Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 23:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Precise and WPA
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
mattst8ler

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Bedford, Texas

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 20:17    Post subject:  Precise and WPA  

Just completed a frugal install of Precise. Everything works as expected including wireless, except if connecting to a WPA protected network. WEP and open networks are fine. Regardless of the connection tool, whether it is Frisbee, Dougal's, Simple, etc. it simply will not connect. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 00:23    Post subject:  

We'll need to know the type of your wireless device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mattst8ler

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Bedford, Texas

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 06:54    Post subject:  

The problem is consistent with the two different wireless pcmcia cards that I have. The first card is a Cisco Air-PCM340, and the second card is a 2WIRE (Agere) PC24E-11 with an Orinoco chipset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 12:10    Post subject:  

I don't think the PCM340 is WPA compatable. I think 350 and above were.

orinoco cards seem to always take a lot of tinkering on my systems. They will work on one hardware platform and not another when using the same thumb to boot with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mattst8ler

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Bedford, Texas

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 13:33    Post subject:  

I never even thought of that! Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 13:51    Post subject:  

One successful attempt on "Air" card.
Flashing the card.

http://home.icequake.net/~nemesis/blog/index.php/archives/529

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0383s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]