Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 21:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
VMWare
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 15:27    Post subject:  VMWare  

I'm trying to get Slacko 5.4 working in VMWare 9, but it's not reading the virtual drive that is associated with it's VM... Any ideas/suggestions?
_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
DanYHKim


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 23:58    Post subject: Is your virtual drive IDE or SCSI?
Subject description: SCSI won't work
 

VMware Player, at least, will try to make a SCSI virtual drive for your VM, but it does not work for Puppy. You should remove that drive and create a new one that is set up as IDE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 11:23    Post subject:  

Already did that. I have it set up as IDE from the setup because SCSI drives usually have issues in virtualization anyway... I'll try to redo the VM from scratch and see what happens...
_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 11:41    Post subject:  

Here's what the settings for the HDD look like, along with Slacko 5.4 -NOT- seeing the HDD at all in PMount.
Puppy.jpg
Description  Puppy VM HDD Settings
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Puppy.jpg 
Filesize  136.12 KB 
Downloaded  101 Time(s) 

_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 08:34    Post subject:  

is the virtual drive already partitioned?

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:16    Post subject:  

I feel dumb now... No, I hadn't done that. Thanks.
_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 2928
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2013, 22:53    Post subject: SLACKO vbox
Subject description: virtualbox-4.3-1.sfs: 102 M
 

virtualbox-4.3-1.sfs: 102 M
I was told that this package could be used on any Puppy since 4.3.1 :
But not true, the package is aimed to a specific version of Slacko.
I look yr progress in the matter. and i will follow your step by step.
Bonne journée.
capture5534.png
 Description   
 Filesize   8.61 KB
 Viewed   105 Time(s)

capture5534.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
KentC


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 13:05    Post subject: Re: Is your virtual drive IDE or SCSI?
Subject description: SCSI won't work
 

DanYHKim wrote:
VMware Player, at least, will try to make a SCSI virtual drive for your VM, but it does not work for Puppy. You should remove that drive and create a new one that is set up as IDE.


I just want to verify the same for VMWare Player 4.x. The SCSI option doesn't appear in Puppy 4.3.1 but IDE does.






Kent C.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0519s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]