Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 14:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Problem with HDMI resolution in Carolina (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 06:47    Post subject:  Problem with HDMI resolution in Carolina (Solved)
Subject description: Desktop is too big for the display at 1920 x 1080
 

Hi everybody !

I installed Carolina - frugal mode, on a Foxconn nt330i and as first check I used a common crt 1024x768 res. Everything was fine and it also becomes better after Nvidia installation as specified in the related tutorial.
After the above, I connected the pc to a tv with hdmi and then I'm not able to find the way to set a right resolution.

It automatically detects its native res is 1920x1080 but the panel results "out of screen" and also the windows have one third not accessible ... I tried also a different resolution 1280x720 but the panel still remains one half out and the windows are not correct in size.

I have had a look on web and my fear is that this problem has no solution...
Have I any chance? Should I only vga/dvi connection?
Many many thanks in advance!

Last edited by inoxidabile on Tue 12 Mar 2013, 03:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 03:45    Post subject:  

After several check and "cut and try" operations I found the reason of problem.

The main reson was a setup in monitor/tv, I t was about a "stretching" of image, a sort of little extra landscape effect.
After the reset of this effect, I also have had to find the best compromise for resolution, because 1920x1080 shows too little icons and fonts and then now it seems good at 120x720.
I don't know if this is due to monitor/tv feature, graphic chipset, Puppy or whatsoever (or a combination of that), however now the result is acceptable.

There are also other things to check but I think they are about the derivative I used (Carolina).

OK, then I will mark as solved, thanks to everyone!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 05:33    Post subject:  

inoxidabile wrote:
... 1920x1080 shows too little icons and fonts...
I do not know Carolina,
but in official recent puppies you can use
Code:
set-xftdpi
to set font size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 07:23    Post subject:  

Hi L18L , many thanks for Your suggestion.

Carolina has XFCE and then I could also chang fonts and icons but I have had also to consider that my vision is not as good as in past Smile and I look at monitor at a certain distance.
Moreover a lower resolution means also less pixel to manage and then less load in terms of graphical elaboration.

To sum up, it isn't a " only Puppy problem"... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 08:13    Post subject:  

My vision is also not as good as in the past...

I am using hdmi in my raspberry puppy without problems
so I have been curious to this thread...

Anyhow, set-xftdpi internationalized now Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11072
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 09:14    Post subject:  

inoxidabile wrote:
After several check and "cut and try" operations I found the reason of problem.

The main reason was a setup in monitor/tv, It was about a "stretching" of image, a sort of little extra landscape effect.
After the reset of this effect....

Please explain in more detail. Do you mean you adjusted the monitor settings, or did you "reset" something in Puppy? If you did something in Puppy, exactly what was it? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 10:17    Post subject:  

Hi Flash,
I only tried to adjust monitor settings, using the related wizard or the setup available after the installation of nVIDIA driver.
After some considerations, now I think they were attempts to find a resolution in order to have a sort of "compensation" of the wrong monitor/tv settings Smile

As I said, now the result is acceptable... there is still "something", I'm asking about in the Carolina sections:
- A game (GLBilliard) starts fine but when I quit the size of desktop is "shrinked" then I must exit and restart with xwin.
- Sometimes there are videos from Youtube that have some little flickering and it's not due to hw features.
... but I think these are other questions! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0681s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]