Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 03:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620beta2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 9 [122 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
rian


Joined: 03 Oct 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 04:37    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
Can someone please tell me if I can update my present FATDOG64 500 stick?


No, everything changed with Fatdog64-600. You could try making a copy of your configuration files in /root/spot and moving them to your new installation. You'll have to click view all in Rox to show the hidden files. They might all be under /root/spot/.mozilla


Appreciate that and will see what I can haul over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rian


Joined: 03 Oct 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 04:43    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hope this will work as I never tried but,
rian wrote:
... I have FF installed and configured with extensive bookmarks from ...
There is a "SYNC" feature in Mozilla browsers (Firefox and SeaMonkey) where your changes are stored in such a way that it can be accessed from the use of the same browser on another PC. This would reduce/negate the need to transfer files. Your other user changes, though, would need the suggestion that Kirk offers

Run with it, should it help you.

Here to help


Thanks... far as FF goes I can use FEBE (addon) to export everything (bookmarks, passwords, themes, addons, the whole works), to a BU file, then install FEBE in the new iteration of FF and import that BU to get everything back in short order. It's setting up the custom desktop/theme/tweaks and TBird with all my accounts and the encryption again that's the time-sucker. Smile But hey... it's a free OS and it's totally cool, so not really complaining exactly. Very Happy (In fact I am seeing if there is a mozbackup linux version now, as that would help a lot of TBird...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2109
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 13:38    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
Any hope that FatDog could be reduced to below 180M
Fatdog ISO is currently at 220M - and 10MB of this is EFI boot support. vmlinuz + initrd is at 209M. Bringing it down to 180M is cutting down 30M (or 40M if EFI boot is included); I'm not sure whether this is achievable especially when programs like seamonkey and stuff and growing every day Sad

Quote:
Still would love to boot a Mac directly from its 200M EFI boot area. Now that you have a EFI loader working it would be so cool/useful to have my MacMini boot directly and fast into puppy.
Both refind and grub2 has support for booting from HFS+ partitions (although probably not very fast). I need to check whether I included that support in Fatdog (can be easily added if I didn't put them in). In theory you only need to put refind and its drivers in the EFI boot partition and put the rest of Fatdog in HFS+ --- you may want to read the UEFI frugal install FAQ and see if it is applicable.

Quote:
Would a SlackBones version be bootable with fatdog EFI loader?
The latest slackbone is also EFI capable as they use the same EFI bootloader and the same kernel as Fatdog (Slackbone 1.2 kernel is Fatdog 620beta1 kernel).

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 139
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 14:10    Post subject:  

Everything is working great with the nvidia-310.32-3.7.10.pet.
Thank you kirk and jamesbond, Fatdog64 is a real joy to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2109
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 14:31    Post subject:  

WillM wrote:
Everything is working great with the nvidia-310.32-3.7.10.pet.
Thank you kirk and jamesbond, Fatdog64 is a real joy to use.

Thank you for your kind words.
Comment like this always makes my day Smile

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2312
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 16:18    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info Jamesbond, slackbones would be ideal to build from since kernels & EFI are same. Had no problem booting EFI grubs version in intel Macs, just using the boot area directly.
Hope BK will jump on the hybrid dual bootable iso methods you use. I would also like to know how to re-roll iso files could you post script/command line used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 09:48    Post subject:
Subject description: Video Crashes on Compaq CQ58
 

Fatdog64 Beta 2 boots without a problem under UEFI on my Compaq CQ58. I am still getting random x server start up failures with the CQ58. I am using a save directory on an ext4 partition with raedon driver. It appears the mode switching is not happening correctly. I am starting it with the nox option now for testing. The strange thing is Fatdog 611 does not have the problem.

I thinking of trying to place Grub2 into a higher text mode than 80 by 25. Mostly this is just to see if there is any change.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 10:30    Post subject:  

Have patience with an old noob.
I know I have asked somewhere
but fail to find it now.
Suppose I buy one of the new notebooks
that sell in Sweden them are made by
Acer using their "Sister or Daughter" company
Packard Bell name. They have UEFI and MsWin8
and now when Fatdog has full UEFI support
with it's own Certificate that sound great.

But I also want to boot Slacko and Lupu
on that computer.

Does the certificate that Fatdog use allow for triple booting
on the Ms Win8 FS or does one have to make a separate partition
or are all of it frugal install?

It is Wednesday today and I plan to buy one coming Sunday
or next Friday. So would be cool to know if it works.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 11:31    Post subject:
Subject description: Fatdog64 only appears to support UEFI
 

Nooby,

At this time, it appears that only Fatdog64 supports UEFI. The kernel needs to have UEFI support added and to be digitally signed for use with shim and UEFI. I know Slacko does not have these features. Additionally, Slacko is a 32 bit architecture and not 64 bit like Fatdog. I can not speak on LUPU. My advice is to wait at least another six months and hopefully, UEFI support in the various Puppies will be available.

Additionally, the low cost laptops are a "pain" to use with Linux. They are designed and built for Window$ 8. Window$ 8 does not like sharing with any other non Micro$soft operating system. My solution on the Compaq was to completely replace the hard drive and start from scratch by eliminating Window$ 8. UEFI boot is working well (thank you very much JamesBond and Kirk). But, there are still a few "oh by the ways" due to the new hardware items (graphics and wifi).

I hope this helps.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9039
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 11:37    Post subject:  

@JustGreg: How does UEFI affect booting from CDs or USB devices? Will these devices boot automatically, or do you have to turn off UEFI in the BIOS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 11:44    Post subject:
Subject description: Radeon driver freezing at x server start
 

Upon searching the web, I found the radeon driver freezing at the x server start up is a known problem. I did find this one tip:
Code:
Intermittent Freezes/Lockups due to AGPv3 running at 8x
Try forcing X to set AGP Speed to 4x
File: /etc/X11/xorg.conf
  Option "AGPv3Mask" "0x00000002"
This goes into the "Device" section for your graphics card in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.


I do know there is no real device section in fatdog64 xorg.conf. I can add one to try to this "fix". However, I am concerned that it would cause more problems than it fixes. Any thoughts on this approach? Thanks in advance for any help.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1264

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 12:28    Post subject:  

No obvious problem with Fatdog 620 beta 2 on an Asus M2NVP-VM motherboard with dual-core Athlon II 5200+. This is my regular email machine, so I haven't done too much hard testing on it. I don't want it to fail.

Your problem here is that Fatdog 620 beta 1 is too damn stable. After I installed my archaic Sylpheed email, FireFox browser and Skype I stopped fooling with the OS because it was working fine. I moved my files from earlier versions to take advantage of the improved support for the nVidia embedded graphics with the current nouveau driver.

I've tried booting on a new machine with Asus F2A85-M Pro motherboard, which has a UEFI BIOS. At this point I'm running with secure boot off. (I've tested that machine with Windows 7 Home Premium, but do not have a permanent Windows installation. I'm avoiding Windows 8 like the plague.) If I attempt to use the non-UEFI DVD boot option on that machine I get a hang which tells me nothing. Choosing the UEFI version of the SATA DVD drive from the boot menu works.

The graphics on that board are provided by the processor, an AMD A10-5800K with Radeon HD 7660D graphics. This did screw up on initial boot, but trying again with the option for problematic Radeon graphics works. I haven't gone far enough to try custom AMD drivers, and I don't yet have a Radeon HD 7670 card to see if the dual graphics works as advertised. (Incidentally, the Radeon HD 7670 is simply an OEM version of the Radeon HD 6670. I'm waiting for prices on the ones with GDDR5 memory to drop due to increasing competition. The embedded graphics engine has 384 stream processors, while the combination of APU+HD 7670 should have 864 stream processors. At present there isn't enough difference in price compared to an HD 6770 to make dual graphics worthwhile.)

More when I have tried secure boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 12:47    Post subject:
Subject description: Fatdog64 only appears to support UEFI
 

JustGreg wrote:
Nooby,

At this time, it appears that only Fatdog64 supports UEFI.

The kernel needs to have UEFI support added and
to be digitally signed for use with shim and UEFI. ...


Much appreciated.

Duh as we say over here Smile Now when you explain it
then it makes sense. How could I fail to grasp that
easy and logical way to see it.

Maybe that answer what Rcrsn51 ask too.
The usb would not get accepted to boot
unless it had the Certification in place
but if one go into boot and shut of the secure boot
then most likely it would boot?

I only guess.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 835
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 14:15    Post subject:  

gparted only seeing 'main' hdd on my machine

I have a lenovo t61 with second hdd in caddy which it does not see, also does not see usb drives

gparted starts without drive selection screen

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9039
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 15:46    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
gparted only seeing 'main' hdd on my machine.

In the upper right corner of the Gparted screen, there is a drop-down list of the other drives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 [122 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0952s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]