Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 23:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.6.1-final, May 29, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 19 [274 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 00:00    Post subject: update precisesave problems  

update precisesave 5593 to 5594

I mentioned earlier that the first reboot after the initial start into 5594, both the keyboard and mouse froze.

Most everything else seemed to work.

But, then EACH subsequent [re]boot the desktop icons that I had previously removed came back. I would re-remove them and [re]boot, they came back again.

So... I abandoned the precisesave, started fresh.
All is well, actually this puppy is now my favorite.
Precise is awesome. Great to have access to Ubuntu repos.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1393
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 02:33    Post subject:  

scabz wrote:
Peebee you need the 304.xx driver , the driver you used does not work for your vid card.


I'm intrigued - how did you find out this information? My card is fairly modern (I only bought the desktop last year anyway) so why would the 319 driver not support it??

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eps

Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 06:03    Post subject: in full install not see sda2.sda4,sda5
Subject description: only in full install not see sda2.sda4,sda5 at all precise versions
 

For sda6,sda7 .. at end all is ok
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 763
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 07:02    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy version 5.5.94

Been using this for a few days and all seems fine with only one small niggle.
Browser occasionally requires 3 attempts to start, ie when selecting Forum icon or Blog icon on home page, often 3 attempts are required to reach url.
Noticed this on a few other recent puppies too (not just precise).
Show-stopper = No, minor irritation = yes.
Also occurs when using other browsers, ie Opera, Chrome, etc.

Does not seem to happen when using Precise-NOP for example, or Magoo and other similar era puppies.

Anyway - other than that ultra minor occasional inconvenience - outstanding Puppy - many thanks.

Now to try on older Acer laptop - all above relates to use on E732 laptop.

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fronkonstin

Joined: 20 May 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 07:42    Post subject:  

Quote from http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00249

Quote:
Posted on 21 May 2013, 10:28 by BarryK
modesetting driver fixed
Well, well, that took me by surprise!

Earlier on, when testing the new xorgwizard-cli, it offered the 'modesetting' driver as one of the choices.

However, recently, it hasn't. Odd, the Wizard gets it's info about suitable drivers from the output of "Xorg -configure".

This morning, I found that "Xorg -configure" is totally ignoring the modesetting_drv.so driver.
A bit of testing revealed that the driver is compiled for an earlier Xorg server.

Hmmm, they are all Ubuntu DEBs. However, I am building with the "precise-updates" packages, and it seems they upgraded the server but seem to have forgotten to recompile the modesetting driver.

So I compiled it, now the Wizard offers it.

I do hope there are no other Xorg drivers in this situation.

Woof will be updated, and the driver PET uploaded soon.


Do you think that maybe siliconmotion driver has same problem? Maybe that would explain black screen problem with HP Omnibook XE2 reported before (http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=704655#704655). How can I test if this is the case? Executing "Xorg -configure"? Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 08:49    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy 5.6 has been released!

See this blog post for announcement and download links:

http://www.bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00253

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2081
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 10:37    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.6-final, May 21, 2013  

Manual frugal install to an 8gb SDHC card, running on a Gateway
desktop pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Tue 21 May 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.6 Linux 3.2.44 i686
5.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS780
[Radeon HD 3200]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS780 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11672 Compatibility Profile Context

AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
Core 0: @800 1: @800 2: @800 3: @800 MHz

# glxgears
19653 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3930.484 FPS
19684 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3936.699 FPS
19707 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3941.380 FPS
#
I installed lots of applications with ppm.
I installed the proprietary ati driver.
It's looking good, no problems at all so far.
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.68 KB
 Viewed   2161 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
for_wov


Joined: 10 May 2013
Posts: 25
Location: Europe:Kiev

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 10:49    Post subject: wifi
Subject description: is wl module included?
 

is wl module for wifi included in this distro? or should there be some dancing with tambourine (pebee's pets)? otherwise one more distro for flugal or full install only (for me and some others) frisbee after networkwizard reconnected time after time with WEP in previous distros. (give way to live wifi !!!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1393
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 11:29    Post subject: Re: wifi
Subject description: is wl module included?
 

for_wov wrote:
is wl module for wifi included in this distro?


Yes - it's there

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 302
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 12:13    Post subject:  

Peebee is it Nvidia GeForce7025 if so then i have that exact same vid card and have tried 2 install new drivers. for that card 304.xx is what you need.

if you dont belive me then go to http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us and check.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 13:08    Post subject:  

Installed using multi-session cd.

Installed ok to desktop and start menu.
Editing the start menu caused a crash.

Hard shut down and reboot brought me to the old version start menus.
Eventually got things going using "modsetting unaccelerated driver"

Installed wl driver but had to use frisbee to get an internet connection.

Obviously 5.6 has a problem with my system.

Processor : 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz

Memory : 3993MB

Operating System : Unknown distribution

User Name : root (root)

-Display-

Resolution : 1366x768 pixels

OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Intel(R) Sandybridge Mobile x86/MMX/SSE2

X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation

-Multimedia-

Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH

Had no problem installing on my (very) old PC.
irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 13:19    Post subject:  

5.6 final: Everything OOTB - great! Thanks, BK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 13:44    Post subject:  

It booted right-up had no problems with any hardware.

Pmusic 2.6.7 does not open directories without close Pmusic and opening it back up unless one wants to manually put it in and hit enter.


Other than that everything looks good. Thanks Barryk


Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 535
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 14:54    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.6-FINAL
Subject description: Testing.
 

Fresh manual frugal install to fat32 USB2 stick, Syslinux 4.04 boot and ext4 save.
All fine OOTB and I keep finding numerous upgrade treats. Smile

The only issue so far was when I decided to switch from the Nouveau driver to the nvidia-glx-319.17-k3.2.44.sfs.
In order to persuade it to load I first had to blacklist the Nouveau module.Upon re-booting it then picked it up straight away rather than the NV driver.

I note that 319.17 gives detailed VDPAU info, which bodes well for VLC, SmPlayer and XBMC. Thanks Barryk for a great release.
image-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   235.21 KB
 Viewed   1991 Time(s)

image-1.png

image-2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   86.11 KB
 Viewed   1983 Time(s)

image-2.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 18:33    Post subject:  

Hi BarryK,

5.6 - seems fine - thank you.

My regards

PS to all - technosaurus has produced a superfast version of "fixmenus" which also makes "refresh-menus" superfast if you have it installed,

To try it, you could download the file below and then rename it deleting the last three (.gz) characters.

Then rename your existing fixmenus file in /usr/sbin to say fixmenusold.

Then copy or move your renamed download (fixmenus) to /usr/sbin
fixmenus.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  fixmenus.gz 
Filesize  3.37 KB 
Downloaded  218 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 19 [274 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1016s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]