Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 17:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2534
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 22:24    Post_subject:  

Used the other WAG-gui to setup network after I moved to a larger usb flashdrive, much easier however it found my neighbors AP first so I was a fool pressing my AP button while trying to connect. Confused

Like the script to resized and use the remaining usb flashdrive space, very simple now to try save session.

Noticed again a glitch in the redraw while typing last line. It garbled and most text disappeared until I scrolled. Also when playing a hd video with VLC (nice playback using generic nv driver only 23% CPU) the use of jwm menu popup affected the block of playback shifting it over some.

I tried to hit PrtSc to capture both display shreading events but it did not work
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2534
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 22:51    Post_subject:  

Savefile session saved but not used on next couple of boots, used the ext3 option but it forced it to ext4. savefile is the last partion on the USB drive used to boot
Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 23:00    Post_subject:  

I've rebuilt and re-uploaded the Nvidia pets.


Quote:
Savefile session saved but not used on next couple of boots, used the ext3 option but it forced it to ext4. savefile is the last partion on the USB drive used to boot


We don't search partitions as much as puppy. Fatdog64 searches just the root of the partitions. If you use a sub-directory you'll have to specify that or if you use something other than the default name. See: Boot-options in the FAQs. I don't know if I've tried booting off one usb partition and saving on another usb partition using all the defaults. I'll try it.

EDIT: Tried booting from one usb partition and saving to another. Works for me. I should have mentioned before, with usb devices you might have to specify: waitdev=x where x is a number of seconds. Might want to try waitdev=5 to start. Fatdog64 tries to boot as fast as it can, but some usb devices takes a while to become available to the kernel.

Also, we don't support using JWM, it's only there as a backup. Wpa_gui will automatically connect to the strongest open AP or encrypted AP that you have made a profile for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2534
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 23:58    Post_subject:  

waitdev did the trick, is grub config editable at append that so I will not have to type it in each time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2534
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 00:25    Post_subject:  

cut/paste two mouse button press does not work and can't find the setting for the mouse wizard to set it up also the clipboard shortcut ctrlaltc doesnot function. like to cut paste on terminals really need to set something up
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2534
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 02:20    Post_subject:  

new nvidia pet works for me, found the help files for cut/paste keys (no insert key on my minikeyboard) but I think I can configure sven multimedia keyboard to create one.
Nice to see this server computer really run well, HD video playback is flawless now, sound works great, saw this has video capture support, will test my USB tuner now.
Thanks, haven't been this wowed by a linux release since I found puppy mltisession, before that first try using Knoppix livecd. This level of completeness and success is a rarity. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 167
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 04:59    Post_subject:  

Hello kirk & jamesbond

Oops! I said that on b3 panning was working, but I was wrong. Apologies!

I have margins set, so it does pan, but the mouse cursor won't go into the right margin. I use it to centre 1920x1080 video on my 1600x1200 monitor. That worked when I tested it and I didn't notice the cursor.

There's no need to fix it for me, I'm quite happy with fd611

Thanks.

EDIT: I rechecked beta 1 and panning works correctly on that.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 05:47    Post_subject:  

Thanks for all the hard work you guys put into
solving the UEFI install thing.

So does this mean I can buy a Packard Bell or Toshiba
or HP Compaq Laptop Win 8 computer with UEFI and
then follow the instructions and that will dual boot with Win8 ?

That would be much appreciated if you can confirm
that it really work.

Oops hope somebody put the iso on a mirror because
that one is a very slow it takes 55 minutes now to dl

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 754
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 09:16    Post_subject:  
Sub_title: Radeon Detection Works.
 

I did an update install on the UEFI machine. It went very smoothly. I only had to copy the new initrd and vmlinuz over the beta3 version. No changes were required to refind.conf. It boot correctly.

I removed the loadmodule=radeon boot parameter and the radeon detection code worked. No problems with the X server start up.

I did the same for the USB flash drive install without any problems. I think I can retire my six year machine and start using this one for day to day use. Yes, I am using fatdog64 and FireFox to post this. Thank you, Kirk and Jamesbond Cool

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 754
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 09:27    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Be Careful with Win8 dual installation
 

nooby wrote:

So does this mean I can buy a Packard Bell or Toshiba
or HP Compaq Laptop Win 8 computer with UEFI and
then follow the instructions and that will dual boot with Win8 ?


Nooby,
I found with Win8 on the hard drive, it was possible to boot a CDROM and a USB Flash Drive with fatdog 64. I was never able to re-size the Win8 partition to create extra space for a Linux installation. One can boot another device.

I disliked Win8 so much that I just swapped out the Win8 hard drive for a blank solid state drive. I prepared the new hard drive first in an USB drive enclosure. I installed the new solid state drive and away I went.

Hopefully, someone can provide the instructions for re-sizing a Window$ 8 installation. I never could get information from the manufacturer or Micro$oft.

I hope this helps.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 10:35    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I found with Win8 on the hard drive, it was possible to boot a CDROM and a USB Flash Drive with fatdog 64. I was never able to re-size the Win8 partition to create extra space for a Linux installation. One can boot another device.


I've done this on two Windows 8 computers, didn't have any problems. I did resize using Windows. It's just like older Windows version, just have to search around to find things. See: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/uefi-harddrive.html

Quote:
So does this mean I can buy a Packard Bell or Toshiba
or HP Compaq Laptop Win 8 computer with UEFI and
then follow the instructions and that will dual boot with Win8 ?


No guarantees, some of the UEFI firmware is really bad. Though if you're willing to disable secure boot then it's probably close to 100%. And if you can switch to legacy (BIOS) mode then it's a sure thing as far as booting goes. Now whether or not the hardware is supported by the kernel, that's another story. I've tested on about 12 Windows 8 computers with secure boot on, out of those there was 2 that would not accept my keys. I've only did hard drive installs on two. Both work with secure boot on, though on one refind seems to only want to boot things that are on the same partition it's installed to which is probably a firmware problem as well, but grub2 doesn't have a problem.


Quote:
Oops! I said that on b3 panning was working, but I was wrong. Apologies!


I forgot that I patched xorg-server-1.11.4 for panning. Then again you would think that it would have been fixed by 1.12.4. Try the pet here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/broken/xorg-server-xrandr-patched-1.12.4.pet

Let me know if it works. If it doesn't post your xrandr command. I've forgotten how to set it up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2534
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 10:58    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Thanks for all the hard work you guys put into
solving the UEFI install thing.

So does this mean I can buy a Packard Bell or Toshiba
or HP Compaq Laptop Win 8 computer with UEFI and
then follow the instructions and that will dual boot with Win8 ?

That would be much appreciated if you can confirm
that it really work.

Oops hope somebody put the iso on a mirror because
that one is a very slow it takes 55 minutes now to dl


Would love to get that speed took 6 hours plus for me. But I have third world internet speed here in deep rural Texas. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pedro

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 13:22    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
I'm having problems with nvidia driver. When i install the 310.44 driver i get error messages and x does not start


I can't test the Nvidia package because I don't have a Nvidia card. So, it might be broke. Make sure you have the right one. Go to Nvidia's web site www.nvidia.com/drivers and make sure you need the 310.xx driver and not the 304.xx.



If anyone has tried this driver let us know.


EDIT: I'll rebuild the Nvidia pets tonight, I think I know what I did wrong. I'll edit this post after I re-upload.

EDIT2: I've rebuilt and re-uploaded the Nvidia pets.


Hi
I tryed your new 310.44 pet, x starts but there are still some problems, when i run glxgears or some games i get this error:
error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1:wrong elf class:elfclass32
Maybe related to this problem, nvidia graphical configuration utility, nvidia-settings, cant display information about openGL in the system
Thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 167
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 13:37    Post_subject:  

Hello kirk

Quote:
Let me know if it works. If it doesn't post your xrandr command. I've forgotten how to set it up.


Thanks for the pet, it works perfectly, Thank you.

I can't remember the xrandr commands either, and their documentation comes in various dialects of gibberish. But I made a 2-line script that I keep and don't have to remember how I invented it.

This is the line that works for the Xorg Radeon driver:

Code:
xrandr --fb 1760x1200 --output DVI-0 --mode 1600x1200 --panning 1760x1200+0+0/1760x0+0+0/160/0/160/0


The reason it is 1760 and not 1920 is that the window manager allows VLC to create windows larger than the desktop, but only in the positive direction.
With the desktop set to 1760 I just have to move the mouse over to the right hand side and the window centres exactly.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2185
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 14:52    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
I'm having problems with nvidia driver. When i install the 310.44 driver i get error messages and x does not start


I can't test the Nvidia package because I don't have a Nvidia card. So, it might be broke. Make sure you have the right one. Go to Nvidia's web site www.nvidia.com/drivers and make sure you need the 310.xx driver and not the 304.xx.



If anyone has tried this driver let us know.


EDIT: I'll rebuild the Nvidia pets tonight, I think I know what I did wrong. I'll edit this post after I re-upload.

EDIT2: I've rebuilt and re-uploaded the Nvidia pets.


I downloaded and compiled the proprietary driver for my GeForce 8600
GT card.
I had the devx and kernel source sfs loaded, it needed to reboot once
to remove the nouveau driver and then it compiled the
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-173.14.37-pkg2.run file successfully.
I chose no to 32bit compatibility libs and yes to update the
xorg.conf, then xwin to get back to the desktop.

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
34061 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6812.124 FPS
34081 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6816.089 FPS
34972 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6994.302 FPS
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.46 KB
 Viewed   713 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1121s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0175s) ][ GZIP on ]