alphaOS [closed]

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
meowcats
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 04:59

#271 Post by meowcats »

simargl wrote:Can you confirm that this is the missing firmware https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/carl9170-fw/, in that case I will add it for next version size is 12KB

For radeon xorg driver you can check /var/log/Xorg.log and see what's used there.
Yes that is the correct firmware for AR9170 devices, like my DWA160.
I have attached my xorg.log
Attachments
Xorg.0.log.tar.gz
(15.16 KiB) Downloaded 208 times

meowcats
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 04:59

#272 Post by meowcats »

It appears that adding "radeon" to the modules makes it correctly load.
Why is this the default behavior as opposed to other puppy derivatives where radeon is automatically loaded?

Arefacti
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 12:43

newbie question ?

#273 Post by Arefacti »

Hello,
thanks for those news programs.

sorry for this question :
when I start qwinff I have an error message :

Code: Select all

ffprobe not found. The application will quit now.
surely very simple, but perhaps you'll help me just a little ?

Thanks

simargl

Re: newbie question ?

#274 Post by simargl »

Arefacti wrote:Hello,
thanks for those news programs.

sorry for this question :
when I start qwinff I have an error message :

Code: Select all

ffprobe not found. The application will quit now.
surely very simple, but perhaps you'll help me just a little ?

Thanks
It will work in next version, new compiled ffmpeg package now has that binary. Did you try YaRock, that is really great program: audio, radio player and media library all in under 1 Mb package :D
meowcats wrote:Yes that is the correct firmware for AR9170 devices, like my DWA160.
I have attached my xorg.log
Firmware is added, for radeon module why is not loading sincerely I have no idea .. :) :o

meowcats
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 04:59

#275 Post by meowcats »

How can I add [extra] repository to spkg search? many useful programs like octave and maxima in that repo!

User avatar
ndrancs
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 06:48

creating packages

#276 Post by ndrancs »

meowcats wrote:How can I add [extra] repository to spkg search? many useful programs like octave and maxima in that repo!
please read it: http://alphaos.freeforums.org/creating-packages-f4.html

meowcats
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 04:59

Re: creating packages

#277 Post by meowcats »

ndrancs wrote:
meowcats wrote:How can I add [extra] repository to spkg search? many useful programs like octave and maxima in that repo!
please read it: http://alphaos.freeforums.org/creating-packages-f4.html
so spkg will not grab from arch repository, and only if it is in aur? i have to compile all dependencies :( ?

User avatar
ndrancs
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 06:48

Re: creating packages

#278 Post by ndrancs »

meowcats wrote:so spkg will not grab from arch repository, and only if it is in aur? i have to compile all dependencies :( ?
You can use paka. useful for downloading package from arch repo. and to convert to spkg package.

but you also have to convert all depence for packages that you convert.

please read here. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 060#694060

simargl

#279 Post by simargl »

Sauerbraten build script
Cube 2: Sauerbraten is a free multiplayer & singleplayer first person shooter, the successor of the Cube FPS. [/size]

Sauerbraten package is 550MB so it's too big for upload, but if you want to test it you can make package using build scripts from attachment bellow:

1) extract archive and copy two folders sauerbraten and sauerbraten-data to /mnt/home/data/spkg/def-scripts

2) type:
spkg -c sauerbraten
spkg -c sauerbraten-data

3) now you should have 2 packages in /mnt/home/data/spkg/packages; change to that folder, open terminal and type:
spkg makesfs

4) load new sfs-module, and install sdl_extra package from repository

Sauerbraten Trailer
http://youtu.be/fX7o-1OH-WM
Attachments
sauerbraten.tar.gz
(559 Bytes) Downloaded 190 times

simargl

#280 Post by simargl »

Wine 1.5.28 added to the repository
http://www.winehq.org/

April 12, 2013

The Wine development release 1.5.28 is now available.

What's new in this release:

GnuTLS used for all secure connections, OpenSSL is no longer needed.
Mac driver enabled by default.
Built-in FixedSys fonts.
New icon for the joystick control panel.
Postscript driver improvements.
Various bug fixes.
Last edited by simargl on Sun 01 Sep 2013, 15:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mobeus
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu 26 Aug 2010, 15:49

#281 Post by Mobeus »

Hello from AlphaOS4! :D :D :D :D

MODULES="radeon" in /etc/rc.conf did the trick.

Regards,
Mobeus
/root for the home team

simargl

#282 Post by simargl »

That is great Mobeus :) , it's working that is good news but why radeon does not auto load still remains unsolved.

User avatar
Smithy
Posts: 1151
Joined: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 11:17

#283 Post by Smithy »

If anyone gets time to assimilate these into the repository, I will give alphaOS a good throughput audio test.


http://qjackctl.sourceforge.net/

http://sourceforge.net/projects/wineasio/

http://sourceforge.net/projects/qjackctl/files/

User avatar
ndrancs
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 06:48

Nvidia mouse and keyboard issue solved.

#284 Post by ndrancs »

anyone who has a vga card nvidia. may experience that the mouse and keyboard does not function after compile / install nvidia drivers.

I have read on some forums and here's the solution.
replace the "driver" "kbd" and "driver" "mouse" to "driver" "evdev."

This method can be applied to alphaos4. and for legacy or the latest nvidia card.

I hope this helps.

Code: Select all

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 313.30  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-01)  Wed Mar 27 17:33:29 PDT 2013

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "evdev"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/event1"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "evdev"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/event0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Image

mike delaw
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 09:45

#285 Post by mike delaw »

simargl wrote:
Watch YouTube videos in a new way: you type a keyword, Minitube gives you an endless video stream. Minitube is not about cloning the YouTube website, it aims to create a new TV-like experience.
Alternative to Minitube:
http://gtk-apps.org/content/show.php?content=138588
http://www.linuxandlife.com/2012/04/gme ... e-for.html

Arefacti
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 12:43

help

#286 Post by Arefacti »

mike delaw wrote:
simargl wrote:
Watch YouTube videos in a new way: you type a keyword, Minitube gives you an endless video stream. Minitube is not about cloning the YouTube website, it aims to create a new TV-like experience.
Alternative to Minitube:
http://gtk-apps.org/content/show.php?content=138588
http://www.linuxandlife.com/2012/04/gme ... e-for.html
Hello,
seems to me great !
but, unfortunately I don't know how I could install it (gmediafinder seems better).
could you help me please ?

simargl

#287 Post by simargl »

Currently there is 81 package in repository http://code.google.com/p/alphaos/downloads/list, so spkg_gui starts really fast but I wanted to examine what would happen in case this repository is much bigger. More precisely if there is 5900 packages - this number is not chosen randomly but is equal to current number of packages in Arch Linux repository. Test results are bellow. Mentioned pkgs.list.db is file that has data about all available packages, when you press update button background script actually download and extract that file, and use it for making list of packages (name, version, description).

===================================
81 packages in repository (pkgs.list.db 12.9 KB)

[root@alphaos ~]# time spkg_gui
real 0m1.147s
user 0m0.490s
sys 0m0.037s

[root@alphaos ~]# time spkg_gui
real 0m1.138s
user 0m0.510s
sys 0m0.040s

[root@alphaos ~]# time spkg_gui
real 0m1.198s
user 0m0.480s
sys 0m0.060s

===================================

===================================
5900 packages in repository (pkgs.list.db 84.8 KB)

[root@alphaos ~]# time spkg_gui
real 0m6.382s
user 0m5.290s
sys 0m1.010s

[root@alphaos ~]# time spkg_gui
real 0m5.408s
user 0m5.077s
sys 0m0.293s

[root@alphaos ~]# time spkg_gui
real 0m4.900s
user 0m4.560s
sys 0m0.263s
===================================

ethan42411
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 30 Mar 2013, 09:40

#288 Post by ethan42411 »

Sorry,how to system automount drives on utf8?

thanks

Pelo

Root password in Puppy's house ?

#289 Post by Pelo »

Root password in Puppy's house ? you are afraid thar your children play the wonderful eighties games or surf on adults sites ?
Oh that distro will be used in factories with at least thousands of people using it on their office desk, computing with Libre office suite, managing their warehouse with.... with.... ?
Managing the staff with, with .... ?
And to issue salaries sheets with ?

I agree, a password is really necessary, But use other LINUX !

Sir, I am beside you, here you work without root. Everybody is root !

Pelo

Alpha OS4 : i am trying it to-day !

#290 Post by Pelo »

Alpha OS4 : i am trying it to-day ! I am sure that this distro is going to be very practical. Outside the old grouchy of the old Linux!

Post Reply