Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 06:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 27 of 47 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 04:47    Post_subject:  

Quote:
1. Yarock: Apparently the new exploit of having Simple Radio display song title (I found this worked only with 2 radio stations - and that too not continuously updated. For this one needs to select the radio station again manually to see the song title currently playing) results in the Radio Browser button not being displayed.

I will try to fix notifications on simple-radio to work continuously, not just on radio startup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 11:34    Post_subject:  

Hi simargl,
Thanks for version 6 of alphaOS Very Happy
This time around, I booted from a usb stick on a HP mini 5103 and I'm happy to report it booted to the desktop without any hitch. However, I noticed a few issues.
1. ppet is no more available hence unable to install my printer using rcrsn51's packages. Sad
2. I'm unable to connect wirelessly on this mini HP. Apparently, broadcom-sta module needs to be loaded or compiled.
3. An iso file doesn't mount when clicked on.
Thanks as always.
Cheers.

_________________
Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final!
(Used with kind permission from jejy69)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Familyman

Joined: 15 Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Location: New Delhi

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 13:33    Post_subject: AlphaOS ver 6.0: Stream Web TV with Gnome Mplayer/Smplayer  

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Familyman

Joined: 15 Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Location: New Delhi

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 13:42    Post_subject: Alpha OS - Stream Web TV with Smplayer/Mplayer  

Dear simargl,


I have installed Smplayer and Minitube from the repository.

But was stumped with trying to play Web TV streams in Gnome Mplayer.

Looking up ideas to make this work, I spotted the below discussion:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80021

Is it possible to have an .sfs for this streaming video facility in alphaOS?


Thanks!


~Familyman~
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 17:01    Post_subject:  

Looks like ffmpeg needs recompiling with rtmpdump https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/i686/rtmpdump/. Will do for next version, in meantime use mms or http streams - they work already.

I was stuck with getting permanent notification monitor in simple-radio, and started separate thread for that http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=703707#703707

smil99 wrote:
1. ppet is no more available hence unable to install my printer using rcrsn51's packages. Sad
2. I'm unable to connect wirelessly on this mini HP. Apparently, broadcom-sta module needs to be loaded or compiled.
3. An iso file doesn't mount when clicked on.

- ppet was never included, and will never be, but you can extract any pet package with simple bsdtar -xf name.pet and copy those files manually
- mounting iso is not something done very often, usually I just open terminal and type: mkdir 1; mount *iso 1

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 17:09    Post_subject:  

smil99 wrote:
ppet is no more available hence unable to install my printer using rcrsn51's packages.

Ppet is part of the printer package. You would need to install this package every time to get all the printing components.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 338
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 19:21    Post_subject: alphaOS 6.0  

smil99 wrote:

1. ppet is no more available hence unable to install my printer using rcrsn51's packages. Sad
2. I'm unable to connect wirelessly on this mini HP. Apparently, broadcom-sta module needs to be loaded or compiled.
3. An iso file doesn't mount when clicked on.


I've wrestled with how to best keep up with the new versions and not have to reinstall acpid, pm-utils, governor, cups, ppet, pacman, my tint2 and conky scripts, the synaptics.conf file, etc. My bonehead solution is just a folder on my ext2 work partition into which I copy programs config files, and scripts as I install or modify them. Has the same directory structure as a pet and could be petted but when needed, I just copy it directly into a mounted newest sfs or save file I'm working on. Sounds rude but works AND I can see just what I'm doing.

I mount sfs and iso files a lot and (lazily) use the rightclicks from http://alphaos.freeforums.org/spacefm-for-thunar-junkies-t58.html to do so. With a little attention to the 'style' setting they all appear nicely only when needed. I'm also using the sfs extract and compress ones and the paste to directory one regularly.

Posting happily from 6.0 and....... for the first time for me ever, CUPS FOUND my networked HP4500 with no intervention or socketing required! Thanks again rcrsn51 Very Happy

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 01:36    Post_subject:  

I plan to move forum and add wiki in new site http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/; that way we'll avoid forum adds, and have nice wiki pages; move will probably take a while, it's just started and I don't know what I'm doing Surprised

http://alphaos.freeforums.org will become read-only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 05:55    Post_subject:  

New forum http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/index.php
Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 04:14    Post_subject:  

homepage: http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/
forum: http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/index.php
wiki: http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/wiki/doku.php

Wiki software is called DokuWiki, forum is phpBB3 and off course big thanks to
www.tuxfamily.org for hosting space. Now we have release files: iso and sfs on
sourceforge.net (unlimited space AFAIK), package repository on google code (4 GB),
wiki and forum on tuxfamily.org (100 MB) - all free, reliable and not time fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 461

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 06:34    Post_subject:  

simargl wrote:
I plan to move forum ...
it's just started and I don't know what I'm doing

You'll be remembered as a dude, who didn't know what he's doing Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 07:40    Post_subject:  

After this move next step is back to beginning - switch to Arch base, use pacman, remove firefox and majority of graphical apps, and just use f* computer not waste time on compiling, polishing, fixing etc. This has been valuable experience, but simply it is just too much work for just me and finally important part is that it became boring, so we're gonna just let Arch developers compile packages Twisted Evil and use them in this Puppy/or not Puppy system. System settings will stay the same, they are in separate package; DISTRO_SPECS also with ADRVSFS and BDRVSFS. Anyway, point is that this move should not be too hard, after all it's been done already with ArchPup. Feel free to comment, add suggestion (may I remind you about the logo, any ideas (svg please) cause I'm clueless).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pinguino

Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 08:12    Post_subject:    

hi simargl, I agree with your decision to focus on pacman, sfs scripts, that really made a difference in puppy projects.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 10:38    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
Ppet is part of the printer package
Thanks mate.
simargl wrote:
Quote:
ppet was never included, and will never be ...
That sounds interesting as I think ppet makes it possible for easy printer installations via rcrsn51"s packages in alphaOS and that is indispensable for many here Smile .

Marv wrote:
Quote:
... I mount sfs and iso files a lot and (lazily) use the rightclicks from http://alphaos.freeforums.org/spacefm-for-thunar-junkies-t58.html to do so. ...
.
Thanks for the pointer. Will check on it right away.

Cheers.

_________________
Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final!
(Used with kind permission from jejy69)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 303

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 11:29    Post_subject:    

simargl wrote:
After this move next step is back to beginning - switch to Arch base, use pacman, remove firefox and majority of graphical apps, and just use f* computer not waste time on compiling, polishing, fixing etc. This has been valuable experience, but simply it is just too much work for just me and finally important part is that it became boring, so we're gonna just let Arch developers compile packages Twisted Evil and use them in this Puppy/or not Puppy system. System settings will stay the same, they are in separate package; DISTRO_SPECS also with ADRVSFS and BDRVSFS. Anyway, point is that this move should not be too hard, after all it's been done already with ArchPup. Feel free to comment, add suggestion (may I remind you about the logo, any ideas (svg please) cause I'm clueless).


Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Yipeeee !!!!!!!!!

Shocked ArchPup is back Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 47 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1118s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0173s) ][ GZIP on ]