Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 04:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to arrange Grub2 to boot frugal Slacko, XP and Ubuntu?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
JamesTheAwesomeDude


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 99
Location: Classified

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2013, 02:12    Post subject:  How to arrange Grub2 to boot frugal Slacko, XP and Ubuntu?  

Okay, I have a triple-boot going:
Win XP Pro on /dev/sda1
Ubuntu 12.04 on /dev/sda7
(I know this sound weird):
Puppy Slacko 5.5 FRUGAL on a dedicated EXT4 partition - /dev/sda7

vmlinuz and initrd.gz are both stored on / in sda7 (not a subfolder.)

What do I need to set the Puppy menu entry to for Grub 2? I have Grub Customizer installed on Ubuntu.

Currently, the Puppy entry is:
Code:
insmod ext4
set root='(hd0,6)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 342e3978-cdf7-4aa2-98e8-5bc4651b22f9
linux /vmlinuz
initrd /initrd.gz


But that just returns a few errors (will edit them in after I reboot, I think they were 2 file not founds and one Invalid Command error...)

Anyway, if someone could cook up the correct command, I would appreciate it greatly! Will provide any other requested details.

_________________
Version 27. Dotpet. Click here.
(SFS available too!)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 760
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2013, 03:07    Post subject:  

Hi JamesTheAwesomeDude

This should help you get a feel for what’s needed, this is my menu.lst using grub4dos. Although not grub2 - it is very similar.
I would normally put each puppy in it’s own individual folder, thus allowing numerous frugal installs to a single partition.
I prefer grub4dos because it is intuitive, extremely reliable, and it auto-magically generates a menu.lst when run.

HTH - regards - Ray
menu.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  menu.tar.gz 
Filesize  859 Bytes 
Downloaded  83 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.

Last edited by Ray MK on Sat 06 Apr 2013, 03:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 507

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2013, 03:10    Post subject:  

Try:

Code:
menuentry "Slacko 5.5 (frugal on sda7)" {
set root=(hd0,7)
linux /vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
initrd /initrd.gz
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3956
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2013, 05:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
Okay, I have a triple-boot going:
Win XP Pro on /dev/sda1
Ubuntu 12.04 on /dev/sda7
(I know this sound weird):
Puppy Slacko 5.5 FRUGAL on a dedicated EXT4 partition - /dev/sda7

Ubunntu and Slacko on their own partition ?
In normal GNU/Linux distros /vmlinuz is a link to /boot/vmlinuz-very-long-identifierer . Same with /initrd . Hope you have mixed everything and are repairing the mess Razz .

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JamesTheAwesomeDude


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 99
Location: Classified

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2013, 12:32    Post subject:    

watchdog wrote:
Try:

Code:
menuentry "Slacko 5.5 (frugal on sda7)" {
set root=(hd0,7)
linux /vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
initrd /initrd.gz
}


That worked! Mr. Green

_________________
Version 27. Dotpet. Click here.
(SFS available too!)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vbdanl

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri 26 Apr 2013, 23:53    Post subject:  

JamesTheAwesomeDude wrote:
watchdog wrote:
Try:

Code:
menuentry "Slacko 5.5 (frugal on sda7)" {
set root=(hd0,7)
linux /vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
initrd /initrd.gz
}


That worked! Mr. Green

are you using Grub2? and is the above an entry you have in the 40* file?
i have not been able to boot into Puppy (frugal) via grub2.. was wondering if you are.. thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0573s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]