Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 17:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to change Precise Puppy's password?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
gert3d

Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 06:40    Post subject:  How to change Precise Puppy's password?  

I wanted to change the default password with a new one using the console and #passwd
The response is:
passwd: pam_start() failed, error 26

A small bug, or am I doing something wrong?
I am using Precise 5.5, full install.
thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 08:06    Post subject:  

Unless you created a user, Puppy should not require a password. Is that what you're trying to do, make Puppy require a password?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2610
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 10:14    Post subject: Re: How to change Precise Puppy's password?
Subject description: upgrade
 

gert3d wrote:
...I am using Precise 5.5...

I am using Precise 5.6.1
Code:
# passwd
Changing password for root
New password:



Code:
# whoami
fido
# passwd
Changing password for fido
Old password:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2183
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 11:15    Post subject: Re: How to change Precise Puppy's password?
Subject description: upgrade
 

L18L wrote:
gert3d wrote:
...I am using Precise 5.5...

I am using Precise 5.6.1
Code:
# passwd
Changing password for root
New password:



Code:
# whoami
fido
# passwd
Changing password for fido
Old password:


Here's what I get if I try to change passwords on Puppy Precise 5.6.1
(after installing kdegames and digikam), the passwd command worked
before installing those applications.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.6.1

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Ivy Bridge Graphics Controller
(rev 09)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1280x1024
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse record

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# whoami
root
# passwd root
passwd: pam_start() failed, error 26
# whoami
root
# su spot
# whoami
spot
# passwd spot
passwd: pam_start() failed, error 26
# exit
exit
# whoami
root
# su fido
# whoami
fido
# passwd fido
passwd: pam_start() failed, error 26
# exit
exit
# whoami
root
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2610
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 11:22    Post subject: Re: How to change Precise Puppy's password?
Subject description: upgrade
 

Billtoo wrote:
...
Here's what I get if I try to change passwords on Puppy Precise 5.6.1
(after installing kdegames and digikam), the passwd command worked
before installing those applications. ...

So those applications which I did not install must be the culprits. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gert3d

Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 14:37    Post subject:  

I did not install these applications either, but maybe should move to 5.61?
Stll strange I have the same failure message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4129
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 14:51    Post subject:  

Very Happy Funny thing- mine was the same. Installed Ubuntu's pkg +deps >> the same. Removed'm >> passwd goes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gert3d

Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 14:56    Post subject:  

Ah, true, I did that too:
I installed Ubuntu ssh server and dependencies. (did not function) I removed them.
That may have caused the loss of my passwd function

Last edited by gert3d on Tue 04 Jun 2013, 14:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4129
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 14:57    Post subject:  

Uh, that DOES sound like the problem..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 16:18    Post subject:  

So am I learning here that if I install Puppy to a hard disk, it will then require a password? I didn't know that. Embarassed I've only ever run Puppy from a multisession DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1128
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 17:32    Post subject:  

Puppy will only ask for a password if you install the requirement yourself.
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2610
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jun 2013, 04:03    Post subject: How to change Precise Puppy's password?  

Flash wrote:
So am I learning here that if I install Puppy to a hard disk, it will then require a password?

No, this is about changing the default password which you could always do at each boot up if you were paranoic.
But of course you have not to do so because you are running a default puppy no ssh server active....no hard disk connected....
woofwoof Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0667s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]