Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 17:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10514
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 03:08    Post subject:  

Thanks I downloaded the iso and made a dir alpha
and then clicked on the iso and placed the files in the dir
and then wrote a typical puppy boot and rebooted and it worked
but it did not sense my screen and defaulted to 640x480 something
don't remember and I failed to know how to tell it to go to 1366x786
or whatever I have.

Apart from that it seems to work.

Don't get me wrong now. I can see the fun in having one's own distro
but how is it better or different from all the others. I mean why or what
is it that makes it better or more convenient or more practical or ...

I can feel the fun of having accomplish it. I would want to do it too
but in what way is it useful so I would abandon slacko and go over ?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4752
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 03:41    Post subject: asus x101ch and AMD E350  

Am interested to boot asus x101ch (Intel N2600 with NM10 chipset) with this, and it booted and had drivers for eth0 and wlan0. However, the display is too dim and I can't use the function keys to adjust the brightness. Display must be only 640x480. Am used to trying xorgwizard, but it does not respond to CTRL-ALT-BKSPC.

In the AMD E350 laptop, there is no wlan0 driver (for Broadcom) and the display is only 1024x768 (that is fine with me).

Am glad the sfs loader is there so that I can use small freeoffice sfs.

Missing some features of Puppy, like the GUI hardinfo, but hey, if this little build can handle my little X101CH, including hibernation, then it's heaven. Smile

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 06:39    Post subject:  

With this example I will try to explain how to compile program from source code, install it, remove, get information about
installed package, convert it to sfs module with help of spkg package manager.

I'm using program called Uget (http://uget.visuex.com/) as example, so you will not only learn to use this package manager but
will also have nice download manager afterwards.

First you need to make def script - a file that is needed for building any package. You can write that file yourself, or much easier
automatically convert PKGBUILD script from Arch. I will leave this 2nd option for some later time, now you can just use bellow code, select all text save it as file named def and put that file in folder /mnt/home/data/spkg/def-scripts/uget

Code:
name="uget"
version="1.10.3"
revision="1"
category="network"
description="GTK+ download manager featuring download classification and HTML import"
source="http://downloads.sourceforge.net/urlget/$name-$version.tar.gz"
homepage="http://urlget.sourceforge.net/"
maintainer="simargl <archpup@gmail.com>"
depends="gtk3 curl hicolor-icon-theme xdg-utils"
makedepends="intltool"

compile() {
  cd $name-$version
  ./configure \
    --prefix=/usr \
    --sysconfdir=/etc \
    --localstatedir=/var \
    --disable-appindicator \
    --disable-notify \
    --disable-gstreamer
  make
}

package() {
  make DESTDIR=$destdir install
}

pinstall() {
  gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor
}

premove() {
  gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor
}




Load devel sfs module and after that type:
spkg -ci uget (for compile and install)

To get information about installed package, or search for file named uget:
spkg info uget
spkg file uget

To remove installed package type:
spkg -r uget

To make sfs module that will contain this package, change to directory /mnt/home/data/spkg/packages, and type:
spkg makesfs or
spkg makesfsx (for using xz compression)

Note: icon cache needs to be updated after installing/removing, that is the reason for pinstall/premove functions...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 08:39    Post subject:  

nooby & raffy: What are yours graphic cards, with that small resolution it's probably using just that basic vesa driver. Installing xorg graphic driver is one of the simplest things, you only need to know card's name (use lspci) and I will help.

nooby wrote:
I can feel the fun of having accomplish it. I would want to do it too
but in what way is it useful so I would abandon slacko and go over ?

I never used slacko, only lucid once for a short time so can't tell. It's more fun definitely! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 14:10    Post subject:  

New functions were added to spkg package manager... (click to enlarge)


Packages mirror is here http://code.google.com/p/alphaos/downloads/list
spkg -di is function for download and install package (it must be full package name and it doesn't handle dependencies Rolling Eyes )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4752
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 17:12    Post subject: Intel N10 chip  

simargl wrote:
nooby & raffy: What are yours graphic cards


VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Cedarview Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 18:06    Post subject: Re: Intel N10 chip  

raffy wrote:
simargl wrote:
nooby & raffy: What are yours graphic cards


VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Cedarview Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)

I see you mentioned this in your first post also, Embarassed . Intel driver is already included, so I don't know it should work, at least for me it works.

If you want to log out to console replace X_AUTOLOGIN="yes" to X_AUTOLOGIN="no" in /etc/rc.conf, then log out and make xorg.conf file with X -configure. There you can set resolution.

Actually first try with lxrandr to see what is supported.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 03:41    Post subject:  

There are aspects of this distro 'alpahos' that make it better than ArchPup. It's free'er (or however it's spelled). i installed pacman in it...and am using it very much so as if it's ArchPup.

Trying to decide if i want to continue piecing together, and updating the adrives for ArchPup...or shift the attention to this new 'and improved to be honest with you' AlphaOS.

Great Job so far sim, i'm diggin it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 04:22    Post subject:  

Hi stifiling, alphaOS is on distrowatch waiting list Very Happy
http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=submit

Only two days after first ever release!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 06:51    Post subject:  

New functions in package manager: repo-add, repo-remove, repo-list for working with pkgs.list database.

spkg -cc
Clean the entire package cache

spkg -dp name
Only download package but do not install it

Here is another def script example. As you see it can use multiple sources for making single package Idea
Code:
name="sdl_extra"
version="1.2.15"
revision="1"
category="development"
description="SDL gfx, image, mixer, net, pango, sound and ttf bindings"
source="http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/s/sdlgfx/sdlgfx_2.0.23.orig.tar.gz
http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/s/sdl-image1.2/sdl-image1.2_1.2.12.orig.tar.gz
http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/s/sdl-mixer1.2/sdl-mixer1.2_1.2.12.orig.tar.gz
http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/s/sdl-net1.2/sdl-net1.2_1.2.8.orig.tar.gz
http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/s/sdlpango/sdlpango_0.1.2.orig.tar.gz
http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/s/sdl-sound1.2/sdl-sound1.2_1.0.3.orig.tar.gz
http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/s/sdl-ttf2.0/sdl-ttf2.0_2.0.11.orig.tar.gz"
homepage="http://www.libsdl.org"
maintainer="simargl <archpup@gmail.com>"
depends="sdl libpng libjpeg libtiff zlib libvorbis libmikmod pango freetype2"
makedepends=""

compile() {
  for i in SDL_Pango-0.1.2 SDL_gfx-2.0.23 SDL_image-1.2.12 SDL_mixer-1.2.12 SDL_net-1.2.8 SDL_sound-1.0.3 SDL_ttf-2.0.11; do
    cd $build/$i
    ./configure \
      --prefix=/usr \
      --disable-static
    make || exit
  done
}

package() {
  for i in SDL_Pango-0.1.2 SDL_gfx-2.0.23 SDL_image-1.2.12 SDL_mixer-1.2.12 SDL_net-1.2.8 SDL_sound-1.0.3 SDL_ttf-2.0.11; do
    cd $build/$i
    make DESTDIR=$destdir install
  done
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 08:43    Post subject:  

To do list:
- add support for installing more than one package at once
- work with just spkg -di uget not full package name
- handle dependencies
- recompile whole toolchain with new distro name (after that lock it forever)
- recompile Xorg packages group, with before missed glu package
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john3voltas

Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 12:59    Post subject:  

Great work with alpha.
It is looking good.
Will give it a try during the weekend.
Only package installer is spkg? No pacman or apt or yum, etc?

EDIT: BTW, you chose udev for both your puplets. Is there a problem with your puplets and systemd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 18:34    Post subject:  

john3voltas wrote:
Great work with alpha.
It is looking good.
Will give it a try during the weekend.
Only package installer is spkg? No pacman or apt or yum, etc?

EDIT: BTW, you chose udev for both your puplets. Is there a problem with your puplets and systemd?


Hello john3voltas, thanks for your comment Razz
I tried various things with udev in Archpup and only version that worked perfectly for me was 175. Beside that my tests were with udev-182, udev fork by Gentoo team, udev extracted from systemd 197 package from Arch and all three had the same problem: sound and internet did not work with them (only way to connect was manual loading needed kernel module), but Xorg worked at my surprise. Udev is low-level system, so I would rather not experiment too much with it, especially because it currently works without problem. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 13:32    Post subject:  

This is upgraded spkg package manager version 0.9.8.1 (attachment removed)
It has all features I planned to add, so here it is you can test it.

Extract this archive, and run installation script with
sh install

Then type
spkg update

See all available package on mirror with
spkg list

Install what you want
spkg -gi pkgname1 pkgname2....

Deadbeef audio player that couldn't compile in Archpup, here is compiled and working fine. It uses gtk3 btw.

Last edited by simargl on Fri 22 Mar 2013, 11:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 04:25    Post subject:  

Frisbee for me is working perfectly from a quick couple reboot tests. It's blinky icon in the notification area is blinking, and everything else. It's the same files I used in the light-xfce adrv for ArchPup. for some reason though, it had minor issues in ArchPup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0821s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]