Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 08:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Synaptics Touchpad no right click (FIXED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
markreaves

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 10:23    Post subject:  Synaptics Touchpad no right click (FIXED)
Subject description: Is there a solution?
 

EDIT: This issue has been fixed. The solution was in the post linked below. If you have a touchpad/clickpad and it doesn't fix it, read the entire thread as many things are covered.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=694425#694425

I've spent the last two days trying to fix my touchpad so that I can use the right click. So far no luck.

I have tried solutions found on this forum and solutions found on Ubuntu forums (Using puppy precise). Nothing seems to be working. I don't know what else to do besides ask for help.

Details:
* HP Mini 210-1010NR
* Puppy Precise
* Touchpad works fine in all ways except right click and scrolling
* I don't care if scrolling gets fixed, just need right click to work
* I'm having to use a USB mouse currently since one needs right click

Results of: grep -iEA9 -B1 "Synaptics|Alps|Elantech|touch" /proc/bus/input/devices:
Quote:
I: Bus=0011 Vendor=0002 Product=0007 Version=01b1
N: Name="SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad"
P: Phys=isa0060/serio1/input0
S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/i8042/serio1/input/input1
U: Uniq=
H: Handlers=mouse0 event1
B: PROP=d
B: EV=b
B: KEY=6420 0 10000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
B: ABS=2608000 11000003


EDIT: I attempted to try this patch that supposedly works but could not get dkms working right so the patch failed to compile.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1966016&page=13&p=12246443#post12246443

Anyone know how to get dkms working with puppy or get that patch compiled for puppy?

Last edited by markreaves on Thu 28 Mar 2013, 17:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4046
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 15:05    Post subject:  

Mark- you may have a section like this in your xorg.conf.

Adjust the max tap *time* here to 220 and restart X.
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
   Driver "synaptics"
   Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
   Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
   Option "LeftEdge" "1700"
   Option "RightEdge" "5300"
   Option "TopEdge" "1700"
   Option "BottomEdge" "4200"
   Option "FingerLow" "25"
   Option "FingerHigh" "30"
   Option "MaxTapTime" "220"
   Option "MaxTapMove" "220"
   Option "VertScrollDelta" "100"
   Option "MinSpeed" "0.10"
   Option "MaxSpeed" "0.30"
   Option "AccelFactor" "0.0030"
   Option "SHMConfig" "on"
   #Option "Repeater" "/dev/ps2mouse"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4046
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 17:07    Post subject:  

Now that I've seen the thread you've referenced, just confirm you grabbed the right pkg for your Pup?

Considering it's a driver you're trying to compile, you *must have* the corresponding src-pkg loaded..

I've seen this in place prior to patching..

Create /etc/modprobe.d/psmouse.conf and save with the following:
Code:
options psmouse proto=exps

==

Another possibility.. This and the posts that follow..

==

Same thread- these preceed the above..

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1388164&p=9250735#post9250735

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1388164&p=9516270#post9516270

==

Ask Ubuntu!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markreaves

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 10:14    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Now that I've seen the thread you've referenced, just confirm you grabbed the right pkg for your Pup?

Considering it's a driver you're trying to compile, you *must have* the corresponding src-pkg loaded..

I've seen this in place prior to patching..

Create /etc/modprobe.d/psmouse.conf and save with the following:
Code:
options psmouse proto=exps

==

Another possibility.. This and the posts that follow..

==

Same thread- these preceed the above..

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1388164&p=9250735#post9250735

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1388164&p=9516270#post9516270

==

Ask Ubuntu!


I thank you for trying to help but none of these fix right clicking Sad

As for the dkms issues, this is what I get:
Quote:
rpm: invalid option -- '-'
BusyBox v1.19.3 (2011-11-09 07:34:50 WST) multi-call binary.

Usage: rpm -i PACKAGE.rpm; rpm -qp[ildc] PACKAGE.rpm

Manipulate RPM packages

Commands:
-i Install package
-qp Query package
-i Show information
-l List contents
-d List documents
-c List config files

rpm: invalid option -- '-'
BusyBox v1.19.3 (2011-11-09 07:34:50 WST) multi-call binary.

Usage: rpm -i PACKAGE.rpm; rpm -qp[ildc] PACKAGE.rpm

Manipulate RPM packages

Commands:
-i Install package
-qp Query package
-i Show information
-l List contents
-d List documents
-c List config files

rpm: invalid option -- '-'
BusyBox v1.19.3 (2011-11-09 07:34:50 WST) multi-call binary.

Usage: rpm -i PACKAGE.rpm; rpm -qp[ildc] PACKAGE.rpm

Manipulate RPM packages

Commands:
-i Install package
-qp Query package
-i Show information
-l List contents
-d List documents
-c List config files

rpm: invalid option -- '-'
BusyBox v1.19.3 (2011-11-09 07:34:50 WST) multi-call binary.

Usage: rpm -i PACKAGE.rpm; rpm -qp[ildc] PACKAGE.rpm

Manipulate RPM packages

Commands:
-i Install package
-qp Query package
-i Show information
-l List contents
-d List documents
-c List config files


It tries to build module but fails and says see make.log but can't seem to find such a log so unsure exact error. NOTE: dkms installed from Ubuntu repo since could not find a native puppy package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4046
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 10:58    Post subject:  

That you said nothing there worked didn't sound too convincing.

Is the 5.5 kernel 3.2.29 or 3.2.0.29 (uname -r)?

Did you install the deps alongside dkms_2.2.0.3-1ubuntu3.1_all.deb?

The output you have there you got from what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markreaves

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 09:09    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
That you said nothing there worked didn't sound too convincing.

Is the 5.5 kernel 3.2.29 or 3.2.0.29 (uname -r)?

Did you install the deps alongside dkms_2.2.0.3-1ubuntu3.1_all.deb?

The output you have there you got from what?


Kernel version 3.2.29

I believe I got all the deps installed to dkms

The output was from whenever dkms was run. It would spout all that.

On a side note I did get this netbooks touchpad working with an older puppy but on that older puppy I couldn't get the wifi working. On this newer puppy (precise) the wifi appears to work but the touchpad doesn't want to work right. Also to note it is not an inherent issue with puppy as this touchpad acts exactly the same on Ubuntu. However on Ubuntu there was a deb package that fixed it. Same deb package doesn't fix it on puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 792

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 07:10    Post subject:  

Then you can try a newer version racy 5.5. Feedback welcomed.
If racy 5.5 doesn't work neither, the best is to report to bug forum : http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84748
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markreaves

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 12:46    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
Then you can try a newer version racy 5.5. Feedback welcomed.
If racy 5.5 doesn't work neither, the best is to report to bug forum : http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84748


Running from Racy 5,5 and still no right click on touchpad. Will try to report it as a bug then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 792

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 13:26    Post subject:  

Thanks. When reporting bug, please give specs and many details, so it can be fixed quickly. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 22:16    Post subject:  

Let's see what version of the driver you have in X, and what some of the settings are. Please post the output from this command:
Code:
grep -A 1 -i synaptics /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markreaves

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 22:47    Post subject:  

npierce wrote:
Let's see what version of the driver you have in X, and what some of the settings are. Please post the output from this command:
Code:
grep -A 1 -i synaptics /var/log/Xorg.0.log


NOTE: When running this command I also am using a USB mouse (unsure if it makes a difference or not). Also running Puppy Precise.

Quote:
[ 43.788] (**) |-->Input Device "Synaptics Mouse"
[ 43.788] (**) |-->Input Device "Mouse0"
--
[ 43.799] (II) LoadModule: "synaptics"
[ 43.805] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/synaptics_drv.so
[ 43.834] (II) Module synaptics: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 43.834] compiled for 1.11.3, module version = 1.6.2
--
[ 43.984] (II) LoadModule: "synaptics"
[ 43.985] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/synaptics_drv.so
[ 43.985] (II) Module synaptics: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 43.985] compiled for 1.11.3, module version = 1.6.2
--
[ 45.368] (II) Using input driver 'synaptics' for 'Synaptics Mouse'
[ 45.368] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/synaptics_drv.so
[ 45.368] (**) Option "AlwaysCore"
[ 45.368] (**) Synaptics Mouse: always reports core events
[ 45.368] (**) Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
[ 46.476] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: auto-dev sets device to /dev/input/event1
[ 46.510] (**) Option "Device" "/dev/input/event1"
[ 46.510] (II) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: ignoring touch events for semi-multitouch device
[ 46.510] (II) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: found clickpad property
[ 46.510] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: x-axis range 1472 - 5492
[ 46.510] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: y-axis range 1408 - 4556
[ 46.510] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: pressure range 0 - 255
[ 46.510] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: finger width range 0 - 15
[ 46.510] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: buttons: left double triple
[ 46.510] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: Vendor 0x2 Product 0x7
[ 46.510] (**) Option "SHMConfig" "on"
--
[ 46.511] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: touchpad found
[ 46.511] (**) Synaptics Mouse: always reports core events
[ 46.536] (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Synaptics Mouse" (type: TOUCHPAD, id 6)
[ 46.537] (**) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: (accel) MinSpeed is now constant deceleration 10.0
[ 46.537] (**) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: MaxSpeed is now 3.00
[ 46.537] (**) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: AccelFactor is now 0.003
[ 46.537] (**) Synaptics Mouse: (accel) keeping acceleration scheme 1
[ 46.537] (**) Synaptics Mouse: (accel) acceleration profile 1
[ 46.537] (**) Synaptics Mouse: (accel) acceleration factor: 2.000
[ 46.537] (**) Synaptics Mouse: (accel) acceleration threshold: 4
[ 46.538] (--) synaptics: Synaptics Mouse: touchpad found
[ 46.538] (II) Using input driver 'mouse' for 'Mouse0'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 00:09    Post subject:  

OK, it has version 1.6.2, which I think should support the clickpad. And I see
"found clickpad property", so that looks hopeful.

Now let's see if the button areas have been set up. What do you get for these commands?:
Code:
synclient -V
synclient -l | grep -i ButtonArea

(Having the mouse connected is OK. It shouldn't interfere with these commands or the previous command.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markreaves

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 12:23    Post subject:  

npierce wrote:
OK, it has version 1.6.2, which I think should support the clickpad. And I see
"found clickpad property", so that looks hopeful.

Now let's see if the button areas have been set up. What do you get for these commands?:
Code:
synclient -V
synclient -l | grep -i ButtonArea

(Having the mouse connected is OK. It shouldn't interfere with these commands or the previous command.)


1.6.2
and
Quote:
RightButtonAreaLeft = 0
RightButtonAreaRight = 0
RightButtonAreaTop = 0
RightButtonAreaBottom = 0
MiddleButtonAreaLeft = 0
MiddleButtonAreaRight = 0
MiddleButtonAreaTop = 0
MiddleButtonAreaBottom = 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 19:10    Post subject:  

It looks like your right button area has not been set. Try this:

Make a backup of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, then edit it as follows:

Look for a section that begins like this:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
   Driver "synaptics"

There may or may not already be some options listed there.

Add these options before the EndSection line:
Code:
   Option "ClickPad"         "true"
   Option "SoftButtonAreas"  "50% 0 82% 0 0 0 0 0"

Then restart the X server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markreaves

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 22:49    Post subject:  

npierce wrote:
It looks like your right button area has not been set. Try this:

Make a backup of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, then edit it as follows:

Look for a section that begins like this:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
   Driver "synaptics"

There may or may not already be some options listed there.

Add these options before the EndSection line:
Code:
   Option "ClickPad"         "true"
   Option "SoftButtonAreas"  "50% 0 82% 0 0 0 0 0"

Then restart the X server.


Well that seemed to fix the lack of scrolling but right click worked once after restart of X then stopped working :-\ Getting closer to a fix though lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1091s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]