Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 05:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Two YouTube downloaders crash 3rd worked [Solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 14:03    Post subject:  

Thanks I did that.

But it did not help to click on the Firefox 19 that I downloaded
despite being a fully FF19 it went back to be FF17 so that is odd.
I renamed each back up and even placed them in two or three layers down.

So one would need different partition for to hide it effectively.

So not sure what to do. There must be some way to do it.

Maybe one need to delete all such back ups then and start all over?

What is your take on it. Are the FF19 so much more secure that it
is important that I go for it? I could maybe save my back up on USB
and that way FF would not know anything about my old FF17 and
if FF19 fails then I could install FF17 again really fast. Seems to be
the easiest work around? I try that now and report within two hours
or so Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 14:32    Post subject:  

it failed it refuses to use FF 19
So can it be the pup savefile?

the bad thing is that I want to have that pupsave file.
I spend many days and many hours these days on
to set it up as I want things to work.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kickstart


Joined: 09 Mar 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 17:02    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

What is your take on it. Are the FF19 so much more secure that it
is important that I go for it?


Well being a bit of a noob myself I may be talking rubbish but I would have thought the difference in security between FF17 & 19 isn't worth worrying about so I would keep your FF17 setup. Addons like Ghostery and Noscript can enhance your privacy and they work in 17 & 19. I'm using 19 only because I was starting from scratch using a Puppy with no browser and this was the tar.bz2 download on offer from Mozilla. Hey! until recently I was using Firefox 3 and I had no issues with that.

nooby wrote:

it failed it refuses to use FF 19
So can it be the pup savefile?

the bad thing is that I want to have that pupsave file.
I spend many days and many hours these days on
to set it up as I want things to work.


The way I am working, FF doesn't touch the savefile. I always keep a savefile backup on a USB stick as I have had them corrupt more than once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 18:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
The way I am working, FF doesn't touch the savefile. I


How do you accomplish such a clever thing?

Maybe you don't use Slacko 5.4 or 5.5?

Firefox is already included in the menu so one would
need to have done like you go into the files and take out mozilla?

As I have it as soon as you start up Firefox even as you do
from /mnt/home/Firefox/ click on the file

then it automatically create a hidden ,mozilla in root and
that one goes to the save file for sure.

11PM here so no hurry to answer Smile I go to bed now
Thanks for caring about an old fool like Nooby

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kickstart


Joined: 09 Mar 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 19:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
The way I am working, FF doesn't touch the savefile. I


nooby wrote:

How do you accomplish such a clever thing?

It's not so clever. I just use Google to search for Puppy threads concerning savefile usage. The forum search never works too well for me.


nooby wrote:

Maybe you don't use Slacko 5.4 or 5.5?

I mentioned previously that I was experimenting with Racy. I have only tried Slacko 5.3 and it didn't work so well for my laptop. I need the Linux 3 kernel and multi processor PAE version.


nooby wrote:

Firefox is already included in the menu so one would
need to have done like you go into the files and take out mozilla?

I think it's a good idea to take mozilla out of the Slacko.sfs if you want to run from /mnt/home.


nooby wrote:

As I have it as soon as you start up Firefox even as you do
from /mnt/home/Firefox/ click on the file
then it automatically create a hidden ,mozilla in root and
that one goes to the save file for sure.

Yes it does. I forgot to mention that I moved the hidden .mozilla to the firefox folder in /mnt/home. You then need to drag it back to /root and create a relative symlink from the pop up menu. The symlink is tiny and has no significant effect on save file usage. If you don't make the symlink another hidden .mozilla folder will be created in /root next time you start Firefox. In my case this increases save file usage by 16M. Also you can do the following which I cribbed from alienjeff in this thread.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=30761

Except I sent the cache to /tmp instead of /mnt/ram1 as I didn't create a ramdrive. Files in /tmp are in RAM and don't get included in the save file at shutdown.


Type "about:config" in the URL address bar of Firefox.

1) Right click anywhere in the about:config listing. You will receive a dire warning which you can ignore

2) select New

3) select String

4) for preference name enter browser.cache.disk.parent_directory

5) for value enter /tmp

You could always just leave the cache alone as it's now in /mnt/home, not the save file and just clear it manually every so often. There is a cache size limit option in preferences but I have seen somewhere in a thread that Firefox has a tendency to ignore this setting and the cache keeps growing.


Most of my other ideas came from this thread started by shinobar which also advises on ways to keep downloads out of the save file;

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=62110

I have been browsing in Firefox for most of the evening now and the save file usage hasn't increased at all so all these strategies I have used seem to be working fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 02:42    Post subject:  

Yes very good advices. I trust it is the addons that I use that have not
updated to FF19 so one or two is still back on FF17 that could explain
why mine always get back to 17

Thanks for the description on .cache I have one on /mnt/home
so seems FF is using that one because I still have same savefile
size as yesterday.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0989s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0417s) ][ GZIP on ]