Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 04:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ThinSlacko - March 2013 (deltas released May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7832
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 09:31    Post_subject:  

3.9.1 is still warm.

More deltas:
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/01micko/ThinSlacko-5.5.01/ThinSlacko-5.5.03-XZ.iso___ThinSlacko-5.5.04-XZ.iso.delta 21M
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/01micko/ThinSlacko-5.5.01/devx_slacko_5.5.03.sfs___devx_slacko_5.5.04.sfs.delta ~350k
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/01micko/ThinSlacko-5.5.01/kernel_sources-3.9-slacko_4g.sfs___kernel_sources-3.9.1-slacko_thin.sfs.delta ~2M
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/01micko/ThinSlacko-5.5.01/checksums-5.5.04.txt checksums

-updated 3.9 >> 3.9.1, added some more drivers, probably more obscure ones
-fixed probepart for f2fs
-AUFS now up to stable 3.9 branch
-compiled aufs-util 3.9 statically (much smaller, seems to work ok now).

Seems faster to me Confused (or maybe I'm just slower?)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 10:44    Post_subject:  

ThinSlacko is becoming my favourite quick-and-dirty utility Puppy. And Links is good enough to install a printer.

What is the fastest way to get a Gutenprint package?

Can I make a suggestion? The old Legacy GRUB bootloader config doesn't have much value anymore because it can't recognize GRUB2 installs. I would recommend replacing it with Legacy GRUB Config 2013.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 11:52    Post_subject:
Sub_title: tas linkage
 

As Ray Charles introduced his backup singers Sharon & Karen (sharin' & carin')..

Take a Shot! - yet another screenshot utility..., tas for short - works very well in most newer pups.

previous ref in this thread, page 3 (10th post)

mmmm.. been having some fun with peebee's lxde sfs (yes it does spout a fair amount of err messages in xerrs.log) and it won't do a wmpoweroff or wmreboot from lxde/openbox for me (but fine in blackbox, e16, fluxbox, jwm and miwm). Full disclosure - I have butchered the sfs as a somewhat trimmed quasi-install, so Neutral

faster/slower is all relativity in the observers point of view Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 507

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 12:15    Post_subject:  

Has anyone managed to setup Firefox as default browser in ThinSlacko?

I have this line in xerrs.log:
Code:
(firefox:11403): GLib-GIO-WARNING **: Failed to execute child process "update-desktop-database" (No such file or directory)

And below is a weird symlink (link target 127.0.0.1:+11403) and an error window, that pops up if I click on it. Wonder, if it's related to my issue.

@`f00
You know how to share stuff.
Thank you very much.
ffox_def.jpeg
 Description   
 Filesize   46.25 KB
 Viewed   1019 Time(s)

ffox_def.jpeg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7832
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 17:02    Post_subject:  

@rcrsn51. Try searching PPM and you will be given 1 option for gutenprint. That's the one main slacko uses. I'll also consider your new grubconfig. Thanks.

@`foo. I think I am just slower!

@anikin. Sc0ttman's neat "defaults-chooser" fails in Thin because too much is removed and it chokes. You can do it manually :
Code:
echo "#!/bin/bash \nexec firefox \"\$@\"" > /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
chmod 755 /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser

Don't worry about that stale symlink, seems to do no harm and the error in xerrs.log is generated by the slackware doinst.sh (like a pinstall.sh) which is KDE specific and is absolutely harmless.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 21:06    Post_subject: ThinSlacko - March 2013 (deltas released May 2013)
Sub_title: 5504
 

It's working well here, no problems.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.39 KB
 Viewed   879 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5857
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 11:40    Post_subject:  

5.5.04 working well here too...... frugal install on old Athlon XP box.
ThinSlacko 5.5.04.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.48 KB
 Viewed   798 Time(s)

ThinSlacko 5.5.04.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 12:16    Post_subject:  

Hi Mick

Report of testing 5.5.04 on my HP laptop.....

Basically same problems as with 5.5.03 - lots of errors flash up on bootup but boots to a correctly dimensioned desktop where all is well until you try to reboot whence the reboot sequence drops out to a console where keystrokes are detected and displayed but no commands are recognised. Have to press power-off switch to get out.

Tried acpi=off on kernel line - this gets rid of the bootup error messages but boots to an incorrect dimensions desktop and trying other options through xorgwizard all fail to work. Reboot does not hang with the acpi=off switch in use.

The significant lines from bootkernel.log seem to be:
Quote:
[ 26.349620] ------------[ cut here ]------------
[ 26.349680] kernel BUG at net/rfkill/core.c:244!
[ 26.349735] invalid opcode: 0000 [#1] SMP
[ 26.349878] Modules linked in: i915(+) fbcon bitblit softcursor font e1000e(+) ptp pps_core tileblit i2c_algo_bit drm_kms_helper drm i2c_core intel_agp intel_gtt agpgart hp_wmi(+) sparse_keymap rfkill wmi fan battery thermal video evdev button processor thermal_sys hwmon ac fuse aufs squashfs ssb mmc_core
[ 26.350009] Pid: 8196, comm: modprobe Not tainted 3.9.1-0 #1 Hewlett-Packard HP 550/3618
[ 26.350009] EIP: 0060:[<f81ec4f2>] EFLAGS: 00010246 CPU: 0
[ 26.350009] EIP is at rfkill_set_hw_state+0xa/0x67 [rfkill]
[ 26.350009] EAX: 00000000 EBX: 00000000 ECX: 00000018 EDX: 00000001
[ 26.350009] ESI: f3488400 EDI: f8200db0 EBP: 00000000 ESP: f5a81db8
[ 26.350009] DS: 007b ES: 007b FS: 00d8 GS: 0033 SS: 0068
[ 26.350009] CR0: 8005003b CR2: f8535edc CR3: 35bdb000 CR4: 000007d0
[ 26.350009] DR0: 00000000 DR1: 00000000 DR2: 00000000 DR3: 00000000
[ 26.350009] DR6: ffff0ff0 DR7: 00000400
[ 26.350009] Process modprobe (pid: 8196, ti=f5a80000 task=f5b26a90 task.ti=f5a80000)
[ 26.350009] Stack:
[ 26.350009] f8200db0 00000000 f3488400 f8200db0 f820320f 1e0e0f29 f348840c f3488400
[ 26.350009] f8200ea4 c121acf8 f348840c f8200ea4 f8200ea4 c1219adf f348840c f8200ea4
[ 26.350009] f3488440 c1219c06 00000000 f5a75640 f8200ea4 c12188cb f600a6d8 f5a756f4
[ 26.350009] Call Trace:
[ 26.350009] [<f820320f>] ? hp_wmi_bios_setup+0x20f/0x329 [hp_wmi]
[ 26.350009] [<c121acf8>] ? platform_drv_probe+0x23/0x44
[ 26.350009] [<c1219adf>] ? driver_probe_device+0x72/0x155
[ 26.350009] [<c1219c06>] ? __driver_attach+0x44/0x5f
[ 26.350009] [<c12188cb>] ? bus_for_each_dev+0x37/0x61
[ 26.350009] [<c12197be>] ? driver_attach+0x11/0x13
[ 26.350009] [<c1219bc2>] ? driver_probe_device+0x155/0x155
[ 26.350009] [<c12194c0>] ? bus_add_driver+0xae/0x1a5
[ 26.350009] [<f8203329>] ? hp_wmi_bios_setup+0x329/0x329 [hp_wmi]
[ 26.350009] [<c121a036>] ? driver_register+0x70/0xdb
[ 26.350009] [<f8203329>] ? hp_wmi_bios_setup+0x329/0x329 [hp_wmi]
[ 26.350009] [<f8203329>] ? hp_wmi_bios_setup+0x329/0x329 [hp_wmi]
[ 26.350009] [<c121a8dc>] ? platform_driver_probe+0x10/0x5f
[ 26.350009] [<f82034b2>] ? hp_wmi_init+0x189/0x1b9 [hp_wmi]
[ 26.350009] [<c1001162>] ? do_one_initcall+0x66/0x104
[ 26.350009] [<c10574e0>] ? load_module+0x1605/0x18e6
[ 26.350009] [<c101e81f>] ? vmalloc_sync_all+0xc7/0xc7
[ 26.350009] [<c1057822>] ? sys_init_module+0x61/0x75
[ 26.350009] [<c1375d70>] ? syscall_call+0x7/0xb
[ 26.350009] Code: 17 f6 42 0c 07 8d 40 20 74 04 31 d2 eb 05 ba ff 00 00 00 e9 cd b8 0f c9 c3 8b 40 78 83 e8 20 eb d8 57 85 c0 56 53 89 c3 57 75 02 <0f> 0b 89 d7 e8 99 95 18 c9 8b 73 0c 89 fa 84 d2 89 f2 74 05 83
[ 26.350009] EIP: [<f81ec4f2>] rfkill_set_hw_state+0xa/0x67 [rfkill] SS:ESP 0068:f5a81db8
[ 26.358194] ---[ end trace 8c8c1b5be6985f38 ]---


Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 552
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 03:32    Post_subject: Testing 5.5.04 k 3.9.1  

Hi 01micko,
Quote:
Seems faster to me (or maybe I'm just slower?)

I agree on both counts! A good example is that the slight delay upon launching PupSysinfo from PupControl 2.3 has vanished with this new kernel. I have tested with f2fs partitions on both SDHC and SSD.

My only issue has been with the old included version of frisbee (frisbee-1.0-20130228).
Using a wired connection with no wireless card present, it seems slow to acquire an I/P. Disabling the service only leads to more problems as restarting X can sometimes kill it and on boot up it sometimes completely fails to acquire an address.

BK posted here about later versions:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00224

Edit-later (Having woken up properly)

With regard to Frisbee, I have a feeling that it is acquiring an I/P quickly, but is then releasing it only to then re-acquire it. This may well be desirable with wireless but is a PITA with a wired connection. If I am correct, it would explain the apparent slowness.
capture31662.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.02 KB
 Viewed   716 Time(s)

capture31662.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 507

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 18:40    Post_subject:  

I'm trying to compile ppower:
http://www.smokey01.com/jemimah/saluki/source/ppower-jemimah-01.tar.gz
and get this error:
Code:
# compile
bash: compile: command not found
#

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 18:53    Post_subject:  

Assuming that you have opened a terminal inside the folder ppower-jemimah-01, run the command
Code:
sh compile
or
Code:
./compile

You will also need the devx installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 507

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 20:11    Post_subject:  

Both commands work, note taken for future reference.
Thank you, rcrsn51 and a special thank you to pemasu for his help in removing the turbo mode from the source. I have been shamelessly taking advantage of his good will recently ...
ppower.png
 Description   
 Filesize   32.76 KB
 Viewed   1451 Time(s)

ppower.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2595
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 29 May 2013, 05:57    Post_subject:  

greengeek wrote:
I just did my usual frugal, copying across the sfs, vmlinuz and initrd.gz but it "boots" into a very weird and unusable (but very pretty) kaleidoscope of cyan / white / speckly lines and smudges all over the screen. Had to use hard power off to clear.


01micko wrote:
try:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram nouveau,noaccel=1

failing that:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram nouveau,modeset=0


Aaahh. Finally got it to work. The modeset parameter was the one I needed, but it should not be a comma between the nouveau and the modeset, in fact it has to be a fullstop:

puppy pfix=ram nouveau.modeset=0

All good now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Thu 20 Jun 2013, 05:56    Post_subject:  

Hi this being a thin version of slacko are there a good set of .sfs applications available that are current maintained. THis would make ThinSlacko really useful. we need to go back to this approach to puppy beint thin, lightweight, needing a small save file and running apps outside the save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Thu 20 Jun 2013, 05:56    Post_subject:  

Hi this being a thin version of slacko are there a good set of .sfs applications available that are current maintained. THis would make ThinSlacko really useful. we need to go back to this approach to puppy beint thin, lightweight, needing a small save file and running apps outside the save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1073s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0106s) ][ GZIP on ]