Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 01:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Precise and WPA
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mattst8ler

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Bedford, Texas

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 20:17    Post_subject:  Precise and WPA  

Just completed a frugal install of Precise. Everything works as expected including wireless, except if connecting to a WPA protected network. WEP and open networks are fine. Regardless of the connection tool, whether it is Frisbee, Dougal's, Simple, etc. it simply will not connect. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 425

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 00:23    Post_subject:  

We'll need to know the type of your wireless device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mattst8ler

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Bedford, Texas

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 06:54    Post_subject:  

The problem is consistent with the two different wireless pcmcia cards that I have. The first card is a Cisco Air-PCM340, and the second card is a 2WIRE (Agere) PC24E-11 with an Orinoco chipset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 425

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 12:10    Post_subject:  

I don't think the PCM340 is WPA compatable. I think 350 and above were.

orinoco cards seem to always take a lot of tinkering on my systems. They will work on one hardware platform and not another when using the same thumb to boot with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mattst8ler

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Bedford, Texas

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 13:33    Post_subject:  

I never even thought of that! Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 13:51    Post_subject:  

One successful attempt on "Air" card.
Flashing the card.

http://home.icequake.net/~nemesis/blog/index.php/archives/529

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0432s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]