Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 03:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 29 [432 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2367
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 12:58    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
thanks all

I thought the same, was just checking, he wouldn't let me near the machine after so couldn't try the bios and he just didn't want to play!!

Smile


Linux club street cred. destroyed, hope you blamed it on Ubuntu Mad

I've had mousepad stop working on the last dozen puppylinux versions (32bit) but not past reboot. Just got a new 64bit notebook with w8 (but without secure boot crap ) hope that will not be an issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 13:12    Post subject:  

Best way to recover from touchpad woes is to plug in an USB mouse which overrides the touchpad (at least on all machines I've fixed) and let's you navigate to the appropriate settings (control panel on FD, RHclick on other Puppies) and equivalent in the devil's doings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 13:28    Post subject:  

hey sage

luckily another member had a usb mouse, when the machine was rebooted to windows the touchpad did not work and was not recognised in the hardware list

he had already tried ubuntu which had worked

been trying to convert peeps to puppy there for ages, more hard work ahead now

on the plus, it was FAST on his machine, very fast, booted in 9 secs to (nearly) working desktop

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 16:37    Post subject:  

@ rcrsn51

your advice worked......

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 18:32    Post subject: VirtualBox-4.2.4-fd64_610.sfs
Subject description: seems to need kernel source
 

I ran into some trouble with VirtualBox-4.2.4-fd64_610.sfs

-virtualbox says:# VirtualBox
WARNING: The vboxdrv kernel module is not loaded. Either there is no module available for the current kernel (3.8.7) or it failed to load. Please recompile the kernel module and install it by

sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

You will not be able to start VMs until the problem is fixed

I searched a lot for a solution but had to dig in to the problem myself.

Got VirtualBox-4.2.4-fd64_610.sfs running by doing:
Loading from system sfs loader:
fd64-devx_620.sfs
kernel-source-3.8.7.sfs

run from term:
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

VirtualBox is functional.
Now kernel-source-3.8.7.sfs can be unloaded.

I assumed all code would be in devx, no kernel-source-3.8.7.sfs needed.

Sounds familiar to someone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2367
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 18:53    Post subject:  

Yea, my new 64bit netbook works perfectly so far with fatdog64v621, Took out the win 8 harddrive, plugged in my portable USB DVD burner and here I am. Forgot the switch to load to ram so I can eject the DVD to play stuff, but I will next boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 00:04    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
Yea, my new 64bit netbook works perfectly so far with fatdog64v621, Took out the win 8 harddrive,

I went 64 bit in October and did the same thing.
Ted Dog wrote:
plugged in my portable USB DVD burner and here I am. Forgot the switch to load to ram so I can eject the DVD to play stuff, but I will next boot.

I never had that issue, but it was slow. So, your new machine surely has USB3. Just put 621 on a fast flash device. It will boot very quickly and your burner will be always free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 02:37    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Delta file from FD620 >>> FD621

http://www.smokey01.com/software/iso/Fatdog64-620.iso___Fatdog64-621.iso.delta


I have no clue what one are supposed to do with delta
maybe you can have the 621 iso there too. Just a suggestion

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2367
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 02:48    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
Ted Dog wrote:
Yea, my new 64bit netbook works perfectly so far with fatdog64v621, Took out the win 8 harddrive,

I went 64 bit in October and did the same thing.
Ted Dog wrote:
plugged in my portable USB DVD burner and here I am. Forgot the switch to load to ram so I can eject the DVD to play stuff, but I will next boot.

I never had that issue, but it was slow. So, your new machine surely has USB3. Just put 621 on a fast flash device. It will boot very quickly and your burner will be always free.


Redid the DVD copy with the correct settings and tried the USB3, the DVD loaded like a rocket. Actually too fast, need to put a waitdev in there again.

BTW I discovered why the remaster was slower with isolinux.bin the burning progam or hybridiso patched or repatched isolinux.bin so you can't reuse the one found on the burned media, a fresh copy needs to come from /usr/share/syslinux for each remaster. Embarassed

Discover this as a warning in the documentation about using level 2 with older version of other toolsets like hybridiso, or burning programs like growisofs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2367
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 02:59    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
smokey01 wrote:
Delta file from FD620 >>> FD621

http://www.smokey01.com/software/iso/Fatdog64-620.iso___Fatdog64-621.iso.delta


I have no clue what one are supposed to do with delta
maybe you can have the 621 iso there too. Just a suggestion


This is used to move from 620 to 621 if you already downloaded 620, the links to full 621 are on the first page of this topic, second msg from top. The delta file is to save bandwidth for us still stuck in the internet dark-age and/or pay by the bandwidth used. The delta between the last two versions is less than 2MB Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 05:05    Post subject:  

google to rescue here
Upgrading your Puppy using .delta files...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58435
but points to this text which worked
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52232

I make a quote in case others wants to know
quote
Save the original .iso and the new .delta in the same directory, this is not essential but will save some searching time
* Simply click the .delta file and the Xdelta gui will appear

* Click GENERATE
* You should see a green splash screen indicating that the new file is generated and there will be a new .iso file in the same directory as the .delta file. Again, compare the checksum with the one provided by the developer. All should be well.
* You can now proceed to burn your new iso image with your favourite burning software.
/quote

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Sat 18 May 2013, 05:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 05:48    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
Ted Dog wrote:
Yea, my new 64bit netbook works perfectly so far with fatdog64v621, Took out the win 8 harddrive,

I went 64 bit in October and did the same thing.
Ted Dog wrote:
plugged in my portable USB DVD burner and here I am. Forgot the switch to load to ram so I can eject the DVD to play stuff, but I will next boot.

I never had that issue, but it was slow. So, your new machine surely has USB3. Just put 621 on a fast flash device. It will boot very quickly and your burner will be always free.

This is just a side note on running using Live Media disc for normal system operations. There are some real obvious advantages, but, booting time is the least of any concern for running a FATDOG system. I have been using FATDOG, LightHOUSE64 and other PUPs continuously and consistently without the need to install to any HDD/USB. I have a Laptop running LH64 which hasn't been rebooted in months. My old FD521 system ran for about a year never being rebooted. And most of the systems I bring up excepting those I boot for test, remain up for quite long times.

In review, the minute of so it takes to boot is of little consequence in my use of FD/LH64/any-PUPs, as they usually remain up for days on end. 1 minute!

This is only of point that most of all already know about booting (and correspondingly "shutdowns")

So all HDDs/USBs in use on my local systems where Linux runs do not have any Operating Systems. Thus, they ONLY have data....user data. Not one has a resident OS. And, I think all of us understand the benefit of that.

The ability to run the OS in RAM with session persistence to live media disc is phenomenal. This is the primary reason, I was attracted away from Knoppix to Puppy many years ago.

I also have a running multi-user XP OS that boots and runs from Live media DVD disc. It does not offer persistence in the way Puppy distros do, but, it does work well

My laptops go to sleep and wakes as needed, so, I rarely (almost never) have to reboot it for any Puppy Linux I deploy there.

One final gem that exist in FDs: Netbooting; JameBond created the ability to boot distros over the LAN without the need to, again, "install FD or PUPs on the local PCs". This has also been extremely useful if I want to do a quick test of any PUPs. (There is a easy to use guide that has been around since he created that work of art and is referenced in the forum.) That tool made it extremely easy to use for anyone who can read the guide. It sets up simply and runs smoothly. Personally, even though there are some minor short-comings, it has been an extremely powerful solution requiring no LAN changes or any special considerations for its use to boot machines that are wired to any of our local LANs.

For those who would want to run directly from CD/DVD or the faster Blu-ray, this is a reasonable and safe approach to running most if not all PUPs.

This post, again, is FYI only.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 06:00    Post subject:  

hey nooby

have the original iso and the delta in the same location

click the delta and it creates the new iso by joining the two

1 click and your sorted

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 09:34    Post subject:  

Sorry one need to be very careful it is different from other puppies
in how it deal with the save file but not I finally got it to work Sorry

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1829
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 16:42    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Sorry one need to be very careful it is different from other puppies
in how it deal with the save file but not I finally got it to work Sorry


nooby, maybe this will make it easier to understand.

http://www.smokey01.com/videos/diff-files.mpeg

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 29 [432 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1029s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]