Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 03:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to remove GRUB from mbr?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 23:27    Post subject:  How to remove GRUB from mbr?  

Hello,

As part of an effort to make a PC run only Puppy, I did a full install, and it didn't go over so well. I can boot Puppy from a live CD or Win98SE from the slave HDD, but the GRUB files/program (?) interfere with it booting on the main HDD. So, I'd like to remove it.

Machine info: 266Mhz, 192M RAM.

What happened: after I ran the Puppy auto installer, I restarted the PC. As I recall, it stopped loading when it came to loading X windows. It froze for ten minutes, so I cycled the power. Then it kept stopping when it came to loading the mouse info.

After a few repeats, I removed the Puppy files from the HDD, but I couldn't figure out how to remove the GRUB, which is the real trouble right now.

Thank you for any help that you might provide.

(I have to leave for work again tomorrow, so it'll be a few days before I get back to answer questions.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 23:36    Post subject:  

You can zero the mbr with the dd command.

I am in a mood to give you code to zero any attached HDD and forget about the size.

Would be nice to hear which Puppy did not full-install-booted correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 00:02    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
You can zero the mbr with the dd command.

I am in a mood to give you code to zero any attached HDD and forget about the size.

Would be nice to hear which Puppy did not full-install-booted correctly.


Hi Karl,

Thanks for the info. It was Puppy 420 Turbo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 00:10    Post subject:  

Boot off your Puppy CD and type this command
Code:
ms-sys -m -w /dev/sda

However, an old version of Puppy like 420 may not have this command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2940
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 00:15    Post subject:  

circularL7, you already have a thread about this computer in the Beginner's Help section, where you are getting help.

Why did you start a second thread here?

Also: MBR. Master Boot Record.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 00:26    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Boot off your Puppy CD and type this command
Code:
ms-sys -m -w /dev/sda

However, an old version of Puppy like 420 may not have this command.


Thanks!

starhawk wrote:
circularL7, you already have a thread about this computer in the Beginner's Help section, where you are getting help.

Why did you start a second thread here?


Different topics; that thread is about getting a system going; this topic is about cleaning a mistake. The forum description for that section doesn't include this type of help, but the description for this section does. It seemed peculiar to me to ask for help in that section that seemed to belong in this section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2940
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 00:46    Post subject:  

I just hope that Flash (our resident Moderator) doesn't get mad at you.

TBH I'm not sure if you should've started a new thread or not... but I rather suspect not.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3433
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 06:06    Post subject:  

My How to

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=507622

" Recently I had a problem with Grub 4 Dos by Shinobar.

I have been using it to boot different USBs with multi Puppies etc.

I am not very knowledgeable with any sort of Grub.
However Shinobars creation is pretty good.

I wish however that I could use different boot options
for Puppy....such as >> puppy pfix=ram etc.

And maybe it's me but I find it picks up better if I name the folders....
in lower case...and use only an 8 letter name.

Anyway I must have been a bit too quick in selecting my USB options,
and my XP hard drive booted with a funny grub message,
but then would boot into Windows after 10 seconds or so.

So I had a look around for a simple MBR fix.

I tried this but it wouldn't work.

http://www.ambience.sk/fdisk-master-boot-record-windows-linux-lilo-fixmbr.php

Hirens wouldn't work.

Other fixes didn't work.

///////////

I saw this.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/69013

Command fdisk /mbr

" Fdisk has an undocumented parameter called /mbr that causes it to write
the master boot record to the hard disk without altering the
partition table information. "


And decided to go for it after I saw WhatsHisName response.
I used an old >> Dos 6.22 floppy disk

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/winxp-fixmbr-%3D-dos-fdisk-mbr-178571/

" My post will surely be followed by several fdisk /mbr screwed my disk” comments.

My questions in response are
“what else did you do before trying fdisk /mbr?”
(i.e., what else was screwed up or what else did you
screw up) and “did you read the warnings about using fdisk /mbr?”
(i.e., for safety, only have one drive connected when you run fdisk /mbr).

To pirate a slogan, “Fdisk doesn’t kill drives, people kill drives”.

/////////

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 13:34    Post subject:  

I remember fdisk utility for win98 . I used it several times for partitioning . Don't remember details anymore .
In case that you have grub in the mbr of the win98 disk - which would be a user fault confusing the drives which is likely because of the 2 controllers and master/slave settings - fdisk from a win98 installation cd or floppy would do the job. Since the ms web page Chris points to says only if the mbr isn't there and only for master on ide controller 0 :
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=1 count=512

I am guessing kernel 2.6.25.16 is an IDE kernel using /dev/hd* nodes instead of /dev/sd* and the win98 disk is master on IDE controller 0 (first controller, second is IDE-1) .

I think i remember that win98 has a feature to create a dos disk to run ms fdisk .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hal8000

Joined: 05 Mar 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 16:34    Post subject:  

It would be easier to download an updated puppy linux with the ms-sys util included. As you have Windows 98SE then you restore a Win95/98/98SE boot loader. The command is:

ms-sys -9 -w /dev/sda

Replace sda with correct hard drive if you have more than one drive. The -9 loads the 95/98/98SE bootloader and -w writes this code to the mbr.

Note that this writes only the first 464 bytes so will not destroy your partition table.

The windows partition must also be marked active (with a boot flag) you can check this with

fdisk /dev/sda

Press "p" to display partition you should see a "*" against the boot partition which has to be sda1 in the case of windows 98. q exists linux fdisk and you should be able to reboot and load win98.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 18:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
Machine info: 266Mhz, 192M RAM.
Quote:
It would be easier to download an updated puppy linux with the ms-sys util included

Clearly it is.

ms-sys is to be found on sourceforge
Compiled on Macpup-F3
ms-sys-2.2.1-glibc-2.6.1.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  ms-sys-2.2.1-glibc-2.6.1.tar 
Filesize  60 KB 
Downloaded  108 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 19:27    Post subject:  

Thanks for all the help! Here are the details if you're interested:

I used the fdisk/mbr command with a Win start up disk, and this cleared the problem. Then, to experiment, I used the dd command in, IIRC, ROXTerminal or something else that gave me a screen and a pound sign. The consequences of that command were a bit alarming and intriguing, and I was pleased to get more partitioning practice.

GRUB4DOS did the trick for both the PC in question and a second vintage machine.

Thanks!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NETTKNUT


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Location: Wales

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 05:19    Post subject: How to remove GRUB from MBR
Subject description: rcrsn51 reply
 

On 19th March rcrsn51 suggested running the command:

[color=green]ms-sys -m -w /dev/sda

I also want to remove GRUB from MBR on my Puppy Linux system but am unfamiliar with this command. In particular will it delete any other files from my HD partitions sda1 sda2 sda3? Any help appreciated. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 10:05    Post subject: Re: How to remove GRUB from MBR
Subject description: rcrsn51 reply
 

NETTKNUT wrote:
I also want to remove GRUB from MBR on my Puppy Linux system but am unfamiliar with this command. In particular will it delete any other files from my HD partitions sda1 sda2 sda3?

No. All it does is write new boot code to the MBR of the hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NETTKNUT


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Location: Wales

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 13:05    Post subject: How to remove GRUB from MBR
Subject description: rcrsn51 reply - response
 

Thanks for your prompt reply. It's a relief to know it won't do any harm. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0922s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]