Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 04:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Cloning a damaged XP disk in Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
jamien770

Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 07:58    Post subject:  Cloning a damaged XP disk in Puppy
Subject description: What cloning software is available on Puppy
 

Can anyone please help, I have a customers dying HDD with a special embedded version of XP for a kodak kiosk machine, windows wont even find the disk, low and behold Puppy hasnt let me down and its found it, all I need to do now is clone it so I can re-instate the machine. Any help would be appreciated.

Its an 80gb SATA drive and I have another 80gb for cloning, I have googled till my eyes are sore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 08:02    Post subject:  

Gnost.

You might want to practice using Gnost on some other machines so you understand how it works before trying to clone the target machine.

Be aware that if the dying hard drive already has bad sectors, nothing will recover it fully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamien770

Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 08:06    Post subject:  

thanks will give it a try, will let you know how i get on with it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamien770

Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 09:40    Post subject:  

ok gnost is on, both sata drives connected, problem is windows wasnt shut down properly on the kiosk due to a power cut and gnost wont copy partition as it is waiting for windows to close properly, how do I do the "force task"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 10:07    Post subject:  

This is dangerous territory and I am reluctant to make suggestions that might kill your Windows machine.

Do you have an XP install disc? You first choice should be to boot off it and launch the Recovery Console. Run a chkdsk command.

If you don't have an XP CD, try this from Puppy.

1. Run Gparted. Right-click on the Windows partition.
2. Select Check.
3. Reboot to Windows. This may get you a clean start.
4. Then run Gnost.

As a last-ditch effort, you can force Gnost to do the clone.

1. Go to the gnocode folder and open gnoclone in a text editor.
2. Change Line 60 to "ntfsclone -f --overwrite ...."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamien770

Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 10:20    Post subject:  

I have the HDD out of the Kodak Kiosk system up in my workshop, I have every version of Windows possible, the HDD wont run the windows files, major problems, only puppy has found the files. Problem is its a bastardised version of windows changed by kodak to run in their kiosk machines, and they are being anal about telling my customer they have to pay stupid money for a newer version of the software and the processor ( a levono desktop PC to me and you) which is running fine apart from this buggered drive. I will try and run the check disk through puppy. I appreciate the advice you are giving me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamien770

Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 10:37    Post subject:  

Tried the last ditch effort by re-writing the code and the clone was done, will go down and re-install it at the customers tomorrow and let you know how it went.

Again many thanks for your help, you have saved me hours of trawling and work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 10:42    Post subject:  

Be aware that you now have a new drive with exactly the same content and potential problems as the old one. So there is no guarantee that you are any farther ahead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamien770

Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 10:48    Post subject:  

Thanks, but I think it was the power cut that buggered the HDD in the first place, major clicking of the heads etc, so fingers crossed. And if it doesn't work the customer will just have to bite the bullet and get a copy of the OS from Kodak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2062
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 16:17    Post subject:  

Well if its a deaths door, wrap it in clean dish cloth inside a ziplock type bag and store it in the freezer, then google search for spinright recovery software http://www.grc.com/sr/spinrite.htm, its super old and It shows with its CGA graphics, simple website,etc. But the techniques it uses to low level rescue that still works today regardless of OS on dieing HD.
It uses techniques that gov and spys use to pull data off harddrives. I've got a inkling he may have been a gov/agent type employees before reusing the older ideas to recover dying disks. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3272
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 19:33    Post subject:  

Sounds crappy advice but I have done this for my local computer
shop...his cloning never worked on a Toshiba laptop.

I formatted his new drive with XP and allowed 1% of install.

Rebooted in Puppy.....

deleted all the Windows files....

copied the problematic Windows files with Puppy

after placing the old drive into a USB caddy..

voila! it booted.

He couldn't believe it.

""""""""""

Usually if I do this, I load into safe mode on first boot.

Other times I've loaded up up Hiren's and removed XP drivers
if it is really different hardware...that wouldn't boot.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2013, 15:37    Post subject:  

@jamien770: No reply? I guess that we will never know how this episode turned out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0600s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]