Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 21:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.5 feedback and bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 12 [176 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 15:29    Post subject:  

Micko, I'm not sure my "hang" problem starting one machine here is worth pursuing, but I want to
update you on something just in case you put effort into it. Recall I had mentioned that disconnecting
the cables from the DVD drive allowed slacko to start. But that was not the case when I tried both
PAE and 4G versions of 5.5. I can't get either to start. The message at the point of hang is:
Recognising media devices ... optical input_
where the last character is the frozen cursur. However, I've seen freezes where there was no
cursor, and also where there was no word "input" at the end.

The freezes only occur when attempting a fresh frugal. If I manage to get it started and create
a personal save file, I don't experience any more freezeups during startup.

The machine is a Dell Dimension 8200 with a p4 2.0 ghz cpu and 768 meg RAM. It does have
a USB 2.0 upgrade PCI card. I looked at the IRQ assignments in the BIOS and was tempted
to play with them, but the machine works fine and I don't want to mess it up iSmile I did pull that
USB card but that didn't affect the freeze problem. The machine though does have a problem
when I try PLOP on a boot diskestte to get a puppy frugal on a USB drive to boot. PLOP works
fine on my other desktops, so this quirk is another oddity of the Dell 8200 that I don't know
the cause of.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2646
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 17:10    Post subject:  

Here are some apps compiled on slacko 5.5

Fluxbox WM:
after install exit x then type "xwin startfluxbox"
fluxbox-1.3.5-i686-slacko55.pet

Optional:
fluxbox_STYLES-1.3.5-i686-slacko55.pet
fluxbox_DOC-1.3.5-i686-slacko55.pet


Ncurses IRC client
weechat-0.4.0-i686-slacko55.pet

Optional:
weechat_DEV-0.4.0-i686-slacko55.pet

Multiprotocol chat client:
pidgin-2.10.7-i686-slacko55.pet

Optional:
pidgin_NLS-2.10.7-i686-slacko55.pet
pidgin_DOC-2.10.7-i686-slacko55.pet
pidgin_DEV-2.10.7-i686-slacko55.pet

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Doglover

Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 22:16    Post subject:  

I am having trouble with connecting wirelessly with my rt2500 card, it works flawlessly in dpup.

rt2500 did not work with the previous slacko either.

I use Dougal's. Cannot figure it out. Tried Frisbee and the
Simple Network Setup and no luck at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 10:36    Post subject:  

Doglover, have you tried this workaround?

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84266
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4127
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 14:02    Post subject:  

Hi _SWE and welcome to Puppyland

The PAE version has a newer kernel than the 4G version.You may find that one version may have better results in working with your hardware than the other, especially in an Out of the box (OOTB) boot.

Please ID which distro you are using so that community can replicate and assist.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 18:37    Post subject: Missing Font Types  

I have found four missing font types in Slacko compared to Precise. The problem is the file “local.conf” in /etc/fonts. Replacing it with the one from Precise fixes this. Barry has most of that file remarked out.

I also dropped back to JWM 590 because of incompatibility with the tray icon for VLC media player. May have something to do with running xcompmgr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 19:31    Post subject:  Slacko 5.5 PAE version  

Working great on my hardware.

Thanks, Very Happy
Jim
PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-130308.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-130308.gz 
Filesize  63.14 KB 
Downloaded  247 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
loubapache


Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 54
Location: Western Michigan

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 00:09    Post subject:  

Slack 5.5 4G

Tried on two different computers and wireless does not work on either.

Computer 1: Dell 11z with Broadcom wireless adapter. It can never connect so I blacklisted the one recognized by slacko and used a windows driver via ndiswrapper. That worked. However, after each shutdown/reboot with lightly encrypted save file, everything is lost and I had to re-connect. Tried the link posted by "artsown" and it did not make a difference.

Computer 2: This one has a RTL8192cu wireless adapter. Again slacko recognized it but can never connect. After blacklist the default driver and install a windows driver using ndiswrapper, it connected. However, after shutdown/reboot, it will not be automatically connected.

Downloaded pcmanfm from the repo. Several missing library files.

Other than that, things seem to work.

Thanks,

Last edited by loubapache on Sat 09 Mar 2013, 14:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 760
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 04:25    Post subject:  

Slacko Puppy version 5.5, released Mar 2013
# uname -a
Linux puppypc32595 3.2.33-4g #1 SMP Fri Nov 2 20:42:54 EST 2012 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1804992 519916 1285076 0 26380
-/+ buffers: 493536 1311456
Swap:
# top
Mem: 533024K used, 1271968K free, 0K shrd, 28952K buff, 350504K cached
CPU: 4% usr 1% sys 0% nic 93% idle 0% io 0% irq 0% sirq
Load average: 0.08 0.16 0.21 2/113 6697

Uptime = 3 days and running perfect throughout - suspend / resume, wifi, browser, the lot - Luvly Puppy. Many thanks.
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  not a gz. rename to html.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  52.64 KB 
Downloaded  231 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_SWE

Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 16:53    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hi _SWE and welcome to Puppyland

The PAE version has a newer kernel than the 4G version.You may find that one version may have better results in working with your hardware than the other, especially in an Out of the box (OOTB) boot.

Please ID which distro you are using so that community can replicate and assist.


Hi! Sorry for the delay,
Yes, of course, I forgot that info.
The slacko 5.5"-4g" was the CD boot in IBM NetVista with problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8931
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 17:01    Post subject:  

@_SWE: On Page 2, you were given some suggestions. What is your update on them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_SWE

Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 17:03    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
These Brookdale graphics chips are a problem. When your CD boots up, there is an initial 5-second pause. Type
Code:
puppy i915.modeset=0

Does that help? Mick will know better than me how to fix this.


No, sorry it did not (Slacko 55-4g)

Yes I DID get finally get in to the X and JWM , Also surfed the net, etc, The trick was to change the default bios settings, from 1MB to 8MB Memory.


BUT.. it will now "crash"after a language setting (..!)
It was not possible to log in here. Note: dont use letter "Å" in the passwd if you move on to an IBM Net Vista Smile It was just a black screen after trying that and the restart of X , after the language-keyboard and clock settings, firewall on.

CTRL+ALT+Backspace will take me back to terminal, Then "xwin" again = a black window again. -Hmm, is this working or not? So I did try to make a screenshot in the "blackness" there, And yes, it did beep. So I guess I am therefore in the X/Jwm ? It is just very...black. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_SWE

Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 17:06    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hi _SWE and welcome to Puppyland

The PAE version has a newer kernel than the 4G version.You may find that one version may have better results in working with your hardware than the other,



Ok, I can try re-burn the CDRW with the PAE-kernel later, to see if anything changes.


I did give up after 1-2 day (and the boot options did not change the situation, but the bios video-memory away from default settings did) So, after all the different ways to fail, I found a AGP ATI(?) 9200 card, That actually did work, but I got some other kind of new errors in Puppy 5.5-4G, for example Pidgin did not install(maybe i dont understand it. But I have installed pidgin in 5.4 at another computer and it works in that one), and some webpages,for example roundcube webmail did not show up as they should do, blank white screen after login. and so on.. I think this is strange errors, maybe I need memtest?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_SWE

Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 17:16    Post subject:  

All versions and puppys I tried so far have been non-PAE,

The reason for that is pentium-M ! The laptops we have dont have that PAE-flag in processor, I think it is still without PAE in the HP/qompac n620c for example, I can investigate this further maybe, but my guess is that all Pentium M 1.4-1.6MHz from year 2003-2005 Does not have a PAE-flag. http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/11580_div/11580_div.HTML <-- That one is one of more professional series laptops I have. Very nice and (was) about 3 000 usd.. Not tested any Puppy on it yet. Regarding the error in IBM NetVista desktop tower, yes, that should be a P4 and should also have the PAE flag, I will remove the extra power-hungry AGP-card and test the other ISO when I have the time.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4127
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 17:19    Post subject:  

_SWE wrote:
All versions and puppys I tried so far have been non-PAE,

The reason for that is pentium-M ! The laptops we have dont have that PAE-flag in processor, I think it is still without PAE in the HP/qompac n620c for example, I can investigate this further maybe, but my guess is that all Pentium M 1.4-1.6MHz from year 2003-2005 Does not have a PAE-flag. http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/11580_div/11580_div.HTML <-- That one is one of more professional series laptops I have. Very nice and (was) about 3 000 usd.. Not tested any Puppy on it yet. Regarding the error in IBM NetVista desktop tower, yes, that should be a P4 and should also have the PAE flag, I will remove the extra power-hungry AGP-card and test the other ISO when I have the time.

.
AGREED! I don't think the kernel in PAE will offer a solution to your dilemma on that "M" processor.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 12 [176 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1015s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]