Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 06:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 43 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 03:39    Post subject:  

I will leave http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org forum registration open today, if someone wants to join, then will disable it again to prevent spammers from registering or making comments.
_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 09:07    Post subject:
Subject description: request
 

Hi simargl,

Hope, you're doing well. I've done a quick test of alphaOS 9.0, mainly its startup routine. Will do some more testing and share my experience here later on. Both good and bad, in equal measure. In the meantime, I have a question, purely technical one: Can you apply the startup routine, as implemented in alphaOS to a classic puppy of your choice. So that, "xorgwizard" is taken out of the process, but leaving "quicksetup" intact. Can you make it happen?

Thank you in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 11:04    Post subject:  

Hi, I think xorgwizard in Puppy is started from /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit, and quicksetup from some script inside /root/Startup, so you can find xorgwizard there and comment that line to disable it. Every script from /root/Startup in original Puppy is executed when session is started, but that directory is not used here, instead of there is file /root/.start that sets background, tint2 panel, volume control and other programs on startup.
_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 11:44    Post subject:  

It's not that simple and the task is above my grade. The process is split into many parts, some moved to initrd, some to profile. Obfuscated, to say the least. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87662 I shouldn't have mentioned Quick setup as it is not related.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 12 Aug 2013, 06:54    Post subject:  

There is new Openbox release 3.5.2
http://icculus.org/pipermail/openbox/2013-August/008158.html

3.5.2:
* Fix crash in theme rendering code, and in theme parsing code.
* Maximize windows without borders to fill the whole screen, don't leave
a one-pixel empty space. (Bug #5996)

3.5.1:
* New translations: Afrikaans, Belarusian, Interlingua, Hebrew, Romanian,
Greek.
* Updated translations: Italian, Serbian, Spanish, Czech, Hungarian, Turkish,
German, Arabic, Polish, Dutch, Lithuanian, Portuguese, Estonian.
* SVG icon support. This is optional, depending on librsvg being installed.
* Allow application rules to control window size with a new <size> tag.
* Allow application rules to pick a monitor for new windows without forcing
a position.
* Allow non-interactive focus cycling with a new <interactive> tag.
* New LeastOverlap window placement policy replaces the old default
behaviour. It finds a place on a given monitor that overlaps as few
windows as possible. Contributed by Ian Zimmerman.

* Improved Xinerama behaviour.
* Correctly interface with latest gnome-session for Gnome/Openbox X sessions.
* Allow third-party control of window opacity in compositing managers.
* Improved themeing options. Contributed by Dave Foster.
* Add <monitor>, <title type="regex">, <title type="exact"> and
<activedesktop> options to If action.
* Addresses bugs #4661, #5506, #5186, #5758, #5410, #5228, #5277, #5731,
#5746, #5737, #5419, #5721, #5711, #5385, #5500, #4992, #5443, #5518,
#5444, #4782, #5237, #5228, #5173, #5203, #5246, #5180, #5179, #5150,
#5132, #4937, #4889, #5253, #3769, #5819, #5811, #5081, #5426 among others.

_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 12 Aug 2013, 15:53    Post subject:  

I installed new openbox package from

https://www.archlinux.org/packages/community/i686/openbox/

with
pacman -U --force openbox-3.5.2-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz

I don't like their new window placement choice, it looks like with some tiling window manager and it is too much robotic (better if they kept it random like before).

Window placement in previous version was perfect, now they have changed to worse.


_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
toppas

Joined: 24 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 12 Aug 2013, 17:37    Post subject: Broadcom bcm4313  

Did anybody find a way to install additional broadcom wifi driver? i just can't get it working...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 04:33    Post subject:  

The GNU C Library version 2.18 is now available

http://sourceware.org/ml/libc-announce/2013/msg00000.html

Already in the Arch Testing repository https://www.archlinux.org/packages/testing/i686/glibc/

Before they move it to the [core] repository, I think they will recompile all 6000 packages with this new glibc,

Than means Arch is still the most up-to-date, plus simple, fast and stable Linux distribution in the world.

_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 509

PostPosted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 07:31    Post subject: Re: Broadcom bcm4313  

toppas wrote:
Did anybody find a way to install additional broadcom wifi driver? i just can't get it working...


In AUR repository there is a package for linux-sta:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/broadcom-sta-dkms/

I ran the install script but I can't test the install because in alphaos the kernel does not recognize my hardware wireless' buttons... How to get working the hardware buttons of wireless?

EDIT: I made some progress. Successfully created the pkg from AUR but I need the source of the kernel 3.10.3-ALPHAOS to install and test by dkms the wl.ko driver. Can someone public the source of the kernel used in the last release of ALPHAOS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 13:00    Post subject: Re: Broadcom bcm4313  

watchdog wrote:

EDIT: I made some progress. Successfully created the pkg from AUR but I need the source of the kernel 3.10.3-ALPHAOS to install and test by dkms the wl.ko driver. Can someone public the source of the kernel used in the last release of ALPHAOS?


I think the file linux_3.10.3_src.sfs is what you want. check https://sourceforge.net/projects/alphaos/files

The link to it is availible from first post in this thread
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84870
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 509

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2013, 01:17    Post subject: Re: Broadcom bcm4313  

Scooby wrote:

I think the file linux_3.10.3_src.sfs is what you want. check https://sourceforge.net/projects/alphaos/files

The link to it is availible from first post in this thread
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84870


Many thanks. But I had not success. Doing:

Code:
pacman -S dkms


building the package broadcom-sta-dkms from AUR by

Code:
makepkg --asroot


Code:
ln -s /lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/build /usr/lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/build


Code:
pacman -U broadcom-sta-dkms-5.100.82.112-6-i686.pkg.tar.xz


Code:
dkms install broadcom-sta/5.100.82.112-6


I have builded a wl.ko. But:

Code:
insmod wl.ko


exits in:

Code:
insmod: ERROR: could not insert module /usr/lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/extramodules/wl.ko: Unknown symbol in module


EDIT: solved wireless connection. With BCM4312 ALPHAOS-9.0 works out of the box. I had only to unblock the hardware button with:

Code:
rfkill unblock all


The compiled wl.ko does not work. I tried even to put in /root/.start:

Code:
rmmod b43 &
rmmod ssb &
rmmod bcma &
rmmod wl &
modprobe lib80211 &
modprobe cfg80211 &
insmod /usr/lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/extramodules/wl.ko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2013, 13:59    Post subject:  

wmv files wont play in mplayer.

Tried installing codecs frompackage manager but still refuses to start

any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2013, 14:27    Post subject:  

That is strange because this is original mplayer2 package from Arch, it should play everything

I've tested and here wmv file plays correctly in gnome-mplayer

_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 509

PostPosted: Fri 16 Aug 2013, 01:42    Post subject: Broadcom-sta wl driver  

I have found the way to get working the compiled wl.ko driver on my machine. I created a shell script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
rmmod b43
rmmod ssb
rmmod bcma
rmmod wl
modprobe lib80211
modprobe cfg80211
insmod /root/my-documents/Downloads/wl.ko
sleep 10
rfkill unblock all


I run the shell script and then the compiled wl driver works. I uploaded the compiled wl.ko:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9iMb4UZBeFkTTNnTUxsU2RmazQ/edit?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Fri 16 Aug 2013, 13:29    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

I've tested and here wmv file plays correctly in gnome-mplayer


So I fired up my old Window$, which I havent done for months Laughing
The file didnt play there either so I think it was corrupt somehow.

However it was the first of five files and three of the others played fine
in gnome-mplayer but not in smplayer!

I will have to re-download the files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 43 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0980s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0136s) ][ GZIP on ]