Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 08:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Unetbootin?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sunsnoel

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 16:41    Post_subject:  Unetbootin?  

Is their a unetbootin for puppy.? Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 21:44    Post_subject:  

Not directly. What are you trying to do?
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 22:14    Post_subject:  

hey sun

you can find isobooter here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67235 which will do much the same as unetbootin for puppy

HTH

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 22:43    Post_subject:  

By the way, sunsnoel, if you're trying to get a USB install of Puppy then there's plenty better than Unetbootin.

Puppy Universal Installer -> install to USB flash drive

then

grub4dos bootloader config

DON'T USE REGULAR GRUB (aka GRUB2, GRUB Legacy). I have gotten that thing to work exactly once ever. grub4dos is so simple that it almost takes effort to screw the thing up. Regular GRUB is a pain in the *** pile of junk code that basically doesn't work.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunsnoel

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 17:57    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the replies. I started using Carolina it has unetbootin in the repos. I like trying out lots of distrows & unetbootin makes that easy....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 18:05    Post_subject:  

Well, you can download a binary (executable) at their website -- runs on any Linux distro basically ever. You have to right click on it, select Permissions, and make it executable... but that's all. After that, it runs.

Unetbootin website (Linux is the middle blue button at the top, 1/2way down the homepage it explains about the permission changes) --> http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

The only problem I've ever had with Unetbootin, is that it doesn't work properly if there's another bootloader installed on the target drive. You actually have to not only wipe the drive, but create a new partition table in gparted in order to wipe the MBR and make the drive that has eg grub4dos on it, able to be used again with Unetbootin. Geez guys >.<

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
josejp2424

Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 18:16    Post_subject: unetbootin lucid precise  

unetbootin lucid precise

http://www.mediafire.com/download/k7cjhwdnkvl5zjp/unetbootin.tar.gz



Puppy-es-night
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1011
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 05:32    Post_subject:  

Quote:
if there's another bootloader installed on the target drive. You actually have to not only wipe the drive, but create a new partition table in gparted in order to wipe the MBR and make the drive that has eg grub4dos on it, able to be used again with Unetbootin. Geez guys >.<
There are easier ways to clear the MBR
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 10:59    Post_subject:  

I'd love to hear of them!
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1011
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 11:23    Post_subject:  

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda/ bs=446 count=1
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0684s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0174s) ][ GZIP on ]