alphaOS [closed]

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
smil99
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat 18 Aug 2007, 22:12

#526 Post by smil99 »

Most of the Pwireless problems can be resolved when one uses Frisbee instead. I pulled out all of Frisbee's files from Barry's raring-3.8.4.2 and made a pet which I installed in alphaOS V7 with ppet. Of course, the files can be copied over manually to their respective folders in alphaOS if one doesn't have ppet. Now, I am able to connect wirelessly or wired using Frisbee without the need to restart it after every reboot.

Below are Frisbee files locations found in /root/.packages/builtin_files/frisbee of raring-3.8.4.2:

Code: Select all

/etc
/etc/frisbee
 dhcpcd.conf
/etc/frisbee/iface
/etc/init.d
 frisbee
/lib
/lib/dhcpcd
/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-hooks
 99-down
 99-ifup
 99-release
 99-timeout
 99-up
/root
/root/Startup
 network_tray_modeset
/usr
/usr/local
/usr/local/bin
 frisbee
 frisbee_mode_disable
 frisbee_mode_enable
/usr/local/frisbee
 connect
 disconnect
 func
 hook_notify
However, I haven't tried that in alphaOS V8 as I am not sure as to how simargl's decision of removing /usr/local among others in V8 would affect frisbee's installation.

Hope this helps.
Cheers.
[b][color=green]Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final![/color][/b]
[size=75][i](Used with kind permission from jejy69)[/i][/size]

yr1945
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat 17 Apr 2010, 18:38

#527 Post by yr1945 »

simargl... yes, i can connect with pwireless... to get all available networks in your area, you have to click "roam"... then click "refresh"... then, log onto your respective wireless network... to get your IP to show, you have to click "roam & refresh" again... (Note: these buttoms are at the bottom of the pwireless screen)

sometimes, you have to repeat the above steps a couple of times... but, it always works.

PS:
you must not like the "suspend/sleep" option? lol

my wife just purchased a wireless printer... now, she jokes about having to print documents for me... she uses ubuntu 12.04...

simargl

#528 Post by simargl »

Here is attempt of a Simple Radio remake in Vala programming language. I don't know is this useful for anyone, but I will upload source so you can take a look and improve code if you want to.

To compile:
install vala
pacman -S vala

extract archive and type:
valac --pkg gtk+-3.0 simple-radio.vala
./simple-radio
Attachments
simple-radio.vala.tar.gz
(1.14 KiB) Downloaded 275 times
alphaos-20130701160616.png
(26.01 KiB) Downloaded 1126 times

tony
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat 14 Jan 2006, 10:52
Location: Montreal.ca

"I am just going outside and may be some time."

#529 Post by tony »

My wish list for Arch OS9 :-

1 A pop up window with configuration options on first boot.

2 Numbers lock off on first boot.

3 SFS files pre-loaded if present.

4 Clearly defined SFS files for compillation.

5 More Wi-fi drivers.

6 Ability to blacklist drivers in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.com

7 No more resetting of system clock.

Regards Tony.

simargl

#530 Post by simargl »

Here is new Simple Radio player and it is now made in vala as one interesting experiment, some kind of expanded 'Hello World' Sample. I think it's easier to change stations this way, so this will be our new default.
Image
Image
What is good about it? It works and looks same as Radio Tray http://radiotray.sourceforge.net/, but without python, pygtk,... gstreamer etc. dependencies (their compressed size is more than 25MB). One problem - you cannot add new stations without editing simple-radio.vala and recompiling..

I will attach compiled program (source code is on my bitbucket account).
Attachments
simple-radio-1.1.tar.gz
(15.71 KiB) Downloaded 240 times

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#531 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote:Here is new Simple Radio player and it is now made in vala as one interesting experiment, some kind of expanded 'Hello World' Sample.
So vala is a programming-language that compiles to c-code and then uses gcc?

What are the advantages over c++ from your point of view?

simargl

#532 Post by simargl »

Scooby wrote:So vala is a programming-language that compiles to c-code and then uses gcc?

What are the advantages over c++ from your point of view?
Scooby, that may be too hard question for me - I can only try to explain from a not programmer point of view. I think C is lowest level programming language and because of that programs written in C are faster, but since C is very hard to learn, there are written some higher level languages like vala that are easier to learn but during compilation they convert code to C, so you don't lose on program's speed.

C++ programs that use Gtk are very rare, there is gparted and few more. I know for gparted because it needs gtkmm, glibmm... dependencies, and to save space I removed it from the iso. It's easy installable with pacman.

simargl

#533 Post by simargl »

Wiki page - Guide for making alphaos system from scratch
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/wiki/doku. ... rial:build

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#534 Post by Scooby »

Thanks for your reply concerning vala


I liked your guide for building AlphaOS although I hope it doesnt mean your leavin?

simargl

#535 Post by simargl »

Scooby wrote:Thanks for your reply concerning vala


I liked your guide for building AlphaOS although I hope it doesnt mean your leavin?
No, I will not leave it, but this OS is already functioning very well for me, so work has slowed down lately. There won't be many changes for next versions, only newer Arch packages and kernel 3.10 i guess.

simargl

#536 Post by simargl »

Simple launcher application if you want to play with vala and test code compiling (also posting on the forum is good way to backup script...). You see that vala script has 80 lines of code, while converted to C it grows to 360.

Compile vala source directly

Code: Select all

valac --pkg gtk+-3.0 launcher.vala
OR
1. Convert vala to C

Code: Select all

valac --pkg gtk+-3.0 launcher.vala -C
2. Compile C code

Code: Select all

gcc $(pkg-config --libs --cflags gtk+-3.0) launcher.c -o clauncher
Attachments
alphaos-20130706120330.png
(33.71 KiB) Downloaded 729 times
launcher.vala.gz
(768 Bytes) Downloaded 236 times

simargl

#537 Post by simargl »

Older releases of alphaOS and ArchPup available on http://archive.org. Thanks to ally for uploading...

http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_alphaOS
http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_Archpup

Edit:
There is a mistake in this page http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_EliteOS
Keywords: Puppy Linux; EliteOS; Arch; simargl

I don't know is this based on Arch, but this line is deffinetely not correct
http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_EliteOS wrote:An early incarnation from simargl, based on arch packages and latterly followed by alphaOS
ArchPup was before alphaOS, and nothing else..

User avatar
ally
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:29
Location: lincoln, uk
Contact:

#538 Post by ally »

thanks

amended, if anybody spots errors please let me know!

:)

simargl

#539 Post by simargl »

Thanks ally

I have added links for older versions of alphaos and archpup to first post here, and to homepage http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/

futwerk
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat 07 May 2011, 22:04

#540 Post by futwerk »

new backgrounds.
Attachments
alphaje19,7.jpg
http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
(10.83 KiB) Downloaded 474 times
alphaje19,5.jpg
http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
(16.05 KiB) Downloaded 462 times
alphaje19,2.jpg
http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
(26.77 KiB) Downloaded 480 times

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#541 Post by Scooby »

Tried to test icecat on alphaos but the package was very large and I ran out of space.

How can I either

Specify a different tmp dir for packer to use

or

Install a package from a local dir

BTW Which browser in your opinion is the best concerning privacy?

simargl

#542 Post by simargl »

packer is using /tmp folder for making packages, which is not part of save file so there is no
need for different temporary folder.

But, if installed package is taking too much space you can use arch2sfs script to convert arch
package to sfs module.

Just open terminal in the same folder where Arch package is located and type:
arch2sfs icecat

smil99
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat 18 Aug 2007, 22:12

#543 Post by smil99 »

Hi simargl,
I am still unable to connect wirelessly in V8 :(
I moved Pwireless2 installation folder to /usr/share/pwireless2 and in that process in all files
from that package replaced /usr/local/Pwireless2 mentionings with /usr/share/pwireless2.
Perhaps, the above changes might have effected pwireless. You might want to look at this again.
Cheers.
[b][color=green]Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final![/color][/b]
[size=75][i](Used with kind permission from jejy69)[/i][/size]

simargl

#544 Post by simargl »

After this comment about successful wireless connection in version 8 http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 907#710907,
I think pwireless2 is not the problem.
Really what is I have no idea, but with high probability it is somehow related to eudev.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#545 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote:packer is using /tmp folder for making packages, which is not part of save file so there is no
need for different temporary folder.

But, if installed package is taking too much space you can use arch2sfs script to convert arch
Now that you mention it that I remember but why does bsdtar report no space
left? I got 6 gig ram and mmaybe 200GB free on HD?

Furthermore when I try Arch2sfs icecat I get

Code: Select all

Extracting:

cp: cannot stat '/root/tmp/*': No such file or directory
Creating icecat.sfs
Why is it trying /root/tmp and not /tmp


I want to add that since I cannot get wireless to work in 8 I'm still on Alphaos 7

Post Reply