Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 07:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Slacko vs Precise
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Fallingwater

PostPosted: Sun 21 Apr 2013, 19:25    Post_subject:  Slacko vs Precise  

I'm not a newbie, but I suppose this question is n00b-ish enough that it should go in this subforum.

I can't quite figure out why I should prefer one over the other. I understand the key difference that one draws from Slackware packages and the other one from Ubuntu ones, but what does this entail from a practical point of view?

Any performance difference at all between them?
AndyOpie150

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 14:55    Post_subject:  

I'm trying to set up a build environment for Android ROM's and kernels on a Puppy Distro from a USB drive (maybe later develop apps).

Precise is the only way to go that I can see.
Fallingwater

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 15:02    Post_subject:  

Ok, but what about generic use? I have no need for superspecialized things like building stuff for Android.
ICPUG

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 15:58    Post_subject:  

Only 2 things as far as I can see.

1) You are more likely to get packages from the Precise repository working with Precise and packages from the Slackware repository working on Slacko. So if your favourite software is not in both repositories then your choice is made.

2) The developers of each version will each have their personal preferences. If you prefer one developer over another then the choice is made again.