Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 19:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 20 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3473
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 10:12    Post_subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
In my repository there is a help file called "how to do stuff in Fatdog"...
In the Fatdog package manager select smokey01.com

How would I get to your repository, to get to the help file?
Chose smokey01.com in the Fatdog package manager, but that seemed to be of no help. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1488
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 12:31    Post_subject:  

Hi

Sylvander wrote:
How would I get to your repository, to get to the help file?
Chose smokey01.com in the Fatdog package manager, but that seemed to be of no help. Confused

Here you go mate: http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/other/Howto-do-stuff-in-FatDog.pdf
It appears as though the package manager does not look inside of sub-directories.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 14:15    Post_subject: minor bug wallpaper setter  

On the verge of nagging:

It can't handle wallpaper names with spaces. Rename a wallpaper in /usr/share/backgrounds so it has a space in the name, select, apply.
Then again start the wallpaper setter in the control panel and nothing happens. Remove the space from the name and do ctrl alt backspace and you get an error that the wallpaper is not there, well, that is to be expected. But the wallpaper setter is working again.

The script breaks of at the end at GTK-DIALOG when it stumbles on the space.
I think it is good practise to avoid spaces in names in general but other people might get confused, so on the verge of nagging I decided to post this bug, sorry Confused

cheers to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3473
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 14:55    Post_subject:  

CatDude wrote:
Here you go mate: [url=http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/other/Howto-do-stuff-in-FatDog.pdf]

Oops...
Went to save that pdf in my /mnt/home directory, and found I already had it saved there; must have been some time earlier.
Now to read it [yet again?]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ibidem

Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 502
Location: State of Jefferson

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 15:25    Post_subject: Re: Mic again  

Snail wrote:
Hi Ibidem,

Thanks for your reply. Can you clarify? I do not understand your instruction.

I see you figured out the problem, but for anyone else...
In alsamixer, you have at least 3 screens: output, input, and all. You need the screen for input or all.
Each slider has 2 sides, so it can control stereo sound.
Tab to change screens/right or left arrow to change selected slider till you get to the "Capture" slider.
Up/down arrow to change volume; 0-9 are shortcuts to set both sides to 00%,10%,...90%.
After that, if you don't get sound in, try setting one side (in my case, the right) to 0% or as close as you can get; this requires pressing Z or C to reduce the volume of the left or right side.
Code:

Left  Both  Right <- Side to change
 Q      W      E  <- Increase volume
 Z      X      C  <- Reduce volume

If you need to know more, press "h" to see the keys to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 19:28    Post_subject: Mic (yet) again  

Thanks Ibidem.

I make a suggestion? I realise that all the misery I have gone through, was my own noobish fault, not RTFMing the instructions on the ncurses screen.. However, on behalf of all persistent noobs such as myself, I wonder if it would not be better to have the speaker icon right-click menu open alsamixer both full-screen and in F5 mode, i.e. with both capture and output sliders shown?

I can't seem to see how to do this, sorry. I tried changing alsamixer-launch to

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#This script is called from lxpanel's volumealsa plugin by selecting "Volume Control Settings".

rxvt -maximized -e alsamixer.sh -V all &
 


It didn't work. rxvt ignores both the -maximized and +maximized options. If just the -V all is used, clicking on alsamixer-launch in the directory /usr/bin opens alsamixer in F5 mode but it doesn't make any difference to what happens when the speaker icon right-click is menu used. i suspect that alsamixer.sh is dumping the -V parameter but I am out of my depth there.


If anyone was looking for work, using a later version of alsamixer and making sure that ncurses was working properly with the terminal, by showing the bottom slider when window not maximised, might be more elegant. Not really necessary though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 04:51    Post_subject: Fatdog's name (and logo) taken in vain?
Sub_title: Site Hijack?
 

Looking for Fatdog documentation, found this!

http://gorgeaccess.net/fatdog/ro/index.php?page=Sandbox9

Strange!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 15:35    Post_subject: Fatdog64-621Radeon problem with HP Pavilion g7  

I burned the Fatdog64-621 ISO to a DVD and booted.

It handled the UEFI nonsense in the HP Pavilion g7 fine then processed for awhile, popping-up screens from time to time, including "Activating radeon workaround" which took a while, finally generating a badly garbled screen.

I'm guessing that I'll need to force generic video parameters at Fatdog64-612 boot so that I may get to where I can get them to set up correctly?

How do I do that, please?

BTW: I noticed this in the "Detailed changes from Fatdog64-611: Updates: Add 3 sets of missing Radeon firmware"

Does this mean that the Radeon drivers should be working OK?

Thanks! David

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 15:51    Post_subject: Re: Fatdog64-621Radeon problem with HP Pavilion g7  

CatDude wrote:
It appears as though the package manager does not look inside of sub-directories.

It doesn't.

Hans wrote:
It can't handle wallpaper names with spaces. Rename a wallpaper in /usr/share/backgrounds so it has a space in the name, select, apply.
Don't be sorry. We will never know if you don't report. On the other hand, please don't expect that all problems will be solved, too Smile I'll note this but this would be rather low-priority.

Snail wrote:
Looking for Fatdog documentation, found this!

http://gorgeaccess.net/fatdog/ro/index.php?page=Sandbox9

Strange!
If you look at the directories above, that is at http://gorgeaccess.net/fatdog/ you will see that is a wiki created by one of the forum members here (I can't recall who), that has fallen victim to spam Sad

edoc wrote:
I'm guessing that I'll need to force generic video parameters at Fatdog64-612 boot so that I may get to where I can get them to set up correctly?

pfix=xorgwizard.

Have you tried any of the options on the boot menu?

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 16:48    Post_subject: The adult supplies pushing site.  

Hi jamesbond,

The wiki was created by murga-linux forum user TekVahana. I've PMed him and asked him to fix this.

The offending pages are linked from the puppylinux wikka here:

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Fatdog

Maybe someone with access could remove the link?

Can anyone suggest any solution to my attempts to modify the alsamixer display mode from the panel? I've also looked at editing the panel options, but edit doesn't seem to affect anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 22:33    Post_subject: Re: Fatdog64-621Radeon problem with HP Pavilion g7  

edoc wrote:
I'm guessing that I'll need to force generic video parameters at Fatdog64-612 boot so that I may get to where I can get them to set up correctly?


Quote:
pfix=xorgwizard.

Have you tried any of the options on the boot menu?


The boot sequence is rather different than what I am used to, plus the UEFI activity further clutters things.

Before I went in and made a mess I wanted to ask in case this UEFI-handling version did things somehow differently.

I will give it a try and report back ... thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jun 2013, 19:28    Post_subject: Alsamixer display  

I have been trying to understand why my edit of alsamixer-launch didn't work. Adding beeps to the scripts as a debugging aid shows that right-clicking the speaker icon on the taskbar and selecting "Volume-Control" Settings runs neither alsamixer-launch nor alsamixer.sh. Instead it appears to call alsamixer directly.

Changing alsamixer-launch to:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#This script is called from lxpanel's volumealsa plugin by selecting "Volume Control Settings".

rxvt +sb -geometry 157x25 -e alsamixer.sh -V all &


would seem to do the trick, if only it was actually called. Can anyone give me some advice on where to read up on modifying the behaviour of the Fatdog 621 taskbar please?

PS The second double quote mark on the menu seems to be wrongly placed - "Volume-Control" Settings should be "Volume-Control Settings"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jun 2013, 21:45    Post_subject: Lxpanel strangeness
Sub_title: Can't edit volume control
 

I found that right clicking a blank area on the taskbar allows access to panel settings. From there, panel applets can be added, removed and edited. However, all the applets in the system tray part of the taskbar can be edited - except the volume control. The edit button is not greyed out, which a web help page says means it should be editable. However, clicking that button simply runs alsamixer.

Another oddity. There are two directories for lxpanel plugins(applets), /usr/lib64/lxpanel/plugins and /usr/lib/lxpanel/plugins. They are not symlinked but their contents appear identical.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jun 2013, 02:49    Post_subject: Save file inconsistency
Sub_title: Rox and boot script disagree
 

If you backup the save file by renaming and copying it in the same directory, you often want to rename the file so the boot script doesn't recognize it. Rox confuses me by clearly flagging files with "ext4' extension as savefiles. However, the boot script recognizes any file with fd64save as a savefile. For instance, I had 3 copies of the save file in the boot drive root, named fd64save.bak, fd64save.ext4 and fredbloggs.ext4. Rox flagged the second two as save files. However, during boot, I was given the choice between the first two.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 02:08    Post_subject: How to scrub an ISO formatted USB?  

I installed Fatdog by using dd to make a USB stick into a bootable ISO. I ran fix-usb.sh and it seemed to go well. After booting, I decided that the USB was a bit small and so I installed to my Win 7 partition instead. Now I cannot completely clear out the ISO file table on the USB. Even after completely repartitioning and reformatting the USB flash drive as FAT16, using GParted in Fatdog, when I plug the stick in Fatdog sees sdb as an ISO partition and sdb1 as the Fat partition, both using the full size of the drive. I can see the full original ISO file structure in Rox. Rox reports the original file sizes but if I try to open a text file in Geany there is nothing there. There couldn't possibly be any room anyway as I completely filled the Fat partition. How do you clean the ISO stuff out? Note, it may not be a critical issue, as the Fat files seem to work as one would expect and Win 7 and Precise Puppy are not aware of the ISO stuff at all.

I did discover another issue. In Fatdog, I selected a big directory and copied it to the half Gig USB just to see if there was the reported space in the Fat partition. For some weird reason, the process filled up my savefile and locked Fatdog up completely. I ended up using my backup savefile to recover. This did not happen doing the same thing with Precise. Why would this happen? Surely the copy shouldn't be buffered inside the savefile?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1117s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0137s) ][ GZIP on ]