystem type. But, inconsistencies can confuse other tools -like mount, etc. Like in my case, if mount is called without specifying the filesystem type, then it goes through the list of supported file systems and tries each one till it succeeds. mount also does this when an fstab entry for the partition has 'auto' as the filesystem type.

So, the OP has managed to create a drive similar to what I have. The way to rectify it is this:

Do not mount the drive for fdisk operations! If it is already mounted, then unmount it first.
1. Run fdisk and change the partition type by choosing option 't', choosing the right partition number (1 in OP'S case) and selecting 'L' to show the table illustrated earlier:
Code:
Hex code (type L to list codes): LL^H

 0  Empty           24  NEC DOS         81  Minix / old Lin bf  Solaris       
 1  FAT12           39  Plan 9          82  Linux swap      c1  DRDOS/sec (FAT-
 2  XENIX root      3c  PartitionMagic  83  Linux           c4  DRDOS/sec (FAT-
 3  XENIX usr       40  Venix 80286     84  OS/2 hidden C:  c6  DRDOS/sec (FAT-
 4  FAT16 <32M      41  PPC PReP Boot   85  Linux extended  c7  Syrinx         
 5  Extended        42  SFS             86  NTFS volume set da  Non-FS data   
 6  FAT16           4d  QNX4.x          87  NTFS volume set db  CP/M / CTOS / .
 7  HPFS/NTFS       4e  QNX4.x 2nd part 88  Linux plaintext de  Dell Utility   
 8  AIX             4f  QNX4.x 3rd part 8e  Linux LVM       df  BootIt         
 9  AIX bootable    50  OnTrack DM      93  Amoeba          e1  DOS access     
 a  OS/2 Boot Manag 51  OnTrack DM6 Aux 94  Amoeba BBT      e3  DOS R/O       
 b  W95 FAT32       52  CP/M            9f  BSD/OS          e4  SpeedStor     
 c  W95 FAT32 (LBA) 53  OnTrack DM6 Aux a0  IBM Thinkpad hi eb  BeOS fs       
 e  W95 FAT16 (LBA) 54  OnTrackDM6      a5  FreeBSD         ee  GPT           
 f  W95 Ext'd (LBA) 55  EZ-Drive        a6  OpenBSD         ef  EFI (FAT-12/16/
10  OPUS            56  Golden Bow      a7  NeXTSTEP        f0  Linux/PA-RISC b
11  Hidden FAT12    5c  Priam Edisk     a8  Darwin UFS      f1  SpeedStor     
12  Compaq diagnost 61  SpeedStor       a9  NetBSD          f4  SpeedStor     
14  Hidden FAT16 <3 63  GNU HURD or Sys ab  Darwin boot     f2  DOS secondary 
16  Hidden FAT16    64  Novell Netware  af  HFS / HFS+      fb  VMware VMFS   
17  Hidden HPFS/NTF 65  Novell Netware  b7  BSDI fs         fc  VMware VMKCORE
18  AST SmartSleep  70  DiskSecure Mult b8  BSDI swap       fd  Linux raid auto
1b  Hidden W95 FAT3 75  PC/IX           bb  Boot Wizard hid fe  LANstep       
1c  Hidden W95 FAT3 80  Old Minix       be  Solaris boot    ff  BBT           
1e  Hidden W95 FAT1


For a new FAT32 filesystem, you should choose type 'c' or possibly 'b'. You could also run 'fidsk -l' to check the partition type first.
Once the partition *type* is right. Then format the new partition using mkdosfs:
mkdosfs -F 32 /dev/sdb1

Only now can you mount and use the filesystem. And, it would be good to specify the filesystem type when mounting:
mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt/wherever

Remember, the partitioning and filesystem creation should be done with the drive unmounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 11 [156 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1129s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0151s) ][ GZIP on ]