Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 21:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620beta2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 13:22    Post_subject:  

I usually break everything I touch so I rather postpone
the whole thing until it is a must to buy a new computer.

I will instead buy hard disks to my old computers
until all of them break down Smile

Exception would be some ARM stick like the PQ I-Stick
that has 2GB DRAM and are already rooted so one
can install Linux on it. That could maybe sway be
to buy anything like a fully functional computer ever
so first only HD and USB Flash and boot from them on
my old computers.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4355
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 13:36    Post_subject:  

Thanks Kirk for responding.

Your smbclient doesn't show a "Master". Are you using a router or direct to internet link. Further, your smbclient should show others in the Server list as being detected should there be a Master. This would allow resource mounting by hostname vs IP-addresses. It may appear that your network has same issue with LAN registration as the several I looked at today. At present, this appears to be related to DNS/WINS registration not to mention Master-Browser election.

Edit: There actually may be a FATDOG solution to this (because of its integration of SAMBA product or via DNSMASQ).

P.S. Please add "Testparm" (SAMBA4) back into the distro packaging when you build the next interation. Thx.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 144
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 17:39    Post_subject:  

ally wrote:

Quote:
I have downloaded the libreoffice sfs from control panel but am unable to get menu entries when it's loaded?


If you delete the file in ~/.cache/menus, then restart X, lxpanel will recreate a new menu, and libreoffice entries will show up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 18:02    Post_subject:  

Quote:
If you delete the file in ~/.cache/menus, then restart X, lxpanel will recreate a new menu, and libreoffice entries will show up.


hey will

nice one, all sorted

thanks

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 144
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 13:32    Post_subject:  

Hi ally,

I reported this as a bug at LXDE on Source Forge. Not sure if I stated the case there properly.
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&aid=3608026&group_id=180858&atid=894869
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 18:03    Post_subject:  

WillM,

I wouldn't call that a Lxpanel bug. They probably never envisioned the filesystem be modified in that way. I'll try to fix that for the next release.

Edit: Fixed for next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4355
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 18:24    Post_subject:  

This may have been alluded to before:

Scenario:
Booted Live selecting LVM2 option. Tailored desktop and added a dozen PPM items to system.

At Shutdown, selected the save-session path. Selected to have it save to the multi-session DVD (it indicated 209MB) and system proceeded normally to conclusion without any error messages.

On reboot, the system shows
  • loading base sfs ... then,
  • an error message of "loading savefile from unsupported type device - ignored"
AT desktop, there is no savefile apparent on the Live media.

Ideas???

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4355
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 21:11    Post_subject: interface file for system's LAN adapter use in FATDOG  

Questions on FATDOG's LAN operations
  1. When network adapter changes need to be made for current session use, is the /etc/network/interfaces file ever updated or used?
  2. Can the interfaces file be used for any LAN adapter managment?
Thanks in advance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 144
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 21:27    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
WillM,

I wouldn't call that a Lxpanel bug. They probably never envisioned the filesystem be modified in that way. I'll try to fix that for the next release.

Edit: Fixed for next release.


Thanks kirk. Lxpanel-0.5.12 is really cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 02:47    Post_subject: Fatdog64-620beta2  

I installed Fatdog 620 beta2 on the hard drive of an older HP desktop.

video-info-glx 1.5.2 Sat 16 Mar 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.7.10 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
nee ATI RV530 [Radeon X1600]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RV530 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.11.4
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (381x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.0.3
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+
Core 0: @1800 MHz
Audio Devices
Audio Adapter CX2341[56] - IVTV-0
Audio Adapter USB-Audio - Sound Blaster X-Fi Go! Pro

I was using a usb keyboard but on first bootup after installing to the
hard drive it gave a choice of two savefiles, one a 520 savefile and
the new one but the keyboard wasn't working when I tried to enter a
number.
I plugged in a ps2 keyboard and rebooted, it worked.
Fatdog is working well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.66 KB
 Viewed   304 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 20:06    Post_subject: Fatdog64-620beta2  

I installed 620 beta2 on a 16gb SDHC card with the fatdog installer.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 16 Mar 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.7.10 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8600 GT (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nouveau
X.Org version: 1.11.4
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (381x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: nouveau
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on NV84
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.0.3
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @1603 1: @1603 2: @1603 3: @1603 MHz

It takes a long time to load from the SDHC (class 10) card but it's working
okay otherwise so far.

EDIT:The NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-310.40.run proprietary driver installed
okay:
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.4
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (373x231 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 310.40

EDIT:I did another install to a SDHC card but used the small initrd
this time, much better.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.23 KB
 Viewed   208 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2227
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 14:27    Post_subject: Re: Fatdog64-620beta2  

Thanks Billtoo.

Billtoo wrote:
I was using a usb keyboard but on first bootup after installing to the
hard drive it gave a choice of two savefiles, one a 520 savefile and
the new one but the keyboard wasn't working when I tried to enter a
number.
I plugged in a ps2 keyboard and rebooted, it worked.
Fatdog is working well so far.

This should not happen. Fatdog's kernel comes with built-in support for all know usb mouse and keyboards. What's your keyboard brand? Do you have any idea of what module is required to use that keyboard (lsmod after the system is booting probably helps).

Quote:
It takes a long time to load from the SDHC (class 10) card but it's working
okay otherwise so far.
Yes, this is a known issue, for certain BIOS-es. If you plan to use this for daily usage, I'd recommend that you run the "fatdog-split-initrd.sh" script from the command line; this will split the humongous initrd into small initrd with fatdog.sfs outside (just like standard puppies) - which should improve your boot times.

Quote:
This may have been alluded to before:

Scenario:
Booted Live selecting LVM2 option. Tailored desktop and added a dozen PPM items to system.

At Shutdown, selected the save-session path. Selected to have it save to the multi-session DVD (it indicated 209MB) and system proceeded normally to conclusion without any error messages.

On reboot, the system shows

loading base sfs ... then,
an error message of "loading savefile from unsupported type device - ignored"

AT desktop, there is no savefile apparent on the Live media.

Ideas???
I will see if I can reproduce this issue.
EDIT: On next version we will migrate from cdrkit (genisoimage and friends) to cdrtools (the real mkisofs), so things may resolve itself. My tests will be based on the cdrtools tools instead of the old cdrkit.
EDIT2: Works. I burned a fresh DVD+RW from ISO, boot it "withlvm" on a VM that has LVM partitions in it, but choose not to load any of the savefile. I create some test files, then I choose reboot from menu. I choose /dev/sr0 as my save device and tick the "save as multisession". Upon reboot, I choose "fatdog multisession", and the system boots normally, and I can see the test files I created before. So everything works normally here. Confused

Quote:
Questions on FATDOG's LAN operations

When network adapter changes need to be made for current session use, is the /etc/network/interfaces file ever updated or used?
Can the interfaces file be used for any LAN adapter managment?

Thanks in advance.
Can you please elaborate? I don't understand the question.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2227
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 15:00    Post_subject:  

mini-jaguar wrote:
I have tried this on my computer and it works great. None of the problems I had with 610/611.

One question though: I tried the VirtualBox .sfs. It doesn't work and gives some weird errors related to the VirtualBox kernel. I supposed it's meant to work only on 610(?)
Yes, the kernel is different. I don't know how the VirtualBox SFS is built, but when I install a different kernel, all I need to do (assuming I have devx loaded) is to run "/etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv setup" from command line to compile a new set of kernel modules for Virtualbox. Virtualbox should work afterwards.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 15:05    Post_subject: Re: Fatdog64-620beta2  

jamesbond wrote:

This should not happen. Fatdog's kernel comes with built-in support for all know usb mouse and keyboards. What's your keyboard brand? Do you have any idea of what module is required to use that keyboard (lsmod after the system is booting probably helps).


It's an Acer keyboard, I don't see any model number on the back of it,
just says "Acer wired keyboard made in China".
I just tried it again and got the same result, during boot it doesn't
respond when I try to enter a number for the savefile to use,plugging
in my Dell ps2 keyboard (both in a same time) worked and continued the
bootup successfully, the Acer keyboard works fine once bootup is
completed.
The Acer keyboard is a decent keyboard (when it works) but I'll just
stick with the Dell in Fatdog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2227
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 15:12    Post_subject:  

Quote:
It's an Acer keyboard, I don't see any model number on the back of it,
just says "Acer wired keyboard made in China".
I just tried it again and got the same result, during boot it doesn't
respond when I try to enter a number for the savefile to use,plugging
in my Dell ps2 keyboard (both in a same time) worked and continued the
bootup successfully, the Acer keyboard works fine once bootup is
completed.
The Acer keyboard is a decent keyboard (when it works) but I'll just
stick with the Dell in Fatdog.

That's odd. Do you mind posting "lsmod" here? As an alternative, you can boot with "coldplug" parameter, see if the acer works. If it does, then it is definitely a missing module (probably a new kernel module we haven't gotten it built-in yet).

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1005s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]